Black as Night Cycling Mix

21 Aug

 

Hi guys!  Hope you have been enjoying your summer!  Today I’m sharing with you one of my latest playlists that I really have loved using recently.  It features a few newer releases like a cool remix of Miley Cyrus’ Malibu, Whatever it Takes and I Don’t Know Why by Imagine Dragons (I”m loving so many songs from their new album) and a song with a very different sound for Harry Styles called Kiwi.  The title track of this playlist is Black as Night by Nahko and Medicine for the People.  This is not a song I would have normally just come across from searching Spotify. I first heard of it while reading one of my favorite Instagram feeds from Yoga Girl. If you love yoga like I do, (or even if you don’t), you should definitely follow her. She also writes a blog, has written a best selling book ,  and has a new podcast.  As if all of that wasn’t enough, she also founded Oneoeight, a site with on demand yoga classes and much more.   Anyway, she mentioned recently on her instagram comments that this is one of her favorite songs.  So much so that she has some of the lyrics tattooed on her arm and has a cameo in the video which you can view below.  I  checked it out and thought it might work great in my next cycling playlist and of course I was right. 😉  Check out how I broke it down in the ride notes!

I hope you continue to enjoy your summer.  I’ll try to post at least a few more times before my busy back -to- school life keeps me from doing so!

 

Spread the Happiness (3:00) seated warm up

Go Big or Go Home by American Authors (2:49) Easing into the work effort with a 61 rpm standing climb

Whatever it Takes by Imagine Dragons (3:21) 68 rpm- alternate the seated/standing climb

Beleiver-Fronliner Remix (3:49) seated accelerations @ :30 (20 seconds), 1:21 (30 seconds) and 2:39 (30 seconds)

Malibu- Teisto Remix by Miley Cyrus, Tiesto (3:19) standing climb

Black as Night by Nahko and Medicine for the People (7:14) seated flat road at around 97 rpm.  I use this longer song for some ‘gear play’.  Keeping the rpm steady, every minute or so, add gear and see if you can maintain your pace for at least 30 seconds.

I Don’t Know Why by Imagine Dragons (3:10) standing climb, adding gear every 30 seconds-61 rpm

Kiwi by Harry Styles (2:56) seated climb at around 74 rpm

River by Bishop Briggs (3:34) heavy standing climb at 63 rpm

Bora! Bora! Bora! by Scooter (3:12) seated accelerations @ :47 (25 seconds); 1:42 (25 seconds) and 2:36 (30 seconds)

Human (Ferry Corsten Club Remix) (6:53) *So many great remixes of this song out there!! alternate seated/standing climb.  Jumps on a hill would also work well here.

Count It! by Hit the Lights (1:02) recover

Insomnia 2.0 Avicii Extended Remix (6:13) walk, jog, sprint drill:  30 second easy pedal (recovery), 30 second with more intensity (jog) and 30 second sprint.  Repeat 4x.

I’m The One by Walk off The Earth (3:18) cool down

Mercy-Acoustic Guitar by Shawn Mendes (3:39) stretch

I hope you enjoy this playlist and profile!  Please leave a comment below and let me know if you have questions or how you liked it!

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Black as Night Cycling Mix”

  1. Stacey Mickey August 21, 2017 at 11:41 pm #

    Hi Chris, thank you for your recent playlist and profile. I have been a spin instructor for 7 years and finally have the nerve to share some of my recent playlists and profiles. You have helped me so many times when I’ve had playlist block.

    • chrispins August 22, 2017 at 10:30 am #

      That’s great Stacey! Happy to help!

  2. Lisa sciamanna August 22, 2017 at 1:02 am #

    Hi Chris, this looks awesome! Thanks for sharing. My question on the what’s the walk, jog, sprint drill, what’s a walk?

    Thanks
    Lisa

    • chrispins August 22, 2017 at 10:32 am #

      Hi there! So, the walk is just a 30 second recovery. It’s an easy pedal, catch your breath, get ready for the next minute of hard work. My riders love it! I hope that helps!

  3. janessa1085 September 7, 2017 at 4:09 am #

    Chris, thank you for sharing your music and great ideas!

Leave a Reply

