Progressive Climbs and Corkscrews

24 Apr

I hope you’re all enjoying your week! Here in the Northeast it’s finally feeling a bit like spring. My classes at the Y have busier than usual, which has been a welcome surprise. I always love the energy that a full room of riders brings and I think one of my favorite sounds is the hum of all of those flywheels when the music gets quiet.

One of my readers has asked for me to share a few of my recent profiles. I’m assuming she found the playlists on Spotify and guessed that there were awesome profiles behind the titles. Well, she guessed right, but as is often the case, I cannot take full credit for either of these. Both profiles I’m sharing with you today came right from my friends at Pedal-On. It’s where I always go when I need a bit of profile inspiration. I’m telling you guys, there is some great stuff there and everyone is so kind to share. Whenever I use or adapt one of the Pedal-On profiles I always get tons of compliments. Folks at Pedal-On usually share their playlists as well so you can get a ready-made class in no time flat, but I always like to put my own ‘spin’ on it with my own music.

So without further adieu, I give you Progressive Climbs and Corkscrews!

*It’s always a good idea to follow and then recreate my original Spotify playlists (name them something like “Chrispins Corkscrew”) because I’ve been known to go in and change out songs and I would hate for you to not have the playlist you were expecting when you go to use it for your class.

Corkscrew Loops

OMG you guys, this one is so fun! At first it feels like just your typical ride profile and then…BAM….the Corkscrew literally throws you for a loop. My riders just love this one and I’m sure yours will too. Here are the notes:

The first song (Good To Be Alive) is a seated warm up.

3:00 Seated climb-add resistance each minute
1:00 Standing climb
3:00- 1:00 Seated climb, 2:00 standing climb-adding resistance after the first minute
2:00 Seated fast flat road
CORKSCREW!: 2:00 Seated 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off (so: 30 second sprint then recover for 30-2x)
2:00 Standing 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off
2:00 Seated flat recovery

**Go through the sequence 3 times. Each set is 15 minutes long.
I added two songs at the end for a cool down and stretch.
Here is how the songs I chose play out in the profile:

Set 1:
Pa’Baliar
Heartbeat Song
Here We Go
Last Impression

Set 2:
Shots
Happy
Kevera
The Spark

Set 3:
Dreams
Fireball
Afterlife
Mansion
Hard Work

For some reason, I can’t get the Spotify player to show up so follow this link for the playlist: Corkscrew Loops

Progressive Climb

This one is just as it sounds. Each climb gets longer and steeper, starting with a three minute climb and ending with a nine minute climb. Each climb is just a minute longer than the previous one. One of my riders suggested that I turn it around and start with the long climb and end with the shorter climb. I think I just might try it some time! This one is challenging, but if you love climbs like I do, it will quickly become one of your favorites.

After starting this post, I realized that I already posted this ride so to check out the profile follow this link.

If you try the profiles or make any modifications to the movements or music, please feel free to share in the comment section. We would love to hear your ideas!

10 Responses to “Progressive Climbs and Corkscrews”

  1. Mary April 24, 2017 at 12:29 am #

    Thank you! ❤

  2. Ed April 24, 2017 at 1:37 pm #

    I also got this profile from Pedal On. Have used it a couple of times. Here’s one of my playlists:
    Length Song Artist
    04:00 Here’s To Us Kevin Rudolf (Warmup)
    03:59 La Grange ZZ Top
    05:02 Mony Mony Billy Idol
    05:54 Dear Boy Avicii ft Karen Orsted
    04:00 Do Or Die Afrojack vs. Thirty Seconds To Mars
    05:14 Band On The Run Paul McCartney & Wings
    03:04 Believer American Authors
    02:59 Hush Kula Shaker
    04:00 Run On Love Lucas Nord ft Tove Lo
    05:06 We Used To Wait Arcade Fire
    06:17 Soul Sacrifice Carlos Santana
    05:20 Victory Is Won Santana (Cooldown)
    04:35 Beautiful Disaster (Live) Kelly Clarkson (Cooldown & Stretch)

    • chrispins April 29, 2017 at 12:52 am #

      Great playlist! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Stacey Mickey April 28, 2017 at 12:55 am #

    My class really enjoyed the corkscrew profile. Than you for sharing.

  4. Melissa McCain May 1, 2017 at 1:44 pm #

    I’m wanting to try this play list and trying to understand how you have it broken down…you said each set is 15 minutes, can you explain?

    • chrispins May 4, 2017 at 10:21 pm #

      Sure, 1 set consists of:

      3:00 SEC
      1:00 STC
      3:00 SEC–>STC
      2:00 SEFF
      2:00 CORKSCREW
      2:00 STC (30on/30off)
      2:00 SEF

      That’s 15 minutes total and you go through it 3x

  5. Mariel Braun May 4, 2017 at 9:34 pm #

    I love pedal on, it’s been so helpful since I started teaching a few months ago. Maybe I should know this, but what does 3:00-1:00 mean (you have “3:00-1:00 seated climb, 2:00 standing climb…”)? Thank you!

    • chrispins May 4, 2017 at 10:16 pm #

      Hi! The 3 minutes is broken down as follows: 1m seated climb + 2m standing climb = 3 minutes.

      • Mariel Braun May 5, 2017 at 12:29 pm #

        Thank you! I was obviously reading it wrong, lol.

Leave a Reply

