Happiness Cycling Mix and 2 Bonus Profiles

15 Jul

Heyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!! I know, it’s definitely been a while.  I don’t really have an excuse for not keeping up with the blog other than life gets busy and priorities shift and change.  Even though I’m not posting playlists and profiles quite as often here on the blog, you can always follow my playlists on Spotify(I create a new playlist at least once every other week but most of the time I create one per week.)  You can also check out my weekly ICI-Pro posts where I share my Favorite Track of The Week every Friday!

You are definitely in luck because today I’m sharing not one, not two, but THREE playlists with profiles!  Yaaaaaaaayyyy!!!!! Two of the profiles are not my originals.  I got them (and probably adapted them a little) from Pedal-On (my go-to spot when I’m looking for profile inspiration), so I can’t take any of the credit.  Well, I suppose I can take credit for the music. 🙂

Here is a great one I’ve been using lately with some new music I’m loving from NEEDTOBREATHE, American Authors and Meghan Trainor.

Full disclosure:  Please be aware that I will often go in and add or remove songs to old playlists to ‘freshen them up’ when I’m in the mood.  If you ‘follow’ my playlist on Spotify and then use it as is, these changes will show up on your playlist as well.  This is not always fun when you’re in the middle of your class and you are expecting one song to play and a totally different song shows up.

Here is how to avoid this possibly embarrassing mistake:

  1. Follow the playlist here
  2. Recreate the playlist and give it a new title.  Something like “Chrispins Happiness Cycling Mix
  3. Smile, because now it’s all yours to use as is or change to your liking and because now you know when I change my original you won’t be affected.  🙂  Everyone wins!

 

What We Live For by American Authors (2:58): seated warm up

Freaks by Timmy Trumpet, Savage (2:59) warm up seated —–> standing

Summer Nights by Tiesto, John Legend  (3:10) standing climb

Ready to Flow by Mike Nero (3:36) seated accelerations, 30 seconds each @ :44, 2:03 and 3:06

Great Night by NEEDTOBREATHE (2:56) alternating seated, standing climb

Happiness by NEEDTOBREATHE (3:26) seated flat road at around 98 rpm

Mi Mi Mi by Serebro (3:13) standing climb

Whistle While You Work It by Katy Tiz (3:35) Seated climb around 82 rpm

All These Things That I’ve Done by The Killers (5:02) Standing heavy climb

What’s Up Suckaz by TJR (4:15) more seated accelerations, 30 seconds a piece @ :59, 2:12 and 3:29

Broken Arrows Didrick Remix by Aviccii (2:56) standing climb

Beautiful Life by Nick Fradiani (3:28) seated climb (77rpm), pushing out of the saddle on the chorus (3 times)

Me Too by Meghan Trainor (3:01) rider’s choice

My Wild West Overture by Lissie (1:14)  recover on an easy flat road

Adrenaline Tabata: You know the drill here:  all out efforts 8×20 seconds with 10 second recoveries.

Have a Little Faith by Michael Franti and Spearhead: cool down

Be More Bario: stretch

*The next two profiles were taken and adapted from Pedal-On. Thank you to whomever shared them there-my classes loved them!

Progressive Climb Intervals

Just like it sounds, it’s all about climbing and the hills get longer with each interval. Each set starts out with resistance on the lower side, and then increases as you move forward, while maintaining cadence.  Feel free to play with the timing within each interval.  I’m not a fan of ‘Jumps’ for extended 2 and 3 minute periods, so I just switched that timing out a bit and gave them ‘jump’ breaks.  Also, we did it with all climbs, but if you or your class are not up for  all climbing, you could certainly swap a few of the intervals out for flat roads.

Here’s how it works:

SEC=seated climb            JOH=jumps on a hill           STC=standing climb

 

First two songs are warmup

3:00-1:00SEC/ 1:00JOH/ 1:00STC

4:00-2:00SEC/ 1:00JOH/ 1:00STC

5:00-2:00SEC/ 1:00JOH/ 2:00STC

6:00-2:00SEC/ 2:00JOH/ 2:00STC

7:00-3:00SEC/ 2:00JOH/ 2:00STC

8:00-3:00SEC/ 2:00JOH/ 3:00STC

9:00-4:00SEC/ 2:00JOH/3:00STC

Final two songs are cool down and stretch

Here’s the playlist:

 

Finally, here’s another Pedal-on profile called Four Sets.  Each set includes different work intervals, which makes the time go by quickly and keeps them guessing!

Set one, starts with the very first song, so make sure you incorporate your warmup into this set the first time through.

SET ONE: (12:00) Budapest, Intoxicated, Work This Body

2:00 SEF

2:00 Jumps

2:00 STF

*Go through 2x

SET TWO: (10:00) Dancin, Grinding

2:00 STC

2:00SEC

1:00 Breakaway (my definition of a breakaway: add gear and give it all you got for 60 seconds-can be seated or standing.

*Go through 2x

SET THREE (10:00)  Riptide, How We Roll

Alternating SEC/STC

1:00/1:00

:45/:45

:30/:30

:15/:15

*Go through two times.

SET FOUR:  *add gear for the amount of time listed  Prayer in C, Uptown Funk

SEC: :15     :30     :45     1:00

STC: :15     :30     :45     1:00

SEC: :15     :30     :45     1:00

STC: :15     :30     :45     1:00

Here’s the playlist:

 

 

 

 

 

15 Responses to “Happiness Cycling Mix and 2 Bonus Profiles”

  1. Stacey Mickey July 15, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

    Hi Chris, I’ve been wondering where you’ve been and missing your profiles, they are always my favorites. Thank you for the new profiles!!

    • chrispins July 15, 2016 at 2:55 pm #

      You are welcome Stacey! Hope you find something you can use!

  2. Cristina Seidel July 17, 2016 at 1:23 am #

    Chris! thanks for posting profiles! Your music has always been a hit in my class..Love that you do favorite track of the week..Helps keep me up on the new stuff. Thank again!

    • chrispins July 17, 2016 at 1:55 am #

      You’re welcome!

      • Doreen July 19, 2016 at 1:29 am #

        Thank you saved me!!! Have been in a rut for profiles.

      • chrispins July 19, 2016 at 11:02 am #

        You’re welcome!

  3. Michelle July 19, 2016 at 1:00 pm #

    Love your profile ideas in the email with music playlist in Spotify!!
    Looking forward to riding it w/ my class today!
    Thanks so much!

    • chrispins July 19, 2016 at 2:59 pm #

      Thank you! I hope your class enjoys the profiles and playlists!

  4. Katy July 25, 2016 at 8:46 pm #

    I am not sure how anyone can maintain a blog site and do everything else so I always have appreciated you do and are also so giving and sharing with your ideas. I teach 3 x a week and so I am always looking for ideas. Thank you girl! YOU ROCK.

    • chrispins July 26, 2016 at 2:02 pm #

      You are so welcome! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  5. meg July 26, 2016 at 1:40 pm #

    Thank God you are back!! I have been checking regularly and missing your music and ideas!!

  6. Mary February 10, 2017 at 7:24 pm #

    Quick question – SET FOUR: *add gear for the amount of time listed Prayer in C, Uptown Funk

    SEC: :15 :30 :45 1:00

    STC: :15 :30 :45 1:00

    SEC: :15 :30 :45 1:00

    STC: :15 :30 :45 1:00

    Do you do each move once and add resistance 3x? or do you cycle through moves, SEC, STC, SEC, STC for 15 seconds and then do the same for 30 sec? I’m thinking the first way but just want to make sure! Love your playlists and ideas ;-). Thanks!

    • chrispins March 19, 2017 at 9:36 pm #

      Yes, do each move once and add resistance 3x.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Progressive Climbs and Corkscrews | Chrispins - April 24, 2017

    […] After starting this post, I realized that I already posted this ride so to check out the profile follow this link. […]

Leave a Reply

