Looking Up Cycling Mix (aka: Shazam Dump)

6 Mar

Hey there Chrispins readers!  It’s been a while!  I’m here with my latest playlist which I’ve nicknamed “Shazam Dump” because many of the songs came from my tagged Shazams. I also stole a few from fellow instructor and music maker Peter Gonzales. He recently shared this amazing playlist with me and I’ve found a ton great songs here:

Make sure you follow him on Spotify while you’re checking out the playlist!

My classes really enjoyed this ride as well as the tunes and I hope you enjoy it too.  As always, brief notes are given but please remember, that this is just a very short overview of my notes, not a detailed explanation of how I taught the class.  That is up to your discretion as always.

Clap Both My Hands by Brian Deady (3:33) Seated warm up.  We worked on some one-legged drills during the warm up

Good To Be Alive (Hallelujah) by Andy Grammar (3:10) This is a continuation of the warm up and we gradually brought it out of the saddle as we felt ready

Juicy Wiggle by Redfoo (3:52) Standing climb

Best I Ever Had by Gavin Degraw (3:46) Seated accelerations on the chorus.  We did 3 of them.  The first two were 30 seconds each and the last was 60 seconds, gradually increasing every 15 seconds with a sprint to the finish.

No Turning Back  (Ummet Ozcan Edit) by Mem (3:17) Standing climb

Looking Up by Safety Suit (3:14) Seated flat (92 RPM’s).   We did some gear play here, maintaining cadence while adding and taking off gear.

America’s Sweetheart by Elle King (4:06) Standing climb

Devil Drums by Scooter (5:24) First minute recover on a flat road.  After that, 30 second work efforts with 30 second recoveries.  We did accelerations in and out of the saddle for work efforts.

BoomShakalaka-Original Mix by DJ B13nd, Kastra (3:49) Standing climb with jumps on a hill

Oh Cecilia (Breaking My Heart) by The Vamps, Shawn Mendes (3:16) Seated fast flat road (100 RPM’s)

First by Cold War Kids (3:20) Seated climb

Shake Señora by Pitbull (3:35) Standing climbs.  You could also do jumps here.

Crunk Beat by Jorge Quintero (1:28)  recover

Uptown Funk (Tabata Mix)by Tabata Songs (4:02) Love this new tabata song and so did my class!  20 second work efforts X8 with 10 second recoveries

Let It Go by James Bay (4:21) Cool down

Youth by Troye Sivan (3:05) Stretch

Have a great week!

 

6 Responses to “Looking Up Cycling Mix (aka: Shazam Dump)”

  1. steve:spin:list March 6, 2016 at 3:35 pm #

    Good to see another post Chris…Shazam is great (right up there with Spotify). Those tracks by Gavin, Troye and Safety Suit are great. Check out the Zedd/Troye Sivan track PAPERCUT! Have a great week (Spring Break is getting closer!)

    • chrispins March 6, 2016 at 7:02 pm #

      Thanks Steve! I will definitely check out that track. Can’t wait for Spring Break!!!

  2. Laura Iwan March 7, 2016 at 11:19 am #

    Nice to have you back, Chris!

  3. Pam March 8, 2016 at 12:50 pm #

    Hi Chris,
    This playlist is amazing, thank you so much for sharing it. I haven’t used it to teach a class yet but I went for a run yesterday and these tracks kept the old legs a pumping! Keep sharing, I love your posts.

    • chrispins March 8, 2016 at 1:57 pm #

      Thank you Pam! Glad the tunes were able to power you through your run!!

  4. Katy March 17, 2016 at 4:34 am #

    It was late and I thought I would try your ride and add a few of my own twists for my 5:30 a.m. class. Honestly we like alot of the same music so I love it when you share because I use so many of your suggested tunes and moves. If you ever want me to share a ride with you, I can attach on an email. Not sure how to do it otherwise. Have a happy St Paddies day!

Leave a Reply

