Happy New Year! My Favorites from 2015

1 Jan

**I’ve updated this post to include teaching notes!

Happy New Year everyone! It’s been a while. As you can probably already tell, I posted quite a bit less than usual in 2015. I made a goal to post at least once a month, and I think I did pretty well. 🙂

One of my goals for this 2016 (and one that I started in 2015) was to simplify many areas of my life. One of the ways I’ve done that is to make my routine preparing for my indoor cycling classes more streamlined and organized. That means organizing my playlists into folders in Spotify, using playlists more than once or revamping existing playlists and creating new, fresh playlists at least once every two weeks. It also means that I’ll be blogging less. The good news is, you can still follow my playlists and favorite song ideas weekly by following me on Spotify and checking out my weekly “Favorite Track of The Week” post every Friday on ICI-Pro.
facebook_break_up

Many of you that have been following me for a while know that I never really used my personal Facebook page. I actually only had it so that I could keep up with my Chrispins page there. Basically, that Facebook page was just a way to link to my blog when I posted, so since I’m posting less, I decided to completely break up with Facebook. I did keep my Twitter page though. And I actually have 2 Instagram accounts, although I think I may delete my personal Instagram soon since I’m not using it much. If you’re interested in following my puppy’s page though, be sure to follow him there at @quincygoldendoodle. He’s super cute and he posts at least once a week!
IMG_0580
So onto the playlists!

I’m actually sharing three of them with you today!
The first is my New Year’s playlist from last year. I’ll be using it on Monday, and I don’t plan on changing a thing from last year’s playlist. So here is the playlist once again:

The next playlist includes some of my favorites from 2015 that I was able to put into a working cycling mix:

spotify:user:chrispins:playlist:2rwE95gDMomCIyvGesWNZI

Teaching notes:

Bad Dream: warm up

Cheerleader: continue warm up—> standing climb

Ex’s and Oh’s: alternating seated/standing climb

Uma Thurman: seated or standing accelerations @ :50 (25 seconds); 1:42 (25 seconds) and 2:46 (35 seconds)

Hold My Hand: standing climb

Centuries: seated flat

Go Big or Go Home:standing climb with accelerations on the chorus

Fight Song: standing climb (I’ve also used this song as a seated flat)

Freedom: seated flat

Don’t: seated accelerations @ :30, 1:46, 2:30 and 3:30 (all 30 seconds)

Drums Make Me Happy: standing climb

Gold: seated climb

Uptown Funk: standing climb with jumps @ 1:52, 2:22 and 3:44

It’s Over: Recover

Tabata: seated or standing accelerations (or alternate) 8×20 seconds with 10 second recoveries.

Thinking Out Loud: cool down

Photograph: Stretch

 

 

 

And here is another playlist that is not a cycling mix, but a complete playlist of my favorites from 2015. I’m sure I probably missed a few. If I had to pick two favorites from this year I’d say they were Go Big Or Go Home and Fight Song.

spotify:user:chrispins:playlist:4uWRmiEgJrKrTXpPsiriLv

And my last playlist is one I used recently. It’s a great mix of some newer tunes and some old favorites. I hope you enjoy it!

spotify:user:chrispins:playlist:2XhbNygaaX6XYMjbXmr1rj

Here are the teaching notes:

Better When I’m Dancin: Warm up

Kill of The Night: continue warm up—> standing climb

Dragostea Din Tei: alternating seated/standing climb

Tamucun: 30×30 seated accelerations

Beautiful Life: seated climb

Hallelujah: seated flat

Victorious: Standing climb

Stairway to Heaven: Seated climb—-> Standing climb

D’Ya Wanna Go Faster:  Seated accelerations @ :43 (15 seconds); 1:18 (20 seconds and 2:18 (40 seconds)

Jungle: seated flat with standing accelerations @ :50; 1:44 and 2:39

When You Were Young: Standing climb with jumps

Angel: recover

Sandstorm: seated accelerations @ :28 (1 min), 2:29 (1 min, 10 seconds)

Hello: Cool Down

Everglow: Stretch

 

 

Thanks for continuing to read and follow the blog even though I’ve streamlined. I always appreciate your comments and questions. Here’s to a great 2016!

What was your favorite song that came out in 2015?

27 Responses to “Happy New Year! My Favorites from 2015”

  1. Ashlie January 2, 2016 at 2:52 am #

    Thank you for all of your great music and ride ideas, Chris! Happy New Year!

  2. Fern January 2, 2016 at 3:07 am #

    I have enjoyed following you and will continue to check in, you always give me some ideas on music that I wouldn’t have tried. Thank you!
    Happy New Year!

  3. Katy January 2, 2016 at 10:44 am #

    Thank you for sharing some of your favorites from 2015. I have a lot of favorites and my riders like a variety so I just put in Rock Me Amadeus by Falco (3:22′) for tomorrow’s ride (1985 vintage) and Rock This House by BB King and Elton John (3:07′) (2008 vintage). Meghan Trainor’s song Dear Future Husband was a hit with my riders (2015). And I used Jordan Smith’s (Voice-2015) Mary Did you Know for a cool Christmas cool down song. My class loved that one. Happy New Years!
    Katy

    • chrispins January 2, 2016 at 8:33 pm #

      Happy New Year Katy! Thanks for sharing your favorites!

      • Katy January 3, 2016 at 3:48 am #

        I tried a ride that was a completely mix-meistered ride with songs that had all been manipulated with beat and timing. It was a ride by an excellent Schwinn Master Trainer. This is a popular approach as I have seen in the bike associations I am a member of. My riders can’t stand it though. After the second or so song they really start to grumble. By the end, they are nearly in a revolt. They want to ride to blues, pop, oldies, classical, world genres, the list goes on but not songs that start to sound all sound the same. So, I appreciate your song lists because I have been doing a new ride once a week for a few years and I do weekly searches for music. 🙂 I will endeavor to share more of what I find as you are so generous with your time. I went from three jobs to two jobs so should be able to do it! 🙂
        Katy from Alaska

      • chrispins January 7, 2016 at 12:03 pm #

        Not sure my classes would appreciate the mix moistened ride either. I’m glad we have the ability to use different music in our classes. 🙂 Thanks for the kind comments!

  4. Katy January 3, 2016 at 7:21 am #

    A great longer song from Steve (For the Ride Inside). Got a Feeling by the Royal D.J.s (5:49). I am using it for a 5.5%-6% grade hill climb. 🙂
    Katy

  5. Lori January 3, 2016 at 3:50 pm #

    I love your music finds & so happy you’re still around! (Panicked when you weren’t on fb!) ☺️

  6. Lisa January 5, 2016 at 1:35 am #

    Thanks so much for sharing your music playlists. I follow you on Spotify to find new music ideas. You have helped me immensely throughout my first year of teaching spin – more than you know! I appreciate your profiles, too, and find myself coming back here to see if I missed new ones! So glad you are still around!

    • Lisa January 5, 2016 at 1:37 am #

      What did you do with Stairway to Heaven in When You Were Young playlist? I’ve been wanting to use it..but wasn’t sure what to do with it. Have you used any Beatles tunes yet??

    • chrispins January 7, 2016 at 12:01 pm #

      Thank you Lisa!
      Stairway to Heaven starts as a seated climb, then picks up and ends with a standing climb. My classes love it.

      • Lisa January 12, 2016 at 3:32 am #

        Thank you! I’m looking forward to using it this weekend. Did you ever post a profile for your Drums Make Me Crazy playlist? I love your song choices in that one.

  7. Stacey Mickey January 5, 2016 at 4:11 am #

    Chris thank you for sharing these playlists. Last week I used your Funky New Year playlist from a few years ago. My class loved it. What profile did you use for the 2nd playlist that you posted?

    • chrispins January 7, 2016 at 12:00 pm #

      Update to the post will be up soon. Please check back.

  8. Stacey Mickey-Neustadt January 5, 2016 at 4:24 am #

    Hi Chris, Thank you for these playlists and all of the other playlists and profiles that you have shared. Last Wed. I used the Funky New Year’s playlist from a few years ago. My class really loved it. For the second playlist below, do you have a profile for it? For some reason I was unable to reply to you in the comment section because I didn’t fill in the website line. I don’t have a website. Thanks again, Stacey

    • chrispins January 7, 2016 at 11:59 am #

      You’re welcome! I was able to see all of your comments. 🙂

  9. Amie January 6, 2016 at 1:38 am #

    I don’t mean to give you more work, but you usually post the type of spin you use with each track which greatly helps me in prepping my class. Do you have these posted somewhere for these playlists? I love your playlists. Thank you for doing this.

    • chrispins January 7, 2016 at 11:59 am #

      Update is on it’s way. Hopefully by the weekend.

      • Amie January 8, 2016 at 2:34 am #

        Could you possibly post your Best of 2015 Cycling mix? I wanted to use it tomorrow morning…

  10. Torri Smith January 7, 2016 at 4:50 am #

    I just found you (and am thrilled!) and now I learn you are cutting back. Sigh 😉 Thank you for all that you have shared. I appreciate all that you have given (profiles, playlists, tips, etc.) to help other cycle instructors. I will look forward to your posts on ICI.

    • chrispins January 7, 2016 at 11:58 am #

      Thank you! There are tons of archived playlists so please check them out!

  11. Laura January 12, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

    I appreciate your playlists , and also your goals. You have been a great source for me in designing my classes.

  12. xpressorun January 17, 2016 at 9:30 pm #

    Thanks so much for sharing!!! I can’t wait to use tomorrow!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Teaching Notes Update! | Chrispins - January 9, 2016

    […] playlists.  They are very brief notes, but I’m sure you can work with them!  Check them out here and enjoy the rest of your […]

Leave a Reply

