This Is Not A Test Cycling Mix

5 Sep

Unknown-3

Hey there!  I hope everyone is doing well and enjoying the end of summer/back to school transition.

CMU87JrWEAA3bRK

It’s always a busy time of year for me, but I wanted to make sure I found the time to post my latest playlist and teaching notes for you.  🙂  We’ll get to that shortly.  First, have you heard about my new featured post on ICI-PRO?  I talked about it in my last post, and I’ve posted some great tracks over the past few weeks so make sure you go and check it out.  Not only will I give you my latest and greatest favorites, but I’ll give you great tips on finding new music for your classes and I’ll tell you how I’m using my favorites in my own classes!

Also, I posted a pic of our new puppy last month, and he’s grown so much since then that I just had to share a recent picture.  He’s super cute and definitely in full puppy mode: chewing, nipping, and just generally wreaking havoc!  But we love him to death and already can’t imagine life without him.  🙂

Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 2.09.43 PM

So here’s the latest playlist.  It features some new stuff that I’m liking a lot lately. I hope you like it!

Big Love by Ben Lee: Warm up in the saddle

Verge by Owl City, Aloe Blacc: Warm up, coming out of the saddle

Marvin Gaye (feat. Meghan Trainor) by Charlie Puth, Meghan Trainor: standing climb

Sable Dance by David Garrett: Seated accelerations

This is Not a Test by TobyMac: Standing climb

Roots by Imagine Dragons: Seated climb

I Am by AWOLNATION: Alternate seated, standing climb

Hip Hop Violin by BeatMichel: seated flat

Le Tour De France by Haik Naltchayan: seated climb with gear changes throughout

Stamp on The Ground -Radio Edit by ItaloBrothers: seated/standing accelerations

Soul on Fire (feat. All Sons & Daughters by Third Day, All Sons & Daughters: seated flat

Freak by Steve Aoki, Diplo & Deorro: standing climb with jumps on a hill

Escape by Craig Armstrong: recover

Fire by Scooter: seated accelerations

Not a One by The Young Wild: cool down

Walk On The Moon by Great Big Sea: stretch

Have you used any great, new songs lately?

Any advice regarding teething/mouthing puppies?

Have a great week!

13 Responses to “This Is Not A Test Cycling Mix”

  1. Cynthia September 6, 2015 at 1:48 am #

    Love it Chris! My favourites are Verge and Le Tour de France. Great finds – thank you. A few songs I’ve been enjoying lately are:
    Renegades – X Ambassadors (really versatile – flat, climb or jumps)
    Don’t (Don Diablo Remix) – Ed Sheeran (climb)
    Are You With Me – Lost Frequencies (seated flat), and
    Work this Body – Walk the Moon (an inspiring warm up) – think maybe I got this one from you, actually!

    I am deep into the back to school process, too. Good luck next week.

    • chrispins September 6, 2015 at 2:56 pm #

      Thanks Cynthia! Always great to hear your input and I always get a little gem from you that I hadn’t heard before. I’ve been using most of the songs you mentioned. except the Ed Sheeran track so I will definitely check it out! Hope your back to school transition goes smoothly! 🙂

  2. jean September 7, 2015 at 7:47 pm #

    Thank you for sharing!!!

  3. Laura September 8, 2015 at 2:27 am #

    Hi Chris – always love checking your blog. I am also digging your golden doodle. We have an 8 year old big guy, Charlie. And then got him a buddy, who is an aussie poo – snuggly naughty pup. Anyhow, teething – have you used Kongs? They are rubbery things you can put treats inside. Sometimes packing it with peanut butter and dog food, then freeze, or can give immediately if in a hurry – that keeps them licking and chewing. Else, we do a rawhide in the morning and at night. It won’t take long to get through the teething process, at least. If said pup is mouthing you with teeth, then we immediately do a high pitched loud “Oww, Oww, Oww!” stop playing and turn our backs on him. Fun ends for puppy.

    • chrispins September 8, 2015 at 11:03 am #

      Thank you Laura! We are using Kongs and Quincy loves them! I mostly use them when I need him to go in his crate so he’ll have a positive association but it also works when I need an extended time of peace and quiet while he’s up and about. We have not tried rawhide yet but I think that is coming soon- I want to make sure I purchase something safe because I’ve heard a lot about how unsafe certain rawhides are. Any recommendations? Hopefully that will keep him busy and chewing! Thank you so much for the advice!!

      • Kathy September 14, 2015 at 4:59 pm #

        Hi Chris
        Always love your playlists! Thank you so much for sharing!!
        A song that I just used and really like is called “Open your eyes” (Deep Bue Songspell) Bea miller… I use it as a seated climbe with standing accelerations. I would love to hear your thoughts!
        Have a wonderful day

      • chrispins September 15, 2015 at 12:51 am #

        Hi Kathy! Thank you for sharing ‘Open Your Eyes”. I just gave it a listen and I really like it! I think a climb with standing accelerations is perfect. 🙂

      • Laura September 30, 2015 at 12:05 pm #

        I didn’t see your reply until today.. but if you’re searching for rawhide, I like to make sure first off, that it’s American made. We have had good luck with just the thin flat ones that are about 2 x 4 inches, or the rawhide sticks. We think we had an issue with our older dog with the faux wood stick product, but puppy did fine with it.

  4. Brian September 22, 2015 at 4:18 pm #

    Glad that I’m past the back to school phase but paid my dues back in the day…Thanks for the playlist/ride profile. Am using portions of it in several playlists I’ve been teaching from this past month.

    Would also advocate using deer/elk antlers for teething issues vs. rawhide toys or treats. Unless your pup has jaws like a pit bull, they can last a really long time which helps because they aren’t always cheap. (Suggest looking online for best prices).

    • chrispins September 22, 2015 at 9:08 pm #

      Glad you were able to find something to use in my playlist/profile! Thank you for the deer/elk antler tip! I will definitely give them a try.

      • Terri Myers October 19, 2015 at 7:49 pm #

        I appreciate all the help with playlists and profiles. I like Can’t Feel My Face by the Weekend, Feel It by Toby Mac, Touch the Sky, Hillsong United, First by Lauren Daigle.

        Deer Antlers are great. What kind of dog? So stinkin cute!

      • chrispins November 2, 2015 at 12:42 am #

        Thanks for the deer antler tip. I will definitely try them. Quincy is a Goldendoodle! 🙂

Leave a Reply

