Warriors Cycling Mix

3 Aug

Hey there and happy summer! It’s hard to believe it’s August already, isn’t it?

Lots of great things happening this summer around here. Here’s one thing that’s been keeping me busy:

Our new puppy, Quincy!

Our new puppy, Quincy!

Isn’t he the sweetest? If you can’t get enough of his cuteness, you can follow his doggie-Instragram account @quincygoldendoodle. πŸ™‚

Also, if you haven’t already, check out my latest ICI/PRO Podcast that I recorded with John a few weeks back. As always, I had a great time developing this profile and recording it. It’s called Double Pyramids. I hope you enjoy it as much as my class did.

Chrispins Double Pyramid Profile Podcast on ICI-PRO

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 7.26.18 AM

And speaking of ICI-PRO, be sure to check back there every Friday for my new feature where I will share some of my favorite music finds starting this week!

I’d like to again thank Natalie for guest posting recently and sharing her Tour de France Profile. I’ve used this one a few times now and my classes loved it. Even though Tour de France is over, it will still be a great ride for your class and the music is awesome!

Ok, now that we’re all caught up, let’s get on with my latest profile and playlist, shall we?

Here’s the playlist:

And here are the teaching notes. *Remember, my notes are just a very basic sketch of what I actually do in my classes. They are just meant as a guide for you to start from. There is a lot more that goes into my class than what I write here, so please, take and use what you can but put your own ‘spin’ on it too and teach responsibly!

**Here’s something new: I like to match RPM’s to BPM’s in many of the songs I use, mostly because we don’t have bike computers and it’s a great way for my riders to gage their cadence. For the songs that we ride to the beat, I’ve given the RPM’s after the description. πŸ™‚

Ticking Bomb by Aloe Blacc (3:36) seated warm up

Uptown Funk, Wideboys VIP Remix by Mark Ronson, Bruno Mars (3:16) warm up seated—–>standing (62)

State I’m In by NEEDTOBREATHE (3:20) alternate seated/standing climb (63)

Granite by Pendulum (4:42) seated accelerations @ :48 (20 seconds); 2:05 (25 seconds); 3:27 (25 seconds) and 4:15 (20 seconds)

Cheerleader-Felix Jaehn Remix by Omi (3:02) Standing climb (60)

Riptide by Vance Joy (3:06) fast seated flat (100)

Ritmo De Negra’s by Drummboys (3:06) alternate seated/standing climb (73)

Big Love-Live by Fleetwood Mac (3:06) seated accelerations 3×20 seconds *note: the song ends and the applause begins at 2:47

Whatever Lola Wants-Gotan Project by Sarah Vaughan (4:40) heavy standing climb with gear play (adding and taking off gear keeping the same cadence)

Kissed It by Macy Gray, Velvet Reliever (4:46) standing climb with jumps on the chorus (67)

Warriors by Imagine Dragons (2:50) seated climb (80)

Blast The Speakers (Album Version) by Warp Brothers (3:37) rider’s choice (69)

Solitaire by Camelot (1:00) recovery

Tabata Wod by Tabata Songs (3:50) seated or standing (or alternating) accelerations 8×20 seconds with 10 second recoveries *I like using the coached Tabata songs and I really like this new one for a change of pace.

Polaroid by Imagine Dragons (3:50) cool down

Breathe In Breathe Out by Mat Kearney (3:42) stretch

Thanks for reading and have a great week!

Do you watch The Tour De France?
Have you done Tour De France Profiles in your classes?
Any great puppy advice?

10 Responses to “Warriors Cycling Mix”

  1. Jessica @ Fit Talker August 3, 2015 at 2:52 pm #

    Yay puppy!! Enjoy, puppies are the cutest! Although also a lot of work. I got my dog when she was 1.5 so unfortunately I don’t have any advice. Although I did have a period of thinking “what did I do” so if you have any thoughts like that, trust me they will pass. πŸ™‚

    • chrispins August 3, 2015 at 6:29 pm #

      Hi Jessica! I love your advice because I’ve actually thought that very thing several times. Keep up the good work with your running!

  2. Jen August 3, 2015 at 4:40 pm #

    Hi Chris, thanks for another great profile and playlist. I like matching RPM’s to BPM’s also. What do you use to find BPM’s to your songs, please? We’re kitty owners so sorry, no puppy advice other than to have fun with your little cutie! Thanks!

    • chrispins August 3, 2015 at 6:28 pm #

      Hi Jen! I use this BPM finder on my laptop: http://www.all8.com/tools/bpm.htm You can also find apps for your phone that will do the same. You have to manually tap out the beats on a computer key or your phone, but it’s actually kind of fun! I have a cat as well. And he’s not terribly impressed with the puppy. πŸ™‚

  3. Bonnie August 4, 2015 at 1:00 pm #

    First, thanks for posting your profiles/music. I always find inspiration in them. Second – we have a goldendoodle also – she’s Lucy and she’s 10 months old! As Jessica posted, this has come with many “what were we thinking?!” moments. (and my daughters, 9 and 11, don’t always help as much as they had said they were going to…) She’s a super sweet dog, but extremely active (and I’m someone who loves to walk, run, etc., and still!). And, she still hates to be crated (about 4 hours most weekdays) and hates to be alone, so that makes it hard to do things sometimes, but there’s nothing like the pure joy on her face when she’s so happy to see you…

    • chrispins August 4, 2015 at 1:47 pm #

      Thank you Bonnie! I’m glad you’ve found inspiration in my profiles and music! AND so happy to hear from someone else with a puppy golden doodle. (Lucy was my cats’ name that passed away in Feb-also my middle name, so I love it!!) I have two boys- 16 and 14. They’ve been pretty helpful actually, but I have a feeling it won’t last long… I may just be contacting you with puppy questions! πŸ™‚ And you should definitely do an instagram page for Lucy! It’s a great way to share photos and to watch your pup grow. I’d follow her.

  4. Bonnie August 4, 2015 at 1:02 pm #

    Also, I should add, I showed your post to my daughters so they could see Quincy, and now they want to do the same thing on Instagram for Lucy. See what you started…

  5. Jill-Marie August 4, 2015 at 3:47 pm #

    I follow you on Spotify and noticed an AWESOME playlist called “Corkscrew Ladders.” I would love to hear more about that ride!!!

    • chrispins August 4, 2015 at 4:09 pm #

      Hey there! Corkscrew Loop is one I think I found on Pedal-on and it was based on a Jennifer Sage ride I believe. I did it last night and it was a keeper. First song is warm up. Here’s the rest:
      3min seated climb adding resistance each minute
      1min Standing climb
      3min:(1m seated climb/ 1m standing climb / *add resistance* 1m standing climb)
      2min seated fast flat
      4min CORKSCREW! (2:00 flat road/accelerations :30 on, :30 off / 2:00 Standing climb/accelerations :30 on, :30 off)
      2min seated flat
      *Go through this 2 more times. Each set is 15 minutes. Last two songs are cool down and stretch

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Is Not A Test Cycling Mix | Chrispins - September 5, 2015

    […] I posted a pic of our new puppy last month, and he’s grown so much since then that I just had to share a recent picture. Β He’s […]

Leave a Reply

