Go Big Or Go Home Cycling Mix

31 May

Unknown-4Hey there!!  It’s time for a new playlist/profile and I promise you this one won’t disappoint.  I typically try to mix up my playlists with some new music as well as old favorites, but there have been so many great releases lately that I found myself using mostly new music for this one.  I don’t think my riders will mind…IT”S ALL GOOD!

With summer quickly approaching I’m already thinking about which song will be the official ‘song of the summer’.  My vote goes to Go Big or Go Home by American Authors.  I have a feeling many of the contenders are in this playlist. What’s your favorite so far?

Here are the teaching notes:

This Summer’s Gonna Hurt Like a MotherF****r by Maroon 5 (3:46)  Warm up; Make sure you get the clean version of this one!  Maybe it’s just me getting old, but is the profanity really necessary?  Wow Maroon 5.

New Rush by Gin Wigmore (3:49) Continue to warm up and slowly bring it out of the saddle to a standing climb.

Verge by Owl City, Aloe Blacc (3:33) Standing climb

Beautiful Now by Zedd, John Bellion (3:38) Seated accelerations

Trust You by Rob Thomas (3:07) Alternate seated/standing climb

Fight Song by Rachel Platten (3:24) Seated flat

Go Big Or Go Home by American Authors (2:49) Standing climb, accelerating on the chorus

Hunger by Of Monsters and Men (4:50) Alternating seated, standing climb

The Phoenix by Fallout Boy (4:05) Seated accelerations on the chorus

I Don’t Like It, I Love It by Flo Rida, Robin Thicke, Verdeen White (3:44) Standing climb/jumps

Ghost Town by Adam Lambert (3:28)  *Get the clean version* :00-:46 Seated climb :46-1:24 Standing climb; 1:24-2:02 seated climb; 2:02-3:28 standing climb

Sugar You by Oh Honey (3:32) Riders choice

Get it Together by Seal (1:02) Recovery

Tabata 5-Come With Me Now (Plus 60 second rest); DJ Bata Boy (4:55) Seated accelerations 8×20 seconds with 10 second recoveries

If I’m Lucky by State Champs (3:41) Cool Down

Nothing Without Love by Nate Russ (3:57) Stretch

Have a great week!

9 Responses to “Go Big Or Go Home Cycling Mix”

  1. Nancy DiLisi May 31, 2015 at 11:40 pm #

    Love your ideas! you are right about that new song by Maroon 5, I agree! Thanks for all your posts, when I get stuck and burned out, they really help inspire me again!

  2. steve:spin:list June 1, 2015 at 12:20 am #

    Great mix…and I also agree about the latest M5 hit. Looking forward to HEARING what this summer has to offer!

  3. Felicia June 1, 2015 at 1:18 am #

    Hi Chris  Thanks for always sharing your great profilesI am so curious how long it takes you to create oneI find they take me days sometimes weeks to put together even after years of teachingWhats your secret?I am curious sometimes like in this profile, what level of tension you use when doing a flat road for the song- Fight Song Happy WeekFelicia

    • chrispins June 1, 2015 at 1:41 am #

      Hi Felicia! Sometimes profiles take me forever and sometimes they come to me fairly quickly. I always have some ‘in the works’. One thing that really helps me is to have my music filed into ‘folders’ with titles like ‘hills’, ‘flats’, ‘warmups’, etc. and also by BPM/RPM. That way, once I have the profile, I can just plug in the music. I typically try to have my riders pedal to the ‘beat’, so for Fight Song, which is about 89 BPM we are riding at 89 RPMs- a pretty quick pace, so lighter gear for a fast flat road. I hope that helps! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

  4. teresa legreid June 3, 2015 at 1:28 am #

    Hi Chris,
    Great playlist! I believe it is my favorite. Thanks for sharing your ideas and profiles. Your site was great help to me as a newbie instructor. I am now have 5 years under my belt. I owe part of my success to peeps like you and Steve Canum. Please keep up the great work!!
    Teresa

    • chrispins June 3, 2015 at 10:08 am #

      Thanks Teresa! That’s so nice to hear!

  5. Eileen June 9, 2015 at 9:01 pm #

    Great playlist and notes…I’m using quite a few with my class tomorrow! Thanks Chris! Some other new favorites of mine are Bad Girls/MKTO, Freedom/Allan Stone and Painkiller/JasonD and Meghan T. Great music coming out last few weeks!

  6. Doreen June 13, 2015 at 12:51 pm #

    Fight Song is my vote!

Leave a Reply

