Continental Peaks Cycling Mix and Profile

12 May

Hey there! First of all, I’m so excited to (almost) have reached another Spotify milestone! As of this moment, I am up to 1.999 followers! So hey, if you’re reading this and you’re not already following me on Spotify, won’t you click the follow button and put me at an even 2,000? Thanks!! Screen Shot 2015-05-11 at 9.55.48 PM I was so excited about this profile that I found on Pedal-On that I couldn’t wait to share it with you! I can take exactly zero credit for it because other than changing a few of the songs, I used the profile as written. It was posted on the forums several years ago, but it’s a timeless ride that you’re going to want to add to your rotation. Basically it’s an hour class which takes riders to the highest peaks on each continent. It was written by Bill (thank you!!!) and he did all of the research work for you-from geography to appropriate music. He even added a link to pictures of each peak. lhasa-kathmandu-bike-tour72 Here’s how the ride is broken down (The following are my adaptations on Bill’s ride notes, but most are directly from his profile):

Warm Up: Into The Wild (3:54

) Australia: Mount Kosciuszko, 7,310 ft.( (3:50)

Seated climb, adding resistance every minute. This is a moderately steep mountain.

Wake Up Down Under (Avicci ft. Aloe Blacc vs.Men at Work by Kill_mR_DJ)

Antarctica: Vinson Massif,16.505 ft. (5:28)

:00-3:00 Aggressive standing climb. It’s cold in Antarctica so we want to hurry to the top. Maintain a strong cadence and intensity. 3:00-5:28 Seated climb: The cold wind has picked up, so stay low to minimize it.

Climbing to the Top by Haik Naltchayan Europe: Elbrus, 18,510 ft. (6:35)

:00-3:00 Seated climb adding resistance until heavy. 3:00-6:35 Standing accelerations.

Sanomi-Eurovision Edit by Urban Trad (3:01) Ya Soshla S Uma by t.A.T.u (3:34)

Africa: Kilimanjaro, 19,340 ft. (6:59)

:00-4:00 Break riders into 2 groups, alternating each group in and out of the saddle for :30 seconds each, simulating one group leading and one following. From 4:00-6:59, slowly lower resistance and challenge them to be the first to the top.

Welcome To Africa-Club Mix by Paffendorf

North America: Mt. McKinley 20,320 ft. (7:14)

:00-1:00 Moderate resistance. 1:00-4:00 Seated climb, adding resistance to heavy. 4:00-7:14 Standing climb to the top .

The Star Spangled Banner by Madison Rising (3:58) American Beauty/American Psycho by Fallout Boy (3:16)

South America: Aconcagua, 22, 841 ft. (7:50)

:00-4:00 You’ve picked up a guide who plays local tango music and climb with heavy resistance in the saddle. At 4:00, the guide abandons the group to return to town. You must lead the ride to the summit. Alternate 1:00 in and out of the saddle, and push in a standing climb for the final minute to the top.

Tango Serenata by Gustavo Mantesavo (4:03) Savirti by Rodrigo y Gabriela (3:47)

Asia: Mt.Everest, 29,035 ft. (7:25)

:00-1:00 Start on the streets of Katmandu assembling our team. After 1:00 we depart, adding resistance from moderate every :30. This is rider’s choice (seated or standing climb). “Our goal is to get to Camp IV in 4:30. Once we’re there, we’ll decide whether to push up to the summit or camp out overnight. The wind keeps getting stronger and the visibility worsens as we climb. Continue climbing and adding resistance until it’s very high at 4:30. As we approach Camp IV ask the team if they want to brave the elements and continue to the summit or camp out. The riders will enthusiastically want to finish at the top. The visibility is zero for final 4:00. Riders climb steadily to the summit.”

Mandala by Thievery Corporation (4:01) Kashmir by Escala/Slash(3:24)

Here’s the playlist in Spotify: *”Wake Up Down Under is from my local files, but you can find it by following the link above What a fun and challenging ride! Thanks again Bill and Pedal-On! Have a great week!

9 Responses to “Continental Peaks Cycling Mix and Profile”

  1. Tammi May 12, 2015 at 2:57 am #

    Mount cook is in New Zealand The highest mountain in Australia is Mount Kosciuszko( pronounced koziosko) at 7310 ft above sea level

    >

    • chrispins May 12, 2015 at 9:46 am #

      Thank you for letting me know. I’ve changed it on my profile. Luckily my class didn’t catch it last night…at least they didn’t say anything.:) That’s what I get for using someone else’s profile as is I guess.

      • Ed May 17, 2015 at 5:55 pm #

        New Zealand is not technically part of any continent but it’s physically closest to the continent of Australia. I’m using it for my class tomorrow morning and presenting Mt. Cook as being in the country of New Zealand, a “continent-less” country but physically closest to the continent of Australia.

  2. Doreen May 13, 2015 at 2:14 am #

    Hi Chris

    I am thinking of doing a memorial ride that my class would come in and ride for somebody that is near and dear to them. Any suggestions of music that I can use for this class that would be inspirational? I also was thinking of doing luminaries around the front of the room.
    I think it would be a really great class just need some help with music that won’t put them to sleep or tears:)

    • chrispins May 14, 2015 at 8:09 pm #

      Hi Doreen,
      Let me think on that one. I wouldn’t be able to do it because I’m sure I’d be crying the whole time… I’ll let you know if I think of something.

  3. Mila Levine May 17, 2015 at 6:27 pm #

    Hi Christine,
    This morning we rocked the Continental Peaks. But I did have some reservations about using The Star Spangled Banner… Sure enough, after the class, my most demanding student (who asked for harder rides a while back but now loves my classes), came up and said I should never use American anthem as a riding song. She didn’t feel comfortable riding to it. Interestingly, she has a British accent. She said she only likes to stand up with her hand on her heart to that music. I totally get it. I also wasn’t born here. Then she said “you wouldn’t ride to the German anthem, would you?” Not sure why she said that exactly. Just wanted to relay this interesting feedback and ask: what song would you recommend to replace it with? Other than that the ride was awesome and HARD! Thank you!

    • chrispins May 17, 2015 at 6:56 pm #

      The original profile used Bruce Springsteen’s Born in the USA and John Mellencamp’s Rockin in the USA as well as aMarvin Gaye version of the Star Spangled Banner.

      • Mila Levine May 18, 2015 at 12:17 am #

        Cool.. Thank you!!!!

      • chrispins May 29, 2015 at 11:46 pm #

        You bet!

Leave a Reply

