Believe Cycling Mix

3 Apr

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

You guys.  I was so excited when I heard that Mumford and Sons is coming out with a new album.  (Look for it on May 4.)  They released the lead single called Believe on March 9, and while it’s a completely different sound for them, I really like it.  I named this playlist after the song and I’ll be using it as a cool down.  I can’t wait to hear the rest of the album.   Take a listen:

I’m sorry I haven’t been posting as much as I have in the past.  I’m trying to shoot for posting a playlist once a month. Sound good?  I’ve been busy with taking classes for school and I’m also working my way toward being certified as a trainer for the YMCA!! This will allow me to train potential cycling instructors through the YMCA program.  The program they use is actually Cycle Reebok.  Does anyone have experience with this program?  I’d love to hear your comments.

Here is the playlist followed by the teaching notes. It includes some new(ish) finds including High by Young Rising Sons and Bad Dream by the Mowgli’s.  Bad Dream is actually a really upbeat song with great lyrics, which you wouldn’t be able to tell by the title alone.   I hope you find something you can use!

Bad Dream by The Mowgli’s (3:08) Warm up

Work This Body by Walk The Moon (2:56) Continue warm up, coming out of the saddle

Samba Trance by Highlight Tribe (3:59) Standing climb

Lola Montez by Volbeat (4:28) Seated accelerations @ :25 (20 seconds); 1:13 (25 seconds); 2:25(30 seconds) and 4:00 (30 seconds)

High by Young Rising Sons (2:46) Standing climb

Candyman (RedOne Mix) by Christina Aguilera (3:19) Seated flat

Feet, Don’t Fail Me Know by NEEDTOBREATHE (3:45) Alternate seated/standing climb

Sweep The Leg by Family Force 5 (3:00) Seated accelerations @ :30 (20 seconds), 1:20 (20 seconds), 2:09 (20 seconds) and 2:42 (15 seconds)

Grace Kelly by MIKA (3:08) Jumps

Brother by NEEDTOBREATHE (4:49) Seated flat

Silence-DJ Tiesto’s In Search of Sunrise Remix by Sara McLachlan (11:34) 00-:45 Seated climb; :45-2:20 Standing climb; 2:20-3:30 Seated climb; 3:30-5:30 Standing climb with jumps;5:30-7:28 Seated climb; 7:28-9:00 Standing climb; 9:00-10:00 Seated climb; 10:00-11:34 Standing climb

The Highlands by Haik Naltchayan (1:25) Recovery

House Tabata (4:03) Seated accelerations: 8×20 seconds with 10 second recoveries

Believe by Mumford and Sons (3:41) Cool down

Lay Me Down by Sam Smith, John Legend (3:40) Stretch

Have a great Easter weekend!

10 Responses to “Believe Cycling Mix”

  1. Kim Van Leeuwen April 3, 2015 at 7:34 pm #

    Thank you for all of your great playlists!

    Kim Van Leeuwen Princeton, NJ

    Sent from Kim’s iPad

    >

  2. Maureen April 3, 2015 at 11:20 pm #

    Chris, thank you for all the sharing you do. I’m always so excited to see one of your playlists. I know it will be good. Good luck with your new endeavors.

  3. Cynthia April 3, 2015 at 11:43 pm #

    Hey Chris! What a great playlist – thanks. I stole 7 songs. I think Sweep the Leg is my fave. Love the variety, the relentless beats, the catchiness of them all without being overplayed everywhere or so of-the-minute that the playlist will feel dated in 6 months. (Got a few of those on my iPhone.) These days, I’ve been humming (and using) Cheerleader (Felix Jaehn Remix Radio Edit) by Omi, Come Alive – Adam K and Pushing On – Oliver $ and Jimi Jules, all on UltraDance 16. I’m behind in my posts, too. (And darnit, some of them already feel dated and they’re only from January.) But term ended yesterday and I’m looking forward to catching up.

    • chrispins April 4, 2015 at 1:25 am #

      So glad you found some new songs. I’m going to check out your recommendations ASAP! Always good to hear from you Cynthia!!

  4. steve:spin:list April 4, 2015 at 1:35 am #

    Hey Chris…great mix of tunes for the ride! Have a great wknd!

  5. NatalieK April 11, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

    Loved this mix – Thank you Chris! I pulled in some of my own to make my playlist look like this… https://open.spotify.com/user/121924981/playlist/4qeP0Ke2VGdg7QKXk6dDw0 or http://www.poundsofpregnancy.com/indoor_cycling_playlists/music-for-cyclists-and-working-out?preview=true&preview_id=97&preview_nonce=4be522166c. I also told them their objective was to find points during this ride when they wanted to quit and use the phrase “Believe” to push them through. Additionally, I broke the ride into two parts…three climbs and three acceleration efforts. They loved it and LOVED the music combo for class….the 11 min climb was a good challenge for them also. Thanks again!!! Natalie

    • chrispins April 12, 2015 at 4:29 pm #

      Glad you liked it Natalie! I clicked on the link to your site and it told me I couldn’t view ‘drafts’. 😦 I did however go directly to your site which I really enjoyed! It’s great to see so many people sharing profiles and playlists and of course healthy lifestyle ideas! I will check back often for sure!

Leave a Reply

