St. Patrick’s Day Cycling Mix

14 Mar

f9edbaf9f0dfc21d7497f7856bb87351

Happy (almost) St. Patrick’s Day!  St. Patrick’s Day is one of my favorite theme rides because I love the artists and the style of music. C’mon guys…. U2?  Flogging Molly? Dropkick Murphys??  And this year, I even get to throw in Hozier!!  I can barely contain myself.

If you are looking to create your own ride, there are a TON of great tunes on this collaborative playlist.  Feel free to take from it or add to it.  Some really great stuff here:

Here’s what I came up with this year.  I hope you like it!

Domino by Van Morrison (3:09)  Warm up in the saddle

Drink the Night Away by Gaelic Storm (3:14) Continue warm up, brining it out of the saddle mid-song

Old Black Rum (Live) by Great Big Sea (2:29) Standing flat

Whirl-Y-Reel #2 by Afro Celt Sound System (5:31) Seated accelerations

Magnificent by U2 (5:24) Alternating seated/standing climb

Cry of the Celts by Ronan Hardiman (2:23) Standing climb

Numb by U2 (4:24) Seated flat road

Scotch on The Rocks by Haik Naltchyan (2:41) Standing climb

Devil’s Dance Floor by Flogging Molly (4:00) Alternating seated/standing climb

Dueling Violins by Ronan Hardiman (3:44)  Recover for the first 45 seconds of this song and then at :45, get on a nice, smooth flat road. At around 3:00, pick it up for a fast flat road and sprint the last 15 seconds.

Raised on Black and Tans by Gaelic Storm (3:28) Seated climb

We Love The Game by XTD (3:40)  Riders choice.  I like to use this one as a standing climb, matching your cadence to the changing tempo of the music.

The Highlands by Haik Naltchyan (1:25) Recover

Amazing Grace by Dropkick Murphys (2:39) Seated accelerations- Final effort-finish strong!!

Take Me to Church by Hozier: Cool down

Crazy Love by Van Morrison: Stretch

Have a great St. Patrick’s Day and enjoy the ride!!

2 Responses to “St. Patrick’s Day Cycling Mix”

  1. lemonsandpickles March 14, 2015 at 6:27 pm #

    I hope all is well with you, Chris. To o the mornin to ye & thank you so much for posting this! As I scanned my todo list, noting Irish playlist as an “A” item, I sat down at the computer and, lo and behold, your posting appeared in my e-mail in-box! Your are a lifesaver! Now all I have to do is put together my elf poop packages and I’m ready for Tuesday.

    • chrispins March 14, 2015 at 9:35 pm #

      Hi Karen! Great to hear from you! Elf poop????….I need more info on that! I actually signed up for a training at the F-ville Y recently but it was cancelled unfortunately due to low enrollment. I’m taking courses through the Y to become a Group Cycling Trainer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

