Make It Bounce Cycling Mix

18 Feb

Good morning, friends!

I’ve got a brand new cycling mix to share with you filled with some great tunes: some new, some old = all good!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted so we need to talk about the Grammys.  I love Grammy night so much, but since it’s a school night I can never stay up to watch the whole thing.  I end up DVR-ing it and watching it the next night, which is cool, because then I can watch my favorite parts over and over. 🙂

One of my favorite moments was of course this one from Paul McCartney when he got embarrassed by the cameras as he was caught dad dancing during ELO’s performance.  This guy can do no wrong in my book, so I thought it was adorable. Apparently, the rest of the crowd wasn’t feeling the ELO love.  giphy

My favorite performance of the night was this one by Hozier and Annie Lennox.  If you haven’t seen it, just take a moment.  Hozier was great, but Annie stole the show for sure:

No dancers, choirs, or special effects needed.  Just Annie and her amazing voice.  Loved it!!!

I’ve been using her version of ‘I Put a Spell on You‘ as a seated climb and a cool down since her album Nostalgia came out in October of last year, but I thought it was time for me to get some more of her into my playlists. After searching through her library on Spotify, I found some remixes of Little Bird that would work great.  (The original would work too.)  For this playlist, I ended up using the acapella version just because it showcases her amazing voice.  I’m not sure how this one’s going to go over, but I thought I’d give it a try.  I’ll be sure to report back.  I’m going to use this as a standing climb @ around 63 RPM’s.

Check out the remixes here:

and here:

What was your favorite Grammy moment?

Any suggestions for Annie Lennox songs to use in class?

Any good Annie Lennox remixes?

Here’s the playlist and teaching notes.  Enjoy!!

On Top Of The World by Imagine Dragons (3:10) Warm up in the saddle

We Make It Bounce by Dillon Francis, Major Lazer, Stylo G (4:11) Continue warm up, eventually bringing it out of the saddle for a standing climb

State I’m In by NEEDTOBREATHE (3:20) alternating seated/standing climb

Breakn’ A Sweat by Skrillex, The Doors (5:02) seated accelerations

Wonder What You’re Doing For The Rest of Your Life by Train (3:24) standing climb

Uma Thurman by Fall Out Boy (3:32) seated flat

The Fifth Guardian-Interlude by Epica (3:15) standing heavy climb

Jingo by Santana (4:21) seated accelerations

Little Bird-Acapella (UK) by Annie Lennox (4:19) standing climb

Wrong by The Airborne Toxic Event (4:16) seated climb

The Strong Rhythm by Manaca, Chus & Ceballos (7:48) Alternating seated/standing climbs with 8 and 4 count jumps

A Well Oiled Machine by Haik Naltchayan (1:02) recovery

Metal Tabata by Tabata Songs (4:03) seated accelerations 8x20seconds with 10 second recoveries

I’m Not the Only One by Sam Smith (3:59) cool down

Love Me Like You Do by Ellie Goulding (4:10) stretch

Enjoy the rest of the week and stay warm!!

2 Responses to “Make It Bounce Cycling Mix”

  1. Stacey February 18, 2015 at 9:24 pm #

    Chris,I was working on a play list for my morning class last night for hours. Nothing was working for me. I got up early to work on it early this morning, but checked my e-mail first. I cannot tell you how happy I was to see your e-mail. You saved me!! Thank You !!!! My class loved the Annie Lenox song (remix). I switched only a few songs out. I’m loving Elle King and the new Imagine Dragons album right now. Ella Henderson’s Ghost is good too.

    • chrispins February 18, 2015 at 11:32 pm #

      Awwww!!! That’s so nice to hear!! Thanks for the Elle King tip-I’m checking some of it out right now and it sounds great!!!

Leave a Reply

