2014: My Year In Review and Top Songs

1 Jan

images-2Happy New Year!  2014 has been another great year in the music world, for me as an instructor and personally.   I think it was around July when I was listening to some of the  new music that had come out since the beginning of the year, and I was already thinking about this post.  At that point, I wasn’t too impressed with many of the songs, and I wondered if I’d even be able to come up with a top 10.  I’m happy to say that thanks to some late entries as well as  some songs I wasn’t on to yet, I was able to put together a top 20 list of great cycling tunes and several honorable mentions. I wrote this post on ICI/PRO where you can see the list with more extensive notes, but here is the list along with my Spotify playlist. (The songs are in no particular order and include my top 25 as well as honorable mentions):

  • Lips Are Movin by Meghan Trainor
  • Geronimo by Sheppard
  • Shot Me Down by David Guetta feat. Skylar Grey
  • I Bet My Life by Imagine Dragons
  • Turn Down For What by Dj Snake, Lil Jon
  • Love Runs Out by OneRepublic
  • Fireball by Pitbull
  • All of Me-Tiesto’s Birthday Treatment Remix by John Legend
  • Animals by Martin Garrix
  • Come With Me Now by KONGOS *My favorite of 2014
  • Delirious (Boneless) by Steve Aoki
  • Raging Fire by Phillip Phillips
  • Sing by Ed Sheeran
  • Centuries by Fall Out Boy
  • Maps by Maroon 5
  • Animals by Maroon 5
  • Hoochie Coochie by Band of Skulls
  • Shut Up and Dance by Walk the Moon
  • Come Get it Bae by Pharrell Williams
  • Take Me To Church by Hozier
  • Blame by Calvin Harris
  • Peace by O.A.R
  • All About That Bass by Meghan Trainor
  • The Days by Avicii
  • The Nights by Avicii
  • Stolen Dance by Milky Chance
  • Am I Wrong by Nico & Vinz
  • A Sky Full of Stars by Coldplay
  • Problem by Ariana Grande, Iggy Azelia
  • Angel in Blue Jeans by Train
  • Cadillac, Cadillac by Train
  • Feet, Don’t Fail Me Now by NEEDTOBREATHE
  • Bang Bang by Macy Gray
  • The Man by Aloe Blacc
  • Ticking Bomb by Aloe Blacc
  • Can You Do This by Aloe Blacc
  • Ten Feet Tall by Afrojack, Wrabel
  • The Soundmaker by Rodrigo y Gabriela
  • Budapest by George Ezra
  • Fever by the Black Keys

Here’s the Spotify playlist which includes remixes of several of the songs on the list: *If you haven’t already, check out Cynthia’s top 25 of 2014 from her newly designed website theBikeCafe.  We shared some of the same tunes, but our lists are quite different.  Between the two lists, you’re sure to find something new.

Chrispins’ Year In Blogging

Those of you that have been following my blog since the beginning know that it was intended to be used as a place where my class participants could see the music that I was using in my classes.  I just found it the easiest way to share my playlists since they were always asking me about the songs that I used.  It slowly grew into a place where instructors would come for music ideas.  Those instructors started requesting teaching notes for my playlists and that is really how it’s become what it is today.  Yes, it takes time to post, but I don’t really go crazy with it.  Other than promoting my posts on FB and Twitter, I don’t do much to promote the blog.  I don’t have fancy images, links or giveaways.  Heck, I don’t even tag my posts on a regular basis.  So I’d say, for the work I put into it, this little blog is doing pretty well.  Here’s a look at some stats according to WordPress: *This blog was viewed about 140,000 times in 2014. If it were an exhibit at the Louvre Museum, it would take about 6 days for that many people to see it. *The busiest day of the year was January 29th with 754 views. The most popular post that day was Figure 8 Profile Playlist. *Oddly enough, my top 5 posts in 2014 were all written in 2013.  Apparently my posts have staying power!  In case you missed them, here they are:

1. I Survived Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer

2. Figure 8 Profile Playlist

3. 2013: My Year In Review

4. Ladder Profile Playlist

5.LiveFIt Trainer-Phase Two Completed!

*The top referring sites for this blog in 2014 were:

1. Facebook

2. Indoorcycleinstructor.com

3. Pinterest

4. Spinningmusic  (now known as the BikeCafe)

My top 5 commenters this year were:

1. Steve @ Stevespinlist

2. NYstitcher

3. Doreen

4. Shari

5. rfsweet

*Thanks for all of your comments guys!  I always love hearing from you!

My Year: Family Fun, Cycling Instructor and Health

And now for a quick personal year in review. It’s been a pretty quiet year around here, but I few things happened worth mentioning for sure. img_0587-1 1. We went on an amazing family vacation out west this summer.  We visited several national parks along the way: Grand Canyon, Yellowstone, Arches, Grand Tetons, Zion and Bryce Canyon.  We river rafted on the Colorado River in Moab, rode horseback in the Grand Tetons and took a few wildlife tours through Grand Canyon and Yellowstone.  The scariest but most fun moment was a sunset Hummer ride in Moab Utah over the red rocks.   It was definitely a vacation to remember.  I would go back and do it again every year if I could.

2. With the support of my coordinator at the YMCA where I teach, I started a new class this fall.  It’s called ‘Total Body Spin®’ and it is a 45 minute cycling class followed by 45 minutes of strength and toning.  It has done really well and it’s been a lot of fun to teach.  It’s only once a week right now, but I’m hoping to some day add in a second class.

3. If you’re a guy or one of my younger female readers, this might not seem like a huge deal, but I’m sure many of you will understand how big this is.  I turned 45 this summer and decided after years of coloring my hair that I would grow out my natural grey.  It’s something I’d been thinking about for a while, but I always thought I’d wait until at least 50.  If you have dark brown (almost black) hair like I do, you know how hard it is to keep up with coloring it.  I hated the look of the grays popping out so I was touching up around every four weeks!  I thought it would be easy because my hair is pretty short.  So, over the summer when I was off work, I decided to get it cut super short and just let it grow out. Even with the super-short hair it took longer than I expected to grow out and it looked kind of funky for a few months.  But finally, it grew in and I have to say, I really like it.  It’s not a ton of gray, just kind of salt and pepper and it looks like sliver highlights.  It doesn’t even really show in photographs, so I don’t have one to post.  I’m happy I did it and I love the freedom of not having to color it anymore.  The comments I receive run the gamut. Some people love it, some have no problem telling me it makes me look older (or it makes me look my age…) and some don’t comment all.  In the end, I just don’t care because I really like it. 🙂 1313265547701463 4. You might remember that last year at this time I had just started doing Yoga.  I am so happy to report that I have continued with it faithfully all year and I LOVE IT!!!  With my teaching schedule, I’m only able to go once a week, but I really wish I could do more.  (Over the summer I was able to up that to two times a week.) I have an amazing instructor and I just can’t tell you how awesome I feel after every class.  It really has changed me in a lot of ways for the better, and it’s a great companion to cycling.  It’s especially awesome after a long day with my kindergarten kids to be in the quiet of the Yoga studio.  My instructor has added a meditation class which I’m thinking about taking this year as well.  I’ll let you know how that goes next year.

5. And last, this is something that not many people know about me, but I’ve been living with chronic pain for quite a few years.  Finally, earlier this year, my doctor suspected the source of the pain was a disease called Adenomyosis. (It’s a girl thing, so guys-you can feel free to stop reading now..) I use the word ‘suspected’ because Adenomyosis can only truly be diagnosed after surgery when the cells are examined under a microscope. Also, the only cure for it is surgery. So I had a big decision to make.  I chose to go ahead with the surgery and I am so glad that I did. Lab reports confirmed the Adenomyosis diagnosis (actually “extensive adenomyosis’ is what was written on the report).  Other than post surgery discomfort, I am now pain free, and on the road to recovery. My surgery was exactly three weeks ago today. I am back teaching my classes-off the bike for now – and I plan to slowly get back to where I was before surgery over the next few months.  2015 is going to be a great year!!! Thanks to you all for reading!

15 Responses to “2014: My Year In Review and Top Songs”

  1. rfsweet January 1, 2015 at 9:14 pm #

    Chris, Thanks for sharing! Good luck with the post surgery recovery and remember to take it one step at a time. Listen to your body and if it doesn’t feel right, don’t do it!! Thank you for continuing to post music, ride notes and inspiration. I have been an indoor cycle instructor for a decade and your blog gives me the pick up I need from time to time. I get tired of hearing my own voice and my music! Happy 2015! I hope you keep going so I can keep following!

    • chrispins January 1, 2015 at 9:51 pm #

      Thank you so much! I’m definitely taking it slow, even though I feel really good, I know I only have one chance to recover. 🙂

    • Stacey January 6, 2015 at 11:19 pm #

      Happy New Year Chris!!! I wish you health and happiness.

      • chrispins January 7, 2015 at 12:38 am #

        Thank you Stacey! Have a great year!!

  2. Cynthia January 1, 2015 at 9:58 pm #

    Happy New Year Chris! So glad to hear you’re on the mend. Yoga is also something I’d like to practice more of in 2015, too. I always feel great when I do it. Loved your list of the top songs of the year – we both picked Come With Me Now as our #1. Thanks for sharing your profiles and song ideas. Getting your posts in my in box is like getting a treat bag of ideas. All the best for 2015.

    • chrispins January 1, 2015 at 10:06 pm #

      So glad you commented Cynthia! I wanted to comment on your ‘Best of ‘ post, but couldn’t find a way to do it. I’m guessing that has to do with the new format. Likewise, I always find a few little nuggets when you post. There were a couple on your list I’d never heard. Hope your 2015 is great!

      • Cynthia January 8, 2015 at 3:58 am #

        You have to click on the post, then the comment box appears at the bottom. Very annoying! Hoping to get it fixed soon.

  3. Ashlie January 2, 2015 at 2:11 am #

    H Chris,
    You constantly post very positive ideas, helpful playlists and have managed to successfully create an all-around great cycling blog! I wish you all the best health & happiness in 2015!

  4. Jessica @ Fit Talker January 2, 2015 at 2:30 pm #

    Hi Chris! I feel like it’s been ages since I’ve commented. I’ve been so bad with anything related to blogging lately.
    I loved this post for so many reasons! Of course the music, but I always enjoying hearing about what is going on with you. I’m so happy to hear that you are feeling better and hope your recovery continues to go smoothly!
    Have a wonderful 2015!!!

  5. Doreen January 5, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

    Hey Chris,
    Cheers to you for a Happy, Healthy and Liberated year! And a big Thank You for posts that are motivating and inspirational to me and my 6 a.m. class

    • chrispins January 7, 2015 at 12:37 am #

      Thank you Doreen! And the same to you! 6 am is comes early-glad you keep them motivated!

  6. Eileen January 6, 2015 at 7:03 pm #

    Hi Chris–Happy New Year! As a newer instructor your playlist ideas, profiles and notes are constantly a starting point for me. Thank you so much! Good luck with your continuing recovery and thanks for the inspiration!

    • chrispins January 7, 2015 at 12:38 am #

      Thanks Eileen! I love to hear from new instructors and I’m so happy when I hear that I’ve helped or motivated in some way! Keep up the great work and love what you do!

  7. Karen January 27, 2015 at 2:30 am #

    Hi Chris,

    I can’t thank you enough for posting your indoor cycling playlists. You have helped me and my class grow! Now people are fighting over bikes to come to ride with me and your blog is my #1 resource for new ideas. You are the BEST!!!

    Thank you thank you thank you,
    Karen

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Uma Thurman Cycling Mix | Chrispins - January 17, 2015

    […] of all, thank you so much for all of your kind comments on my last post. […]

Leave a Reply

