Get it Girl Cycling Mix and What’s On Repeat and Some Halloween Song Ideas

18 Oct

Hey, Hey! Happy Saturday!

I haven’t posted a ‘What’s on Repeat’ in a while, so I thought I’d begin with a few songs that I can’t get enough of lately. One is a cool down and the other can be used as a flat road or a hill

I first heard this one when she sang it on Jimmy Fallon back in September and I’ve been using it for a cool down ever since. I seriously cannot stop hitting the repeat button! It’s powerful. It’s political. It’s beautiful.  You can read about why she wrote it here.  I can’t get enough of Alicia Keys’ We Are Here:

The second song I have on repeat is by another great female voice, Macy Gray. This one is from her new album, The Way.  I love her unique voice and at about 80 RPMS, you can use it as a flat or a hill.  This one was also featured in last week’s playlist:

I just realized that Halloween is creeping up on us.  If you’re looking for some great tunes, follow our Halloween collaborative playlist in Spotify.  I’m sure you’ll find something here you can use!

This was the final week of the ICI/PRO Challenge!  I have so much to share from the final week!  John and Lena were kind enough to give us two weeks to complete the challenges, so I’ll be posting my final results at the end of the week.  Can’t wait to share how I did with you!

Here’s this week’s playlist:

**Check out the screenshot of the playlist and don’t forget:  If you are going to use the playlist with my teaching notes, it’s a good idea to recreate it in Spotify in case I make any changes to the playlist in the future!

Screen Shot 2014-10-18 at 6.39.10 AM

Click to enlarge

Seven Nation Army: Warm up

Sweat: Warm up–>standing climb

Sweep the Leg:  Alternate seated/standing climb

Lola Montez: seated accelerations

Jai Ho: Standing climb

Salterello:  Seated flat

Blame: Jumps

Devil Drums:  Seated accelerations

Best Day Of My Life: Standing climb

Grace Kelly: Seated climb

Black Parade: Seated Flat

Working Day and Night: Alternate seated/standing climb

Party in The USA: Recovery

Tabata: Seated acceletations 8×20 seconds

I Put a Spell On You:  Cool Down

Superman: Stretch

8 Responses to “Get it Girl Cycling Mix and What’s On Repeat and Some Halloween Song Ideas”

  1. Amanda October 25, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

    Hi Chris, thanks so much for all of your posts.. very helpful and inspiring ❤ quick question how do I see the Halloween Collective playlist on spotify its coming up with a expired message ?

  2. Sandy November 15, 2014 at 8:25 pm #

    Thank you Chris for sharing your playlist . Searching music is new to me and your playlist has been a huge help in helping me create my own !!!! Sandy

  3. Stephanie November 18, 2014 at 1:27 pm #

    Chris Thanks for all your playlist and ideas. I love seeing new songs I wouldn’t have thought of.

    • chrispins November 21, 2014 at 7:21 pm #

      Thanks for commenting and for checking out the blog Stephanie!

  4. rfsweet November 21, 2014 at 12:37 pm #

    Hi Chris! You haven’t posted in a while, so I hope everything is okay!! Hope to see you back here soon! Happy Friday!!

    • chrispins November 21, 2014 at 7:22 pm #

      Thanks for checking in on me. 🙂 I’m still here, just have been super busy. New blog post is up!

  5. allisonwakham December 16, 2014 at 2:50 am #

    What did you do for the Golden Earring song? I’ve been wanting to use that song in a playlist forever but wasn’t sure what to do for 8 minutes. As a new instructor blogs like this are a lifesaver.

    • chrispins December 16, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

      Hi Allison, I didn’t actually use the Golden Earring song in a cycling playlist. It was just an idea that someone added for a Halloween song. I’m not sure I would use it-maybe if there is a shorter version. It’s about 60 RPMs so it would have to be a climb.

Leave a Reply

