Bang Bang Cycling Mix and Week Three Challenge Results

12 Oct

a-challenge-only-becomes-an-obstacle-when-you-bow-to-it-challenge-quotes

Happy Weekend!!! Week three of the Indoor Cycling Instructor’s challenge is coming to a close, and I’m officially calling this the most challenging week so far! Here are the challenges and my responses to them:
#15 – Create a scripted class opening: “Great actors don’t show up on set and improvise as soon as the camera starts rolling. They practice putting their own personality into the words scripted for them…. Practice delivering your opening and closing scripts and you’ll be as polished as a professional actor.”  How did I do?  Here’s what I came up with.  Obviously it would be different for each class, but you get the idea:

Screen Shot 2014-10-11 at 8.06.32 PM

#16 – Let’s learn some names this week. Who have you said “HI” to for weeks, months or years… but you have no clue what their first name is? Let’s correct that, shall we? Approach all of your nameless regulars with a friendly statement like; “ Hi – forgive me, but I’ve forgotten your name” and have some method in-hand to record it so you’ll know it next week. Post about how you felt before and after this challenge. How did I do? First of all, I’m really not great at remembering names, especially of people that are in and out. I do know my ‘regulars’ names. This week I connected with a woman who comes to my class sporadically. She brought a friend who was brand new to spin, so while I was setting her friend up, I chatted both of them up a bit and learned their names. I’m all about doing my research, so I found an article online that gives some great tips on remembering names. It does feel great to be able to call people by name and I know they appreciate it-I sure would! I’m up to doing more of this as time goes on with people that come and go.

#17 – Teach 30% to 100% of your next class (15-20 minutes or the whole class) with the instructor bike in a different position than it usually is (e.g. if your bike is up front, take a bike among the riders and teach from there). How did this change your class? How did I do? I had a lot of fun with this one. I set up my instructor bike in the front of the class and then another bike among my riders. I transitioned from my instructor’s bike to the other bike for a few songs during class. I especially liked being with the riders during our last ‘final push’ song, which was a Tabata interval. It gave the feeling that I was working right with them and everyone pushed a little harder because of it. Once I figure out how to get my mic to stop screeching, it was all good. 🙂 I will definitely do this again.

#18 – Create a new student hand out: include information that you think would help new participants understand the basics about your facility’s indoor cycling program, and/or possibly what’s unique or special about your classes. Get creative! Do you have a Facebook group you want to promote? Have an informal meet-up after class? Special event? Save the handout in the File folder with your name as the file name when you’re ready. How did I do?  It’s still a work in progress, but here is what I’ve got so far:

Screen Shot 2014-10-11 at 8.10.11 PM

Click to enlarge

#19 – It’s time to take a cycling class! Participate in a different IC class on a different brand of Indoor Cycle. Best if it could be on a bike that uses a different type of resistance; i.e. if you teach on a friction bike (all Spinners, Lemond, Livestrong, old Schwinn) find a studio with Keiser’s, FreeMotion or Schwinn AC’s. Pay close attention throughout the class to what it feels like. How is it different from your normal bike? Would you cue differently? If so, how? How did I do? As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not close enough to another facility so that this challenge would fit into my schedule this week, but I did take a class on Keiser bikes about a month or so ago, so I can report on that. I teach on the Spinner NXT . No consoles. As I mentioned in a previous blog post, I LOVE the Keiser bikes. The bikes are just about a year old, so the ride was very smooth compared to our 6 year old bikes. Using a bike with a power meter/console would force me to completely change my cueing, but I’d definitely be up for it because, did I mention, I love those bikes!!!

#20 – Take a Group Fitness class you’ve never taken before; what did you learn that you could use in your IC classes? How did I do? I kind of cheated on this one too. I’m not kidding when I tell you that I’ve taken just about every class that is offered at my gym. It would have really been a challenge for me if I had taken Zumba, but unfortunately, I was not able to fit that one into my schedule this week. Most of our Zumba classes are oddly enough scheduled opposite my cycling class which is also a problem. So I’m going with PIYO-even though I have done it twice before. I really wasn’t sure if I liked PIYO the first time I took it, but each time I go, I like it a little more. It’s definitely a whole body workout. What did I learn that I could use in my own class? As much as I liked the class and the instructor, one of my frustrations was that the instructor didn’t cue the next move soon enough, so it led to a lot of confusion among the participants. When I was in downward dog, I had to strain my neck to see what the instructor was doing next and it really didn’t make for a smooth transition. I take a Yoga class once a week and the instructor is so great at cueing that I could do the entire class with my eyes closed.  I definitely try to cue riders well ahead of any position changes or if we are changing movements.  

#21 – Share a group picture of you and your riders after your next IC class. For some of us it means stepping out of our comfort zone, but that’s what this challenge is all about! How did I do? Here’s a picture of most of my Friday group after our 45 minutes spin and before our 45 minute toning. These folks work their butts off every single week!!:

IMG_0042

Ok John and Lena…bring on the final week of challenges.  I’m ready!

On to this week’s playlist.  Lot’s of great new stuff in this one so be sure to check out some of these tunes. 🙂

American Kids:  I don’t typically listen to country music, but I heard this one in a trailer for an upcoming film at the movie theater last weekend and I really liked it!  Works great for a warm up..

I Lived:  A bunch of new remixes of this one just came out and I’m really digging them all.  Alternate seated/standing climb

Bang Bang:  A new one from Macy Gray. I love her unique voice and I’m sure you guys will love this one.  We rode at around 81 RPMS, so it was a seated flat with a good amount of gear.

Heroes: Standing climb with jumps on a hill

Stolen Dance:  Just try to say “Stolen Dance by Milky Chance” three times fast. 🙂  Seated climb with accelerations out of the saddle on the chorus.

Pound the Alarm: Seated accelerations

Take my Number: Standing climb

Zoo York: Seated climb

The Soundmaker: Rider’s choice

Key to Success: Recovery

Tabata: Seated acclerations 8×20 seconds with 10 second recoveries.

Never Going Back Again: Cool Down

Have a great week!

6 Responses to “Bang Bang Cycling Mix and Week Three Challenge Results”

  1. Eileen October 12, 2014 at 11:57 pm #

    Thanks so much Chris for all of your playlists and notes! I’m a long time spinner but newer instructor and love to get ideas from your posts. I was wondering if you do a Breast Cancer Awareness spin/playlist? We do them each year in October and I have a playlist (songs tend to focus on strength/overcoming/etc.) but I would love to get some additional ideas from you and any other instructors who might have some. Thanks!

    • chrispins October 13, 2014 at 10:14 am #

      Thanks for commenting Eileen! Off the top of my head I can think of Melissa Etheridge’s ‘Run For Life’. I have seen playlists posted by other instructors for the same type of ride, but have never done one myself. I also love using ‘Survival’ by Muse anytime, but it could be a good one for your theme. Another on that’s inspirational is ‘Proud’ by Heather Small. My favorite all time warm up is ‘Life is Beautiful’ by the Afters. Just a few off the top of my head. I hope that helps! 🙂

      • Eileen October 14, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

        Thanks Chris! I hadn’t heard “Proud” and really liked it! I do have the others. BTW Danny Gokey has a couple GREAT ones on his newest CD….”Hope In Front of You” “Tell Your Heart to Beat Again” (for the Breast Cancer spin) and “Take It to the Limit” are the ones I downloaded.

  2. jill howard October 15, 2014 at 2:16 am #

    Hi Chris, I always love your playlists and wanted to thank you for sharing them all the time. For some reason the music isn’t matching up with the notes? Is the correct playlist there from spotify? Thanks again!

    • chrispins October 16, 2014 at 10:00 am #

      Hi Jill,

      I have recently changed that playlist to make it an hour rather than forty-five minutes, so I did change and add songs. I will try not to do that in the future, but it does happen once in a while.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Get it Girl Cycling Mix and What’s On Repeat and Some Halloween Song Ideas | Chrispins - October 18, 2014

    […] The second song I have on repeat is by another great female voice, Macy Gray. This one is from her new album, The Way.  I love her unique voice and at about 80 RPMS, you can use it as a flat or a hill.  This one was also featured in last week’s playlist: […]

Leave a Reply

