State I’m In & Figure It Out Cycling Mixes

20 Sep

Happy weekend everyone! Hope it’s going great so far!! Are you up for a challenge?  In case you haven’t heard, fellow blogger Lean Lena is teaming up with ICI/PRO to bring us this Indoor Cycling Instructor 28 Day Challenge.  If you haven’t already signed up, you definitely should.  Because, well, who DOESN’T love a good challenge.  I have to admit, I am a little nervous going into it without much information, but I’m up for it. Check out Lena’s post and sign up on her blog!  I’ll be posting my progress as I go through the challenge, so stay tuned. And did I mention there will be amazing prizes?  Like a 6 month subscription to ICI-PRO and a VACATION??  So cool!  The challenge begins tomorrow (9/21). Good luck instructors! (Click on the pic to go to the FB page!)

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 6.21.27 PM

In my last blog post, I shared a few new playlists and I’ve been asked by several of you to post my teaching notes for one of them. Here’s the playlist one more time and check out the (brief) teaching notes just below. Just a reminder that my teaching notes are just kind of a thumbnail sketch of what I do in class. I don’t go into great detail, but hopefully you get the idea of how you can use the music as is, or how you can ride to individual songs. 🙂

Sinner: Warm up

All About That Bass: Warm up continued, bring it out of the saddle for a standing climb

Come Get It Bae: alternate seated/standing climb

Best I Ever Had: seated accelerations on the chorus (:36 seconds, 1:40 and 2:44)

Ecstasy: Seated climb, coming out of the saddle for 20 second intervals every minute

State I’m In: Seated climb

Into the Night: standing climb

Roll Away Your Stone: Seated climb with pick ups

Wonder What You’re Doing For the Rest Of Your Life: Standing climb with Jumps

Masai: seated flat road

Blast The Speakers:Rider’s choice

Count It:recovery

Zorba’s Dance: seated flat road-at 1:00 pick up cadence and continue to pick up to 100-110 RPM, sprinting the last 15-20 seconds

Timeless:Cool down

Let Your Hair Down: stretch

The next playlist I’ll be sharing is just 45 minutes. In case you didn’t hear, I’m teaching a 90 minute class which is a combination of cycle/toning. 45 minutes on the bike, and 45 minutes off. So far it’s going great! I typically create two separate 45 minute playlists, one for the cycling portion and the other for toning. I’m not planning on posting my toning playlists, but if you want to check them out, you can find them on my Spotify profile. Here’s the 45 minute cycling playlist with teaching notes:

Let My Love Open the Door: Warm up

Cadillac, Cadillac: Continue warm up and bring it out of saddle for a standing climb.

Fire: Seated flat

Safe: Alternating seated/standing climb

Figure it Out: standing climb, picking up the pace at 2:34 to the finish

Hit It: Seated flat road with accelerations on the chorus

Sleeping With A Friend: Standing climb

The Lion The Beast The Beat: Seated climb, picking up the pace @ 1:44

What a Difference Your Love Makes: Alternating seated/standing climbs with Jumps

Who Won? Recovery

Tabata: seated accelerations 8×20 with 10 second recoveries

Hey Now: Cool Down

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a fantastic week!

6 Responses to “State I’m In & Figure It Out Cycling Mixes”

  1. Stacey September 21, 2014 at 5:15 pm #

    Chris I’ve been wondering how your pedal and pump class was going. I’m happy to hear that it’s going well.
    I subbed a 1 hour class a few weeks ago and 1 hour is not enough time! We spend so much time taking our shoes on and off.

    • chrispins September 21, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

      I’m very lucky that it worked into the fitness schedule to do 90 minutes. It’s a perfect amount of time. The class is from 5-6:30 pm on Fridays so we call it our ‘Happy Hour”.

  2. Lean Lena September 22, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

    Chris, you’ll do great with this challenge, I’m sure. I’m rooting for you 🙂

    • chrispins September 23, 2014 at 10:19 am #

      Thanks Lena! The challenge is a great idea!!

  3. Ashlie September 23, 2014 at 1:53 am #

    Hi Chris,
    Ok! I did it!
    You inspire me and I love your ride ideas and I wish I could say thank you more often. I am so nervous about taking the 28-day ICI Pro Challenge! I am going to the Bay Area to visit my son this weekend so when Sunday rolls around I should be riding around Napa on a rented bicycle with my son and some friends. Here’s to hoping our first set of challenges includes combining riding and enjoying a casual glass of wine 🙂 thanks for all you do.

    Ashlie

    • chrispins September 23, 2014 at 10:19 am #

      Yay! So happy I inspired you to take the challenge! I’m already feeling the pressure but I guess that’s why they call it a challenge! Have a great time in the Bay Area! Sounds like a blast!

Leave a Reply

