My 22nd First Day of Kindergarten

4 Sep

a73ef8b5992e58ec7ffa7da4875d3e55
Hey Folks! Just wanted to write a quick post to let you all know that I’m still here! I’ve been super-busy with the whole school starting thing. Today was our first day of classes and my 22nd first day as a teacher! I’ve actually been teaching kindergarten for 18 years (I taught first grade for the first four years). It sure doesn’t get any easier, but I love my job. I made 24 new, adorable friends today and we are going to have a great year together, I just know it!

My second love is indoor cycling and sharing playlists with you guys, and I know I haven’t been great at that lately, but I promise to get going again very soon! In the meantime, here are a few things to share:

I recorded a new podcast with John at ICI/PRO recently. The profile we recorded is called ‘Adirondack Climbs’ and you can check it out here! You should definitely consider a membership to ICI/PRO if you don’t already have one. There is some great stuff available there for free and amazing stuff for ICI/PRO members. Totally worth the small monthly fee. πŸ™‚

I will be starting my Total Body Cycle class tomorrow, so I will be sure to keep you updated on how that’s going.

I made a new playlist to fit my Pyramid Profile and it rocked:

I also created this playlist recently:( and yes, I used All About the Bass- they loved it, but that’s my group. There’s not much they don’t like, and I’ve played it all.)

And speaking of Spotify, the word on the street is that it is now available in Canada! I know some of my Canadian followers have been waiting for this to happen for a long time, so welcome Canada to the wonderful world of Spotify! We are so glad to have you join us!!!!

*Has anyone else noticed that the new music is less than exciting lately? Other than the new Maroon 5 album of course. And speaking of Maroon 5, did you see this video of Jimmy Fallon and Adam Levine? These guys are beyond adorable.

Have a great week, and I promise to update soon!

15 Responses to “My 22nd First Day of Kindergarten”

  1. Hally September 5, 2014 at 11:48 am #

    Chris,

    I am looking forward to hearing about your Total Body Cycle class, I teach a 75 minute cycle strength class and always looking for something new. The class is very successful with the “soccer” mom group.

    • chrispins September 6, 2014 at 10:32 am #

      So far, so good. First class was last night. It seemed to go over well and I received great feedback. πŸ™‚

  2. Linda September 8, 2014 at 6:20 pm #

    Is your second playlist, State I’m In Cycling Mix, for the pyramids as well?

    • chrispins September 9, 2014 at 12:31 am #

      No, that is not a playlist that goes with the pyramid profile.

  3. Tammy September 8, 2014 at 11:57 pm #

    do you have teaching notes to go with the 22nd First day playlist?

    • chrispins September 9, 2014 at 12:32 am #

      Hi Tammy,

      I haven’t posted the notes for that ride yet. I’ll try to when I get time! πŸ™‚

      • Tammy September 14, 2014 at 8:02 pm #

        Thanks greatly appreciate it

  4. Ellette September 9, 2014 at 12:09 am #

    Quick question, What song are you starting the pyramids with? I’m trying to figure out the timing and having a mental block. Thanks! I can’t wait to try this.

    • chrispins September 9, 2014 at 12:35 am #

      The first two songs in the playlist are warm ups. Start the pyramids on song three. πŸ™‚

      • Ellette September 9, 2014 at 12:43 am #

        That’s what I thought. Thank you!

  5. tomchester11 September 9, 2014 at 12:01 pm #

    Hi Chris , looking for new music check out the new train album ,cadillac cadillac is a cool warm em up wake em up song. Also for a good tabata song try surender by cheap trick (studio version) strong and steady ,perfect. An oldie but a goodie.

  6. Tammy September 15, 2014 at 9:49 pm #

    Do you have teaching notes for the State I’m in?

    • chrispins September 17, 2014 at 12:06 am #

      I’m working on getting them posted Tammy. It will definitely be in my next post. Hopefully soon!

      • Kristen September 19, 2014 at 1:54 pm #

        Hi Chris!! I just love your music and profiles. My class participants really like basic classes, so I don’t do the figure 8 or pyramid profiles with them. Will you be posting more traditional profiles/music? Or are you leaning more towards figure 8/pyramid profiles moving forward?

      • chrispins September 19, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

        Hi Kristen, As you can tell, I’ve been kind of slow to post anything lately. Hopefully once I get into the swing of my new year at school, I can post more often and I will be mixing it up with old favorites (like figure 8 and pyramids) and more traditional profiles. My class really love the predictability of the Figure 8 etc., and they say that the time always flies by!

Leave a Reply

