Fireball and Summer Mile Repeats Cycling Mixes

11 Aug

Hey-happy Monday everyone! I hope it’s been great so far! Today I’m sharing two of my latest playlists with you along with teaching notes. Hopefully you’ll find something you can use. πŸ™‚

The first is a new playlist for an old profile called Mile Repeats. You can see the notes for this profile here. It’s a good one. Definitely a ride where you get out what you put in. And let me tell you, my guys put in a in A LOT for this one. Here’s the playlist that I used: (The first two songs are warm up. The ‘mile repeats’ end after Work Work with a short recovery song and then Fireball is rider’s choice, then another small recovery before Tabata, cool down and stretch. Also, in case this one doesn’t show on the player, song #10 is called Dacw ‘Nghariad I Lawr Yn Y Berlain by 4 Yn Y Bar.)

The second playlist I’m sharing today again features Pitbull’s Fireball as a climb. I can’t get enough of this one lately. πŸ™‚

Life is Beautiful: Warm up

The Other Side: warm up, coming out of the saddle

Fireball: Seated/standing climb

Drumbone: Seated accelerations 20 seconds x 3

Mansion: Standing climb

CHocolate:Seated flat

She Came to Give it To You: Alternate seated/standing climb

Best of You: Seated climb

Big Love-Live: seated accelerations @ :20 (20 seconds), 1:00 (25 seconds) and 2:18 (30 seconds)

You Are My Sunshine: Standing climb with jumps @ 1:07 (8 count), 2:08 (4 ct) and 4:00 ( 8 count—> 4 count)

Breathe Me: Standing climb

Freak: Riders’ choice *I usually give my riders this second to last song to ride either in the saddle, out of the saddle, or alternate. Once we get started, I ask them to think about why they chose to ride the way they did. Was it because it is easy for them, or a challenge? If they decide that they chose to ride a certain way because it’s easier for them, I ask them to try most of the song in the more challenging position. Then I ask them at some point during the song to take at least 20-30 seconds to really push themselves beyond their comfort level-go breathless. It might be by adding gear, adding cadence, or a combination of both. And they get to choose when the want that challenge to happen (obviously I’m giving them timing cues the entire time, so they know how much time they have remaining). I find that this makes them work a little harder on this song that sometimes we take just a little bit easier than we should. Give it a try with your classes. I’m sure they’ll work hard for you.

Mailot Vert: Recovery

House Tabata: Seated accelerations, 8×20 seconds with 10 second recoveries.

You Can Rely on Me: Cool down

Safe With Me: Stretch

On a workout related note, I tried PIYO the other day. I was excited to give it a try, since there’s very little jumping involved, I thought it would be ok on my knees. The verdict? I’m going to definitely have to go back and give it another try, since this was a very beginner ‘sneak peek’ kind of class. There were quite a few squats and lunges, which I always need to modify for my knees, so I wasn’t excited about that. If you’re expecting it to be like Pilates or Yoga, you’ll be disappointed. It’s definitely unique, although it has a lot of traditional Yoga poses, you are not holding them for any length of time. If I only had time for one class and I had to choose between PIYO and Yoga, I would definitely choose Yoga. If you’re looking for more strength building with a group x feel, choose PIYO.

This was actually me when I first started Yoga (and kind of how I felt at my first PIYO class):

PiYo-review

I’m definitely going back when it comes to my gym in the fall, so I will keep you updated.

Anyone else tried PIYO? What did you think?

6 Responses to “Fireball and Summer Mile Repeats Cycling Mixes”

  1. steve:spin:list August 12, 2014 at 1:38 am #

    My classes today were burning it up to Fireball today…classic Pitbull!

    • chrispins August 13, 2014 at 2:13 pm #

      I can’t get enough Fireball in my life right now! Thanks for commenting Steve! πŸ™‚

  2. Kristen Goliber Connor August 13, 2014 at 8:49 pm #

    Hadn’t ever heard Fireball…borrowed it from your ride…love it! Great climbing song! Thanks for being so generous with your song selections and ride profiles…always learn so much from you!

    • chrispins August 14, 2014 at 12:16 am #

      You are welcome! I can’t get enough Fireball lately!

  3. Shannon Grossi August 15, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

    Hmm…the Mile Repeats ‘Click here’ link just takes me right back to this page not to an old profile? Since I’m a runner who does mile repeats, I’m dying to see this!! Thanks! And I love all your music selection. I have some songs I think you’d like! I’ll pass on soon!

Leave a Reply

