Modified Figure 8 Profile (AKA-Figure 5)

26 Jul

Happy weekend everyone! Hope it’s going great so far!

il_570xN.491057354_asvc

Yesterday, I had to shorten my normal 60 minute class to 45 minutes. I had just received a question from Sherri here on the blog about how I might modify the Figure 8 profile for a 45 minute class, so I figured I’d give it a shot. I was able to use some of the same music, but definitely did some major tweaking to the playlist. First I’ll explain the modified profile, which I called “Figure 5” because instead of 8 movements, I only used 5. That’s how I cut about 15 minutes from the profile.

Here it is:

The five moves (in order) are: Seated Flat (SEF), Seated Fast Flat (FF), Standing Flat (STF), Seated Climb (SEC) and Standing climb (STC).

We went through the five moves in order 4 times. The first time through, each movement was 3 minutes long, the second time through, each movement was 2 minutes long, the third time through, each movement was 1 minute long, and the last time through, each movement was 30 seconds long.

Because I used some pretty basic moves, I added in accelerations and jumps through the profile, which you can do at your discretion.

I had a little bit of time to fill, so I finished with David Garrett’s ‘Zorba’s Dance’. This is one of my favorite finishers. It’s only 2:33, but the cadence and intensity builds as the song goes along and we end up full on sprinting the last 20 seconds!

Even though it was only 45 minutes, it was an awesome workout! Definitely one to put in your back pocket for shorter classes.

If you are looking for another way to modify figure 8’s keeping the eight movements, Sherri tried omitting the 2 minute interval and just going through the 8 moves three times (3 minutes, 1 minute and then 30 seconds). She got great reviews for this 45 minute class as well.

Here is the playlist that I used:

And basically, here’s how the songs matched up:

Shambala (such a cool song, btw) Warm up

3 minute intervals:

Kiss You: Seated Flat
Fiesty: Fast Seated Flat
Fresh:Standing Flat
I Can Love:Seated Climb
Back to The Pump:Standing Climb

2 minute intervals:

Gold, Guns, Girls: Seated Flat and Seated Fast Flat
Ra: Standing Flat
One Love: Seated Climb and Standing Climb

1 minute intervals:

Animals

:30 Second intervals:

Hoochie Coochie

*See notes above for how to ride to Zorba’s Dance

Cool Down and Stretch.

Have fun with this short and sweet modified Figure 8! 🙂

Hope you have a great weekend!!

4 Responses to “Modified Figure 8 Profile (AKA-Figure 5)”

  1. Joyce July 26, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

    Hey Chris, my classes love your crazy 8 profile. I teach both hour and 45 minute classes. For my 45 minute class I do a 1 song warm up and then run the intervals at 2:00, 1:00, :30, :30. My classes request this one so I run it about once a month. It’s a really great class. Thanks for sharing all of your hard work in class prep with us.

    • chrispins July 26, 2014 at 11:11 pm #

      Another great idea for modifying Figure 8! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Angie August 28, 2014 at 2:34 am #

    Hi Chris. I just found your blog tonight and I’m loving it!!! Thank you tons for sharing your knowledge with people like me! I’m a newer instructor and learning all I can. On that note, I have a quick question: I read your thread on the Figure 8 profile and I saw it included jumps. Do you mind defining what you call a jump and how it looks to perform them for a 3 min,2 min etc time interval. Thanks so much!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

