Something Borrowed-Race Through the Hills Cycling Mix

22 Jul

19ee042181ea94a1fd23095b5d00e5b6
I am so excited to share this playlist with you. I don’t often ‘borrow’ other instructor’s playlists, but the other day as I was catching up on FB with my ‘Former Cycling Pingers’, I found this little gem from Sue K. I loved the playlist and asked if she would share her ride notes. (That’s what I love about that group-everyone is so willing to share their playlists and profiles! You should definitely join if you haven’t already!) Sue was also more than willing to allow me to share her playlist and notes here in the blog. She described it as a ‘Tour De France ride with four hills and four descents’. I taught my modified version of it last night and it went over well. It was nice to step out of my comfort zone and use another instructor’s music and ride notes. One of my riders mentioned that the music was a little different than what she’s used to hearing from me. Kind of strange because I’ve used most of the songs in the playlist before in my own playlists. Maybe it was just the combination of songs. We all agreed that it was a great profile and a tough workout!

Here is Sue’s original Spotify playlist along with her notes.

Ride notes:

Alive by Goldfrapp (3:28) warm up

Road to Ride on by Joshua Radin (3:02) flat into a moderate climb, add gear and start to pick up the intensity as we move into a short but hard hill

Roar by Axwell (2:52) Climb, hard intensity, just under 3 minutes. Add gear to get to max on this climb.

Wings by Little Mix (3:40) Downhill, first :20 is the finish to the hill then back off resistance and move into accelerations :20/10.

Glorious by Cascada (4:42) Hill-moderate into hard intensity. Catch your breath and get ready for the next mountain climb. While short, it’s harder and longer than the first hill.

Race Through the Hills by Haik Naltchayan (2:16) Hill/Mountain climb-hard intensity. Last of the mountain climb-max out the gear while keeping cadence.

Don’t Matter by Kings of Leon (2:50) Downhill run-at 1:00 sprint, back off at :30 then back to 1:00.

Long Way Down by The Goo Goo Dolls (3:29) Moderate hill- add gear and back off the cadence. As the downhill levels out, add accelerations out of the saddle on ‘Long Way Down’ (:52, :1:43, 2:45).

Because We Can by Fatboy Slim and I Would by One Direction (3:27 and 3:22) Moderate hill- As we head back uphill, add resistance. It should feel as if you’re heading into the wind on a flat. Add gear (on I Would) to slow cadence again as we make our way uphill on chorus out of the saddle with attacks (:53, 1:55, 2:46).

Baba O’Riley by Blue Man Group (5:00) Hill into downhill-There’s a little ‘bump’ in this climb, so add gear, slow cadence. Tempo changes at 3:20 (66), 3:45 (80), and 4:30 (90) to end.

Hurts Like Heaven by Coldplay (4:02) Downhill-intervals as we have a fast descent downhill.

Jai’ Envie De Toi by Armin Van Buuren (8:38) Mountain climb-hard intensity:This is the longest and hardest climb of the ride.

Boom Boom by Big Head Todd and the Monsters (3:36) Downhill 20/10 Tabata

Break Free by Ariana Grande (3:36)
The Finish Line by Train (3:43) : Last two songs are cool down and stretch!

I switched it up just a little bit for time’s sake and because I like to throw in a short recovery before my last song I also added jumps to song #5 (Glorious). I copied Sue’s playlist as is in Spotify and then I made my necessary changes:

Thanks so much for sharing this one Sue! It’s definitely a winner.

Question: Do you often use other instructor’s playlists/profiles?

5 Responses to “Something Borrowed-Race Through the Hills Cycling Mix”

  1. Jessica @ Fit Talker July 22, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

    Hi Chris!
    While I get so much from other instructors playlists, I never use them completely. I’m very likely to grab a song or two, and I may use the ride itself, but I’ve yet to find a complete playlist that I want to use.
    For me, music is really key and I need music that excites me, not just the group. Perhaps my preferences are unique, but it works for me 🙂

    • chrispins July 22, 2014 at 3:26 pm #

      Hey Jessica! Always good to hear from you. I’m the same way-I look through other’s playlists to find new music and maybe their profile to see how they are using it in class. I wasn’t even looking for anything when I came across this one, but I just really liked the music and the profile seemed like something I would do in class. 🙂 The control-freak in me always wants to make my own stuff.
      Hope you are enjoying your summer. 🙂

  2. Linnea Maxwell July 22, 2014 at 6:02 pm #

    I enjoy all of your suggestions, and like you, I like to pick and choose from others’ lists. The links you’ve posted for other groups don’t seem to work for me.

  3. Jeanette Fougeron July 22, 2014 at 7:09 pm #

    I get lots of inspiration from others, but always create my own unique playlist and often “tweak” the profiles as well. Love all the ideas from so many talented and inspired instructors on forums like this!!

  4. rfsweet July 25, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

    I used to only use my own ideas and music until I found this blog. Chris, I pick music in a very similar manner to you, so I do use some of your playlists with no changes. However, with different teaching styles, I am sure our rides are completely different. That being said the majority of the time, I am solely looking to others for new music ideas. I get tired of hearing my own stuff!! This blog is fantastic, keep it up!!

Leave a Reply

