Summertime Blues Cycling Mix

13 Jul

Sorry it’s been a while but, as promised, I’m posting my latest playlist! I was a little rushed on time so I originally thought that I would use an old playlist, but what I ended up doing was taking an old one and recreating it. ***(AWESOME SPOTIFY TIP AHEAD SO PLEASE READ!!)*** I added new songs and took out some old songs, or switched some existing songs around. So for those of you that follow my playlists and use them as is, here is a friendly warning/suggestion for you: If you are following mine (or anyone else’s) playlists in Spotify and intend to use them to teach your classes, it’s a really (I mean really, really) good idea to simply recreate the playlist song for song (I promise you this will take you less than five minutes). The reason I suggest that you do this is because when I create a playlist, I am the only one that can change it. And I do change up my playlists sometimes. So imagine syncing one of my original playlists to your device and going into your class with notes on each song and their times. On your way to class, I’m here at home switching songs around and editing the heck out of that playlist for my next class. When you get to class and hit play, it’s not at all what you thought it was. Nightmare, right? So recreate the playlist. Really, I don’t mind. I don’t own it. If you feel like you need to, you can even give me some credit. For example, I noticed some people will recreate and put my name on the title: ‘Chrispins Summertime Blues’. But don’t feel like you have to. That way, YOU are the only one that can change it! Just a friendly reminder. πŸ™‚

I hope you enjoyed that Spotify tip. πŸ™‚ And speaking of Spotify, I have amazing news for my friends up in Canada!!! Spofify is coming!!!!

Click the picture for information on how to get on the list!

Click the picture for information on how to get on the list!

Yesterday I taught my first class in almost two weeks. I gotta tell you, it felt great to be back doing what I love. Here’s the reworked playlist that I used:

Summertime Blues (2:41): Warm up in the saddle

Fist Pump, Jump Jump (3:56) Continue to warm up in the saddle and alternate standing, seated warm up.

Be Okay (3:19) Standing climb

Thunderstruck ( 3:06) Seated accelerations: 3 of them, 25-30 seconds each

Raging Fire (3:45) Standing climb with seated flat on the chorus

Getting in the Mood (3:11) Seated flat

Sweet Whoomp (4:53) *This one is marked ‘explicit’, but I’ve used it several times and have listened to it over and over and I don’t hear any explicit lyrics.* Alternate seated/standing climb

D’Ya Wanna go Faster (2:56) Seated flat with accelerations

Shatter Me Featuring Lzzy Hale (4:41) Alternate seated/standing climb

Climbing to the Top (5:28) Seated climb

Bang it Out (4:12) Jumps!

Key to Suces (1:24) recovery

Tabata (4:03) Seated accelerations (8×20 seconds with 10 second recovery)

Stay with Me (2:53) Cool Down

Forever (3:25) Stretch

Last post, I posted some pics from my recent vacation. In case you didn’t guess, we visited Grand Canyon, Arches and Zion National Parks (Moab Utah rocks!) as well as Yellowstone and Grand Tetons. If you live out there, I’m a little jealous. It is so beautiful everywhere you look. I have to say though, there’s no place like home. Upstate New York is really a beautiful place in the summertime. I was very happy to see green grass and trees as our plane was landing and we were finally home :).

I leave you with a sunset pic from Arches National Park:

IMG_0494

Have a fantastic week!

13 Responses to “Summertime Blues Cycling Mix”

  1. steve:spin:list July 13, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

    Hey Chris…a good week for updating ones from the playlist archive! Great reminder about updates on Spotify playlists. I like Be Okay and several other on this one…thanks for the post. Great pic too!

    • chrispins July 13, 2014 at 1:49 pm #

      Thanks Steve! We spent A LOT of time in the car on our trip, and Be Okay played non-stop! I figured since I wasn’t sick of it even after hearing it over and over it was a keeper. πŸ™‚

  2. Chris Jordan July 13, 2014 at 2:24 pm #

    Chris, I was so glad to see that I’m not the only one that has been somewhat behind in keeping my blog current. I think I only had a single post last month. Some great music here. Keep Spinning…Spinning Freakβ„’

    • chrispins July 13, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

      Thanks Chris! Seems like everything slows down a little in the summer. πŸ™‚

  3. Joe July 15, 2014 at 1:51 am #

    Here’s a few songs from the latest rpm release. I’m still searching for the Summer 2014 song. Thanks for all your posts.

    1.Pack ride – Counting Stars – One Republic
    2.Pace – Wake Me Up – Avicii
    3.Hills – Tonight – Manian & Nicco
    4.Mixed terrain – Supersoaker – Kings Of Leon
    5.Intervals – Love Me Again – John Newman
    6.Speed work – This Is What It Feels Like (W&W Remix) – Armin van Buuren feat. Trevor Guthrie
    7.Mountain climb – Adagio For Strings (Blasterjaxx Remix) – TiΓ«sto
    8.Ride home – Alive – Empire Of The Sun
    9.Stretch – Swim Good – Frank Ocean

    • chrispins July 15, 2014 at 10:02 pm #

      Looks great Joe! Thanks!! πŸ™‚

  4. Doreen July 15, 2014 at 8:32 pm #

    Check out Train…Angel in Blue Jeans
    Im really loving it!

    • chrispins July 15, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

      I do like that one! I haven’t decided how to use it yet though. Suggestions welcomed!

      • Doreen July 15, 2014 at 11:53 pm #

        I see it as a combo SEC/STC

  5. Doreen July 15, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

    I also found another song from someone I am following on Spotify but can’t remember who to give the credit …We Will Rok You VonLichten. My class loved it this morning
    I used it on the last leg of a 3 song climb

    • chrispins July 16, 2014 at 12:28 am #

      Good one! I think I’ve used it but it’s been a while! That would be worth bringing back. πŸ™‚

  6. Doreen July 16, 2014 at 12:06 am #

    Sorry…We Will Rock You…c is broken on my computer:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Be Okay 202 | For The Ride Inside - July 15, 2014

    […] rock tracks to current pop (and even country). Thanks to Chris at CHRISPINS for Be Okay, from her recent post. Genre: Alternative, Country, Dance, Pop, Rock. Approximate time: 49 minutes Preview and Purchase […]

Leave a Reply

