It’s All About The Climb: A Climbing Profile

7 Jun

1912403_845031288857551_7095041033957259849_n

Who doesn’t love a good climb, right? I don’t ride outdoors often, but when I do, I always look forward to the challenge of hill climbing. There’s something about the rush you feel when you’ve made it to the top. It’s definitely more of a challenge to get my riders to simulate hills on the indoor bike, but with proper coaching, I like to think they are feeling that same rush when they’ve made it to the top of the hills in this profile.

This ride is made up of four sets. Three of the four are hill climbs and the third is made up of flat road.
Feel free to mix up the order or moves within each set to your liking 🙂

The first two songs on the playlist are part of the warm up:

The World Is Ours (2:51)
We Found Love (3:36)

Set One: (12:03)

(Songs included in this set are: Radioactive, Sweet Nothing and Fresh)

3:00 Seated Climb, adding resistance every 45 seconds
3:00 Standing climb
1:00 Seated climb with 30 second accelerations (:30 on/ :30 off)
3:00 Standing climb with Jumps on a hill (2 sets)
2:03 Recover

Set Two: (11:20)

(Songs included in this set are: Fever, Ten Feet Tall, Mansion and Apache)

1:00 Standing climb
3:00 Seated climb, adding resistance every 45 seconds
3:00 Standing climb with 30 second accelerations (:30 on/:30 off)
3:00 Seated climb with Jumps
1:20 Recover

Set Three: (10:44)

(Songs included in this set are: Suddenly I See, Ticking Bomb and The Heart)

3:00 Fast Seated Flat Road
3:00 Seated flat road with accelerations
3:00 :30 seated/standing flat alternating
1:44 Recover

Set Four: (10:30)

(Songs included in this set are: How I Feel, Move Like You Stole It and The Lightning Strike)

3:00 :30 Seated/standing climb alternating
3:00 Seated climb with :30 accelerations (:30 on/ :30 off)
3:00 Standing climb, adding gear every 45 seconds
1:00 Standing Attack

Cool Down: Love Someone
Stretch: Somewhere Only We Know

Here’s the playlist in Spotify:

Deezer Link for my Canadian Friends: http://www.deezer.com/playlist/890232033

I hope you love this profile as much as I did! Have a great week!!

11 Responses to “It’s All About The Climb: A Climbing Profile”

  1. steve:spin:list June 7, 2014 at 8:14 pm #

    Great! I’m working on a Ride full of hills too.

  2. Cynthia June 7, 2014 at 9:36 pm #

    Thanks Chris! I have been looking for another climbing profile. Especially love The World is Ours, Ten Feet Tall, Mansion, Move Like U Stole It and Love Someone.

  3. Casey June 8, 2014 at 2:56 am #

    I’ve been trying to work on a climb class as well, this will be a GREAT inspiration. Thank you for sharing your work, your help keep my classes fresh and exciting.

  4. sTEPHANIE j June 8, 2014 at 10:44 pm #

    Hi Chris, just wondering do you use any cycling apps for your organizing your playlists and that is applicable to use during your ride in class. i.e “my cycle class, class builder” Recently I downloaded an app ($1.99) called my cycle class and it’s very un-user friendly. Schwinn just came out with a terrific app called schwinn class tamer and it’s free. LOVE IT but i can’t use on my ipod cause it’s for IOS 7 and higher. Ugh!!! If you have any ideas let me know Thanks again and great hill profile!!
    Stephanie

    • chrispins June 9, 2014 at 11:31 pm #

      Hi Stephanie. I do not use any of the apps that you mentioned simply because they cannot be used with Spotify. I have heard other instructors say that they have switched back to iTunes just because they enjoy these apps so much. Spotify is saving me so much money and is so convenient for me, that I’m not sure I could ever turn away from it! I’ll stick with my index cards and stopwatch for now! 🙂

  5. Brian Mclean June 14, 2014 at 7:00 pm #

    Chris – Awesome playlists. Can’t get Spotify up here in Canada, so I’ve been transferring your lists to Google Play Music. My classes love your variety.

    • chrispins June 14, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

      Hi Brian! Thanks! If you haven’t checked out Deezer, it’s very similar to Spotify. I normally convert my playlists to Deezer and post along with my Spotify playlists. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. World Cup (FIFA) Climbing Love | Chrispins - June 10, 2014

    […] guys! I got some great feedback on this profile that I posted over the weekend. My classes loved it too! Here’s another playlist you can use […]

Leave a Reply

