Turn Down For What Cycling Mix

17 May

Happy Weekend! Something to think about:

10277091_10152326841084694_3183413750552239046_n

My latest playlist includes some great NEWish tunes (Feet Don’t Fail Me Now, The Russian Messenger, Ping Pong and Hit It). It includes an often used favorite by Muse: Madness. In addition, I was turned on to AWOLNATION’s Knights of Shame by fellow “Former Cycling Pinger” Dana. I love this band, but I typically don’t even bother to check out longer songs, so this one slipped by me. Lesson learned- Don’t judge a potential song by it’s length. It’s about 12 minutes of work, so check out how I broke it down.

Here’s the playlist in Spotify:

Hit It: Warm up

Can’t Hold Us Ravers Down: Warm up moving from seated to standing

Back Home: Standing climb

Turn Down For What: Seated accelerations @ :19 (20 seconds), 1:16 (20 seconds) and 2:12 (30 seconds)

Knights of Shame::00-:59 seated flat; :59 standing flat; 2:16 seated flat; 3:15 ATTACK- add gear out of the saddle and accelerate; 4:45 4 count jumps; 5:23 seated climb; 7:00 standing climb; 9:00 seated flat

*the song cuts out at around the 11:35 mark, and then starts up again at the very end. I just used around thirty seconds of the silence for a water break/recovery, and then forwarded to the next song.

Feet Don’t Fail Me Now: My most recent favorite fast, flat road song!

Madness: Standing climb

The Russian Messenger: Seated flat with accelerations. 30 seconds each @ :30, 1:30, 2:30, 3:30 and 4:30

Ping Pong: Standing flat/seated flat alternating

See You Tonight: Recovery

Tabata: Seated acceleratons 8×20 with 10 second recoveries

Story of My Life: Cool Down

Home: Stretch

4 Responses to “Turn Down For What Cycling Mix”

  1. steve:spin:list May 17, 2014 at 4:10 pm #

    Checking email this AM while listening to my latest playlist and TDFW is playing as I see your post hit the wire! A great track. Like your latest mix too.

    • chrispins May 17, 2014 at 10:03 pm #

      Thanks Steve! Great minds think alike!

  2. Jenny May 18, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    I am a newbie instructor and look to your music and profiles for inspiration. Thank you so much for sharing. I tried this list today and absolutely loved it. The songs were new to me so I was out of my comfort zone. I just trusted it would work and I am grateful I did. Many many thanks!!

Leave a Reply

