A Profile (Shot Me Down), What’s On Repeat and A Spotify Update!

13 Apr

So Spotify recently rolled out a new look. What do you think? I really like the way the black background makes everything stand out!

Screen Shot 2014-04-13 at 8.40.52 AM

I understand that some instructors have had trouble with the new update. Gaps between songs are too long and that doesn’t make for a smooth class for sure! I’m crossing my fingers that this doesn’t happen to me during class and I hope everyone having these issues gets them resolved quickly.

My biggest issue with the new update is the size of the ‘shuffle’ button. I am kind of famous for starting my classes with hitting the shuffle button rather than my first song and having to go back in and ‘unshuffle’. My classes have actually come to expect this of me. πŸ™‚ Now that the shuffle button is that much bigger, I have even more opportunity to hit it inadvertently. Spotify, I love ya, but sometimes you just do stupid things.

I dare you not to hit the shuffle button.

I dare you not to hit the shuffle button.



All of Me by John Legend. It took a while for this song to grow on me, but now that I’m hearing it all over the radio, I have to admit, I’m addicted. I know a song will make my ‘What’s on Repeat’ list when my teenage son rolls his eyes in embarrassment every time I sing it (at the top of my lungs) in the car. Hey- if I have to haul you around town, then you have to listen to me sing. Those are the rules. Thankfully, I save that for the car and not my spin class. I’ve been using it as a cool down like crazy lately and I’ve used the remix as a seated flat. Right now, I can’t get enough:

A few weeks ago, I posted a playlist called ‘Shock To The System’. I was apparently too busy at the time to post my ride notes and I’ve gotten a few requests to post them, so here is the playlist again with ride notes:

Ride notes:

A Little More: Warm up in the saddle

Shock to The System: Continue warm up and bring it out of the saddle when you’re ready

Ways To Go: Alternate seated/standing climb

Pound the Alarm: Seated flat with standing hill accelerations @ 1:08 (20 seconds), 2:14 (30 seconds) and 3:04 (20 seconds)

Fall in Love Tonight: Standing flat

Ticking Bomb: Seated flat

Palladio: Seated climb

I Won’t Let You Go: Standing climb

Jingo: 20 second seated accelerations

Get it Together: Recovery

Punja: :00-1:02 STC, 1:02-2:02 SEF, 2:02-3:14 STC, 3:14-4:20 SEC, 4:20 STC

The Underdog: SEF

Ten Feet Tall: Rider’s Choice

Venus and Mars: Recovery

Tabata: Seated accelerations 20 seconds x8 with 10 second recoveries.

Sight of the Sun: Cool Down

Beautiful: Stretch

Here is the Deezer Link: http://www.deezer.com/playlist/838685933

What’s on your ‘Repeat Radar”?
How are you liking the new Spotify update?

6 Responses to “A Profile (Shot Me Down), What’s On Repeat and A Spotify Update!”

  1. steve:spin:list April 14, 2014 at 12:37 am #

    Getting to like the update, but I agree with you about the Shuffle button…way bigger than it needs to be! Lots of great new music in the Spotify New Releases section this week! Have a great week.

    • chrispins April 14, 2014 at 1:04 am #

      I agree! I snatched up a bunch from this week’s new releases! πŸ™‚

  2. Shari April 14, 2014 at 3:23 pm #

    For the most part I love the cleaner look of Spotify. I am glad you mentioned this about the gapless playback because my classes last week had odd spaces in them and I thought it was just me! I’ll keep messing with it, but if you know of any fixes let us know!

    On repeat: Dark Horse – I’ve already warned my classes that they will have to learn to love it if they’re sick of it. Strangely – as much as I love it – I haven’t figured out the perfect profile for this song.
    Come with Me Now – by KONGOS – thanks to you!
    Chocolate – the 1975….not necessarily for classes – but it’s such a happy song!

    Thanks for all you do!

    • chrispins April 14, 2014 at 4:20 pm #

      Thanks for commenting Shari! I’m trying Spotify for the first time since my update in class tonight, so fingers crossed it works!

      LOVE Dark Horse and Come with Me Now!!! I have had Chocolate in my files for a while but haven’t used it yet, so I may need to throw it in sometime soon!

  3. Jennie April 16, 2014 at 12:35 am #

    This isn’t related to this post, but I’ve been requested to do a Power Spin Class on Friday. Great upbeat music; high tension climbs, jumps sprints. Any suggestions or ideas? Anything would be appreciated!!

  4. Fern April 23, 2014 at 3:04 pm #

    Hi Chris, really like your music selections and ideas. I do like the cleaner look of the updated Spotify, but it seems to have a slower response time when I touch the buttons? AND don’t like the shuffle tab-hit that by accident during class and really threw me off! Have you noticed the slowness of the controls?
    Thanks for all the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

