Indoor Cycle Instructor Podcast & A New Playlist

23 Mar

Last summer I recorded my first ICI Profile on indoorcycleinstructor.com. It was a ton of fun and I was thrilled when John asked me to create another profile to record for the podcast. We had a great time chatting about so many things- from the weather and my dinner table discussions to how I find new music, and a few Spotify tricks I have up my sleeve.

The profile that I created is called ‘Four Corners (2 Ways)’ and it is a real time-saver. It’s simple and predictable, which is the kind of profile my class seems to love, and it can be changed up several different ways to use over and over. To make it even more user friendly, I coordinated song bpm to rpm for most of the songs, which is especially helpful if your gym or club does not use meters. And speaking of songs, the playlist is killer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Check out ICI/PRO and the Podcast here (click on the pic for the link):

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 7.21.58 PM

And then check out this second Podcast where we chatted some more:

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 7.23.23 PM

Thanks again John, for having me on the podcast. It’s always a pleasure! ๐Ÿ™‚

Now on to this week’s brand new playlist in Spotify. Around here, it’s still only about 28 degrees outside, so we didn’t mind staying inside all weekend to participate in some ‘March Madness’. Even with Syracuse out ( ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) and Duke’s early loss totally messing up my bracket, it’s still been basketball fever around here! That means I’ve only seen this commercial like a MILLION times over the past few days. With this song is stuck in my head, so I had to throw it in the playlist. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s the playlist in Spotify:

Hope you have a great week!

22 Responses to “Indoor Cycle Instructor Podcast & A New Playlist”

  1. lemonsandpickles March 24, 2014 at 1:13 am #

    Excellent post, Chris! I’m looking forward to a break so that I can get to one of your classes. Perhaps during the upcoming Spring break. Take care and stay warm!

    • chrispins March 24, 2014 at 10:07 am #

      Thank you Karen! Can’t wait for you to come to our place! Shoot me a line when it gets closer and I will let you know my schedule! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. GeminiGirl March 24, 2014 at 1:55 pm #

    Thanks for sharing another great profile Chris! When you get a chance, can you give me some of your tips for form on standing flats? Are you in HP 2 or 3? I find that the only way I can get my cadence in your suggested RPM range is to keep the resistance relatively light which makes me concerned about rider’s knees (including my own) when we go for 3 or 4 minutes straight.

    • chrispins March 24, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

      Hi Leslie! To me, ‘standing flat’ is just the name that Spinning gave this movement. I kind of take some liberties here. I use it more of a ‘lighter’ climb. I cue a lot of resistance and I do not have riders standing straight up in HP 1, unless we are recovering for a very short time. We are often in HP 2 or 3. My riders also know that they have the choice to slow their cadence or even do the work in the saddle if they are not comfortable with any of the movements we are doing. 80-110 RPM’s is within the range that Spinning recommends. I hope that helps. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Ashlie Taivalkoski March 24, 2014 at 5:01 pm #

    Hi Chris,
    Love your ICI profile and is your new playlist ‘Shock to the System Cycling Mix’ the same Four Corners profile? Thanks for all of your great music ideas! You are much appreciated from this busy instructor! :0) Hoping Spring decides to wrap some warm weather around us soon!! Take care.
    Ashlie

    • chrispins March 24, 2014 at 8:10 pm #

      No, “Shock to the System” is a completely different ride. You’ll have to go to ICI/PRO to find the playlist link for ‘Four Corners’ ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Ashlie Taivalkoski March 25, 2014 at 1:17 pm #

        Thanks! Can you please post your ride notes/profile for Shock to the system?

      • chrispins March 25, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

        I’ve had a few requests for it. My next post will include notes for the ‘Shock to the System” ride.:)

  4. Penny March 24, 2014 at 5:18 pm #

    Hi Chris-I am always intrigued by how you find the time to make such fabulous playlists. I love your enthusiasm and how much you love the music! For awhile you were “posting” on Deezer as well as Spotify. In Canada we are still unable to access Spotify, so Deezer was great! Any chance?

    thanks for your energy! Penny (in Canada)

    • chrispins March 24, 2014 at 8:09 pm #

      Hi Penny, Thank you so much! I’m so guilty of not posting to Deezer in a while. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ To be honest, it’s a bit time consuming to transfer it over and post and I keep forgetting to add it at the end of my playlists. I also noticed that very few, if any people were using the link so I kind of stopped a while back. If I can remember, I will add it in future posts. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Shari March 25, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    Thanks for posting this workout! Our studio doesn’t have power meters either and it’s nice to have a workout that I don’t have to adapt! Can’t wait to try it out! I had a hard time finding the playlist as well – I could only access it from the link in the profile, I couldn’t find it from ici pro or from your profile in spotify.

    • chrispins March 25, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

      Hi Shari,

      THe link to the playlist for “Four Corners” is the one on the ICI PRO page. The playlist is not on my personal SPotify page. If you click the link in at the bottom of the article, it should take you to the playlist in Spotify. I believe it is on John’s Spotify page. That is where he houses the ICI/PROfile playlists.

  6. Sarah Miller March 25, 2014 at 2:09 pm #

    Forgive me if I missed it but what is your proposed ride for this list? I love your rides!

    • chrispins March 25, 2014 at 9:10 pm #

      Hi Sarah,

      I will be posting notes for “Shock to the System” in my next blog post since I’ve had a few requests for it. I’m assuming this is the one you are referring to. Notes for “Four Corners” can be found on ICI/PRO.

  7. Rebecca March 28, 2014 at 4:48 am #

    Hi Chris,
    My class and I really enjoyed Four Corners today. The time flew by. Manju almost didn’t make the playlist. I wasn’t feeling it when listening to the song and kept wanting to replace it. I took your advice and kept it in and cranked up the volume in class. Everyone loved it! They said that they felt like they were in a movie! It even gave me chills (a first). Thank you for another fun and challenging ride!

    • chrispins March 28, 2014 at 10:12 am #

      Hello!

      So glad your class liked the Profile and that you decided to keep Manju on the playlist!

      Chris

  8. Loni April 3, 2014 at 1:27 pm #

    Curious as to what your profile is for shock to the system. What I came up with is okay but not great. I LOVE the playlist! Thank you!!!

  9. loniphoto April 4, 2014 at 11:38 am #

    Love this playlist! My profile I can up with does not do it justice. Curious to what your profile you used for shock to the system…? Thanks for all your posts!

    • chrispins April 7, 2014 at 9:03 pm #

      Hi Loni!

      Sorry I’m late in responding. It’s report card time here, so I’ve been super-busy, but I promise to update that post when I get a chance with my teaching notes. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Jenny April 28, 2014 at 12:25 pm #

    Hi, I just wanted to thank you for posting this! I’m getting back into teaching Spinningยฎ after a six year hiatus and I’ve found that I’m nervous prepping for my classes since I have a renewed outlook on how I’d like them to go now. I used a tweaked (for a 45 minute class) version of this and it went great! I really appreciated your tips and it helped me form a great class!

    • chrispins April 29, 2014 at 1:08 am #

      Sounds great Jenny! Glad you liked the profile! ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Profile (Shot Me Down), What’s On Repeat and A Spotify Update! | Chrispins - April 13, 2014

    […] few weeks ago, I posted a playlist called ‘Shock To The System’. I was apparently too busy at the time to post my ride notes and I’ve gotten a few requests to […]

Leave a Reply

