Kiss Me, I’m Irish Cycling Mix

16 Mar

flat,550x550,075,f

I’m so excited that I’m teaching on St. Patrick’s Day this year! I only do a few theme playlists a year, and St. Patrick’s day is by far my favorite. There is so much great music to choose from. If you haven’t created your own St. Patrick’s Day playlist yet, or if you are looking for just one or two songs to get you in the mood, check out our collaborative St. Pat’s playlist on Spotify:

Here’s the playlist I will be using this year:

Also included is a song from my local files (Thanks Irene!). Lanigan’s Ball by Enter the Haggis:

Notes:

Domino: Warm up

Drink the Night Away: Warm Up—–> Standing flat

Elevation: Alternate seated/standing climb

Amazing Grace: Seated accelerations

Dance Dance: Standing flat

Lanigan’s Ball: Seated flat with accelerations @ :42 (30 seconds), 1:50 (40 seconds) and then 3:33 to the end.

Lord Of The Dance: Alternate seated/standing flat

Scotch on the Rocks: Seated climb

Celtic Tiger: :00-1:33 Seated flat; 1:33 standing flat; 2:56 Seated flat

Mary Mac: Fast seated flat

Zombie: Standing climb

Shipping up To Boston: Seated accelerations at :51 (25 seconds) and 1:44 (30 seconds)

Old Black Rum: Rider’s choice

The Highlands: Recovery

Tabata: Seated accelerations 8×20 seconds with 10 second recoveries

Crazy Love: Cool Down

Nothing Compares 2 U: Stretch

This week I will be again working with John at ICI/Pro to record my second Podcast! I will be explaining my newest ICI/Profile which I call ‘Four Corners’. It’s a fun, simple, yet effective workout that can be used several different ways-an awesome time saver for busy instructors like you! So look for the Podcast on ICI/PRO in the next few weeks! 🙂

4 Responses to “Kiss Me, I’m Irish Cycling Mix”

  1. kmamo March 16, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    Thanks, Chris!

    I’ve enjoyed working with John, too 🙂

    Quick question about an older post (maybe last April). “How big is your brave cycling mix”. I’ve used some of the songs in my classes, but don’t have your ride profile. Would you mind sending or reposting it?

    Happy Saint Patricks Day!

    Kay Mamo

    Sent from my Mobile office

    >

    • chrispins March 17, 2014 at 12:27 am #

      Hi Kay! Just checked out the playlist you are referring to and I can’t seem to find my profile for this particular playlist at this moment. I will keep searching and let you know if I find it. Sorry 😦 .

  2. nancy melrose March 17, 2014 at 3:40 pm #

    Hi Chris! Thank you for this blog! I couldn’t help but notice how much in sync we are….so here is my St. Pat’s playlist. I used it for my classes Sat./Sun and may pop it in one more time today! I love world music so there’s a few in this as well. Enjoy! nancy
    NEW IRISH ONE 59 min.
    1. Berim Dance Urban Trad(Ethnomixicology) 5:26 WARMUP
    2. Street Of Dreams Oysterband (England) 3:13 RUNNING
    3. The Storm Moving Hearts 4:15 DRILLS
    4. Dreams The Cranberries 4:16 JUMPS
    5. Invisible (RED) Edit Version U2 3:47 SET (30/45/60 flat/standing)
    6. Azwaw 2 Cheb Mami 4:06 SET (30/45/60 climb)
    7. Deep Channel Afro Celts 3:27 RECOVER/FLAT
    8. Heroine (Theme from CaptiveSinead O’Connor 4:27 CLIMB
    9. The Mummers’ Dance Loreena McKennitt 4:01 CLIMB
    10. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking U2 4:37 BREAKAWAY
    11. Caraçena Billy Whelan 2:43 RECOVERY
    12. Gloria Van Morrison 2:38 SLIDES
    13. I Want Your (Hands On Me)Sinead O’Connor 4:42 8x20s (10 sec.recovery)
    14. I’m Shipping Up to Boston Dropkick Murphys 2:34 SPRINT
    15. Road To Glory Eleanor Shanley 5:05 RECOVER

    • chrispins March 17, 2014 at 7:57 pm #

      Thank you for sharing your playlist! I love The Mummers’ Dance. I totally forgot about that one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

