This week’s Favorites and A New Playlist

1 Mar

In keeping with last week’s tradition, I thought I’d share some favorites with you again this week! There are only a few of them, but they are definitely worth sharing:

Jimmy Fallon and Paul Rudd’s epic lip sync contest. Even better than Paul Rudd’s lip syncing is Jimmy Fallon’s reaction. Love both of them.

This recipe from the Fitnessista for Quinoa Enchilada Casserole. If you don’t think you like quinoa, maybe you just haven’t found the right recipe. This recipe (made with canned enchilada sauce) was super easy and delicious! Click the pic for the recipe.

Screen Shot 2014-03-01 at 12.36.01 PM

And this amazing Spotify milestone:

Screen Shot 2014-03-01 at 12.24.57 PM

My 1000th Spotify follower!! (And then some…) πŸ™‚ A huge thank you goes out to all 1,013 of you!! And if you aren’t on Spotify yet: What are you waiting for? It’s pretty awesome.

Did you ever have one of those weeks where no matter how hard you try, you just can’t get it all done? Maybe it’s just because I was coming off of a vacation week, but this week was pretty cray. Thankfully, it flew by and now that it’s Saturday, I’m feeling pretty accomplished! When I have ‘one of those weeks’, I usually end up recycling a playlist or two. This week, I ended up bringing back two old favorites and putting together a solid new ride for my Saturday morning crew. Good times were had. πŸ™‚

You can see Monday’s playlist and teaching notes here.

And here is Friday’s playlist.

Most of my classes are approximately 55-60 minutes long including warm up and cool down. When I teach on Saturday mornings, my playlists are a bit shorter, most of the time clocking in at 53-54 minutes due to time constraints at my gym. Here is the playlist that I used this morning:

Teaching notes:

We Won’t Give Up: Warm up

Wild Wild Love: Warm up bringing it out of the saddle

Come With Me Now: Seated/Standing climb

Big Love: Seated accelerations: 3 of them- 20 seconds, 20 seconds, finishing with a 30 second acceleration

Radioactive-The Dirty Trees Remix: Loving this remix! Here’s how we rode it- :00-:35 Standing climb; :35-1:34 Seated climb; 1:34-2:40 Standing climb; 2:40-3:45 Seated climb and 3:45-5:25 Standing climb

The Heart: Seated flat road at around 102 rpms

Dark Horse: Heavy standing climb

The Phoenix: Seated accelerations @ :59 (25 seconds); 2:00 (25 seconds); and 3:14 (45 seconds)

I Know What I Am: Jumps on the chorus

Roads Untraveled: Seated climb

How I Feel: Riders choice. Most of mine chose a standing flat here. πŸ™‚

It’s Over: Recover

Metal Tabata: Seated accelerations 8×20 seconds, 10 second recoveries

Peace: Cool Down

Say Something: Stretch

Have a great week!

6 Responses to “This week’s Favorites and A New Playlist”

  1. steve:spin:list March 1, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

    Awesome milestone…and another great playlist Chris! Keep ‘me coming,

  2. Teri Vanderpol March 1, 2014 at 8:24 pm #

    I enjoy your posts and am unsure if this will get to you if I respond directly or if I need to post through the blog. I don’t follow many blogs. Anyway, thought I would say that last week this inspired me to make a “Don’t Stop Me Now!” spin playlist. I loved this video too.

  3. Jennie March 1, 2014 at 11:20 pm #

    You always have such great music selections. Can you help me with good songs to add to playlist that include Beyonce, Eminem, Rihanna, etc. “Ghetto” music! Any suggestions and or help would be awesome!

    • chrispins March 12, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

      Hi Jennie,

      Sorry that it took me so long to reply. I put your comment aside and just remembered that I needed to get back to you… I wish I could help more, but I honestly rarely use any of the artists you mention in my classes. I’ve used ‘Single Ladies’ by Beyonce and ‘We Found Love” by Rihanna also “The Monster”, but that’s about it. I guess that’s just not my taste and I’m not sure my classes would dig it much either. Most of Eminem’s stuff is explicit, and I have to be careful because I work at a YMCA. I honestly don’t have much of any of these artists in my library. πŸ™‚

  4. Bonnie March 1, 2014 at 11:43 pm #

    Congratulations on 1,000 followers! You deserve it – you do such a fantastic job with your blog. I don’t know how you keep it up (but please do, because you are an inspiration)

Leave a Reply

