Shot Me Down Cycling Mix and Friday Faves (On Saturday):

22 Feb

Quite a few bloggers I follow post their ‘Friday Faves’ every week, so I thought I’d give it a whirl this week. I’m pretty sure it won’t become a regular thing, since I don’t always have the time, but since it’s a vacation week for me, I was able to spend some extra time doing things I don’t normally get to do. Like organizing my closets and giving the blog a little love. If you’re just here for the playlist, feel free to scroll to the bottom of the post. I won’t be offended. 🙂

In no particular order, here is what I’m loving this week:

This Keiser bike:

m3_indoor_cycle

Unfortunately, I’m not lucky enough to have these where I teach, but I did visit a nearby facility that recently replaced their old Spinning® bikes with these and I fell in love!

Jimmy Fallon’s debut on The Tonight Show. Seriously, what’s not to love about Jimmy Fallon?:

Gotta love the DVR. Because I’m certainly not staying up that late! (If you haven’t seen the original hashtag bit with Justin Timberlake, that’s worth checking out too.)

This song:

Last week I professed my love for everything Aloe Blacc in this post. Someone turned me on to this remix earlier in the week and I’ve already used it in my latest playlist. (Song #2 by the way-it won’t show on the Spotify player because it’s a local file).

This article from Active.com about why runners need Spinnning®: (click the pic)

why runners need spinning 460

I have two camps of running friends. The ones that already know the benefits of combining Spinning® and running, and those that haven’t figured it out just yet. Hopefully this article will help the second group along. 🙂

Starbucks Breakfast Blend Vue Cups:

41PZPJdGTcL._SY300_

Normally I’m not a Starbuck’s fan. While I do enjoy my coffee strong, I just don’t like the flavor and acidity of that Starbucks coffee has. I’m definitely a Dunkin’ kind of girl. So when my husband recently ordered these cups for our Keurig Vue, I really thought they would go to waste. BUT, I gave it a try and I really enjoyed this blend! Still, if I was faced with Starbucks and Dunkin’ side by side, I’d choose Dunkin’.

DDS1

The Olympics:

Unknown

I’ve definitely got a case of Olympic fever, and I’ll be sad to see them end soon, but I’ll always have this collection of Top Ten Viral Videos of the 2014 Olympics.

This reminder from my friends at Spotify:

1622617_778800448813969_2007612365_n

I have a ton of playlists, and they were kind of a mess until I put them into these folders the other day. It took me 30 minutes at the most and it was well worth it!

And the number one thing I’m loving this week…

This playlist:

Happy: warm up

Ticking Bomb: (As I mentioned above, this one is not on the player because it came from my local files and is not available on Spotify) continue warm up, taking it out of the saddle.

Come With Me Now: alternate seated/standing climb

D’Ya Wanna Go Faster: seated accelerations on the chorus

Shot me Down: Seated flat/standing flat with the tempo of the music

Tell the World: standing climb

Gallows Pole: Seated climb

Pound the Alarm: Standing hill accelerations on the chorus

Classic: standing climb

Iridescent: standing flat/climb

Black Parade: alternate seated/standing climb

Day and Night: riders choice/flat

Monaco: recover

Tabata: seated accelerations 20:10 x8

Give It Time: cool down

Sunshine on My Shoulders: Stretch

Enjoy your weekend!

9 Responses to “Shot Me Down Cycling Mix and Friday Faves (On Saturday):”

  1. Kim February 22, 2014 at 2:01 pm #

    Did you link the article? I don’t see it. Thanks!

    • chrispins February 22, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

      Hi Kim,

      If you are referring to the Active.com article, yes. Just click on the picture and it will take you to the article. I edited it with directions. 🙂

  2. Kees February 22, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

    Try “yeah boy” from Nouveaubeats!
    Also available/downloadable via Soundcloud

  3. steve:spin:list February 22, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

    Like your FAVs! I can relate to your #1…the Keiser M3 is a SMOOTH ride and the computer gives all the key stats to manage and measure a great workout. We’ve had these cycles for about 4 months and members love them. The WATTs measure overall power…great info to have while increasing your output class after class.
    Enjoy the last couple days of the games!

    • chrispins February 22, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

      I’m so jealous! I loved having the computers there to tell me how hard I was working. And what a smooth ride!

  4. Chris Noles February 26, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

    I found Ticking Bomb on Spotify. Maybe it’s been recently added. Thanks for all the great info!

  5. Pam V March 2, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

    Thank you SO much for posting that spotify tip about the playlists! How awesome! 🙂 I just cleaned up my mile long lists of playlists and it is so much more organized and easy to find something.

    • chrispins March 2, 2014 at 10:58 pm #

      You’re welcome! Such a great tip! Now I just have to KEEP my music organized. 🙂

Leave a Reply

