I Really Want It Cycling Mix (3 Sets)

17 Feb

Hey there! Tonight’s class will consist of three sets of work efforts. Each set includes flats and hills and we will increase the work time and intensity with each set. Pretty sure I got this one over on the the Pedal-On boards a while back and changed it to my liking. Here’s how we will be riding it:

The first two songs are warm up.

First Set:

(10 minutes of work)

:30 Standing Flat
1:00 Seated Flat
:45 Standing Flat
:45 Seated Flat
1:00 Standing Flat
:30 Seated Flat
:30 Seated Acceleration

:30 Standing Climb
1:00 Seated Climb
:45 Standing Climb
:45 Seated Climb
1:00 Standing Climb
:30 Seated Climb
:30 Standing Climb
:30 Running with Resistance

Second Set (13 minutes of work)

:45 Standing Flat
1:15 Seated Flat
1:00 Standing Flat
1:00 Seated Flat
1:15 Standing Flat
:45 Seated Flat
:30 Seated Acceleration

:45 Standing Climb
1:15 Seated Climb
1:00 Standing Climb
1:00 Seated Climb
1:15 Standing Climb
:45 Seated Climb
:30 Running with Resistance

Third Set (16 minutes of work)

1:00 Standing Flat
1:30 Seated Flat
1:15 Standing Flat
1:15 Seated Flat
1:30 Standing Flat
1:00 Seated Flat
:30 Seated Acceleration

1:00 Standing Climb
1:30 Seated Climb
1:15 Standing Climb
1:15 Seated Climb
1:30 Standing Climb
1:00 Seated Climb
:30 Running with Resistance

1:25 Recovery
4:00 Tabata Intervals

Last two songs=cool down and stretch.

Here’s the playlist:

Have a great week! I will be back with Friday’s playlist later in the week. I’m just putting it together, but you can bet that it will include this one, posted by Dana on the Former Cycling Pingers Facebook Group:

…and this new one, which I used last week, but can’t get enough of:

6 Responses to “I Really Want It Cycling Mix (3 Sets)”

  1. Ellette February 18, 2014 at 5:08 pm #

    I assume you are recovering between each work phase. How long of a recovery did you work into your playlist?

    • chrispins February 18, 2014 at 5:56 pm #

      Hello Ellette,

      I ended up using part of our seated climbs and flats as recoveries. I think if I were to do it again, I would do it as you suggest and add in some recovery time between each work phase. That would mean tweaking the playlist a bit. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Ellette February 19, 2014 at 12:42 pm #

    I love your playlists! I know how much effort they take and also sharing your class notes is very much appreciated. I’ve used a few and they are all excellent. You are very good at what you do!

    • chrispins February 19, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

      Thank you so much! So glad you are liking the playlists!

      • Kathy Shapiro February 20, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

        Chris, thanks for a million wonderful ideas. Question. I am used to teaching work phases that are contained within a song (e.g., Tabatas, or a ladder or some similar form of intervals), or that encompass a few songs (e.g., two or three songs that I’ve announced are going to be a progression/variety of climbs). But I’m not used to teaching work segments that span across song breaks — e.g, a seated acceleration starting in one song and ending in another song. Is that what you’re doing in this playlist? Or am I reading this wrong?

      • chrispins February 20, 2014 at 8:52 pm #

        Hi Kathy, It’s great to hear from you! If I’m understanding your question correctly, the answer is yes, many of these work segments span across song breaks. For example, the first work period is 10 minutes, so I put together 10 minutes (give or take) of music. The bpm’s for each song in the segment were the same (or very close), so it was not much of an issue to work right on through to the next song. I do need to remind my peeps to keep working through the song break because the first thing they want to do at the end of a song is take all of their gear off and recover. Doing it this way, it opens it up to much more music choices for me, as I don’t have to find songs of a specific length for each work period. Just make sure they have a similar bpm. I hope that makes sense! 🙂

Leave a Reply

