Ladder Profile Redux + Everything Will Change Cycling Mix

5 Feb

1483369_10203344107190326_102208605_n

I love using ladder profiles in class. They’re simple, yet effective. I’ve used this particular profile several times, and I keep it fresh for my classes by changing up the music. You can find the profile and teaching notes here. Here is the playlist that I used. You might recognize a song or two from the Superbowl half time show and Superbowl commercials:

(The first two songs were warm ups and we ended with Tabata.)

I’m so excited that the Olympics are starting this weekend!!! I’ve done Olympic playlists in the past, and I thought long and hard about doing one again, but I just wasn’t feeling an entire playlist this time. I did include a few Olympic shout outs in the playlist: (Star Spangled Banner by Madison Rising, Wavin’ Flag by K’NAAN, Bugler’s Dream and Olympic Fanfare by John Williams, Everything Will Change by Gavin DeGraw-which is the official Olympic song of Team USA, and Chariots of Fire).

The Star Spangled Banner: Warm up in the saddle

All The Way: Warm up, bringing it out of the saddle

Odds Are: Alternate seated/standing climb

Pound the Alarm: Seated accelerations @ :45 (30 seconds); 2:15 (30 seconds) and 3:30 (25 seconds)

Bring Back the Drums: Alternate seated/standing work

Wavin’ Flag: Fast seated flat

Show me How You Burlesque: Standing flat

I Love It: Seated accelerations @ 1:00 (22 seconds); 2:13 (30 seconds) and 3:00 (20 seconds)

Bugler’s Dream and Olympic Fanfare: Standing climb/pick ups when the tempo picks up @ :45 for 15 seconds, 2:53 for 15 seconds and again at 3:59 for 30 seconds or as long as you can take it!

All At Once: Seated climb

Rumor Has It: Jumps on the chorus

I’m a Freak: Rider’s choice

The Will Of Man: Recovery

Tabata: Your choice-I use them as seated accelerations

Everything Will Change: Cool Down

Chariots of Fire: Stretch

Enjoy the rest of your week!

One Response to “Ladder Profile Redux + Everything Will Change Cycling Mix”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer Ladders Profile | Chrispins - August 18, 2014

    […] Today I’m teaching two classes, so I thought they’d really like this ‘Summer Ladder Profile’ I’ve prepared for them. I’ve done this one a few times already and it’s always a hit. You can see ride notes and playlists for this profile here and here. […]

Leave a Reply

