The Wire Cycling Mix

22 Jan

Here’s what’s on my ‘repeat radar’ this week:

The Wire by Haim (rhymes with time) I’m a little late to the party on this one. It came out at the end of September 2013. I used it for a alternating seated/standing climb. The band, which consists of three sisters and a male drummer is worth a listen to, and the video is pretty funny as well:

Find it on iTunes and Spotify and give it a try in your next class. 🙂

Here’s the playlist that I used in my most recent class:

I try to give teaching notes with each of my playlists to give you an idea of my profile/ride. I know that they are not detailed, but hopefully it’s enough for you to get a feel for how to organize your ride using the same playlist. Or maybe you just want to take a song or two and mix it into your own ride. If you ever have questions about my notes, feel free to leave a comment! 🙂

Life is Beautiful: One of my absolute favorite warm-up tunes. Keep it in the saddle.

Gasoline and Matches: Thanks to Jen H. for turning me on to this one. I probably wouldn’t have given it a second look, since I’m not really a country music fan, but this remix has a great beat and worked well for a continuation of our warmup. I always tell my riders to keep it seated until they are ready to bring it up out of the saddle in this second song.

The Wire: (see above) alternate seated/standing flat

Welcome to Africa: seated accelerations @:45 (25 seconds); 1:53 (25 seconds) and 2:55 (25 seconds)

Big Girl: Standing climb/moderate

MLK: I added this beautiful lullaby to commemorate Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. since I taught this class on MLK day. First leg of a seated climb

300 Violin Orchestra: Keep it in the saddle and keep on climbing.

Why Don’t You And I: Still climbing. Bring it out of the saddle for this one, adding gear every minute or so.

Levitate: Seated flat with accelerations @ 1:20 (30 seconds) and 3:28 (30 seconds)

Let’s Go: Jumps @ 1:00 (8 count x 8); 2:15 (4 count x 16) and 3:15-riders choice

Baba O’ Riley: Seated flat. We kept it easy for the fist three minutes. At the three minute mark, give it a little more gear and cadence. Last :30=SPRINT!

Cray Button: Riders choice

Give a Little Bit: Recovery

Tabata: Seated accelerations 8×20/10 second recoveries

Timeless: Remember this one from my ‘best of 2013’ list? I’ve used it as a climb, but it works great for a cool down as well.

Wondering Where the Lions Are: Stretch

Have a great week!

2 Responses to “The Wire Cycling Mix”

  1. Jessica February 11, 2014 at 4:05 pm #

    Hi! I just found your blog. I just got certified to teach spin. Quick question about your playlist. What version of Gasoline and Matches were you referring to?

Leave a Reply

