Fire In Your New Shoes (Ladder Profile), Ring the Alarm And A Bonus Playlist

9 Nov

This week I used one of my favorite profiles, freshened up with some new tunes. You can find the profile notes in the original post —-> HERE.

Here is the playlist that I used:

My peeps worked hard on this one and they loved it!

I used this playlist later in the week. I’ve been trying out some newer Tabata tracks, and the one I used here is definitely not one of my favorites. I won’t use it again, but hey, maybe you’ll like it. Feel free to switch it out because there are a ton of tabata tracks out there.

Here’s how we rode to this one:

Baby Did A Bad, Bad Thing: Warm up

Take Me to a Disco: Continue warming up, bringing it out of the saddle.

Love Don’t Die: Loving this new song by The Fray. I don’t care for much of their stuff because to me it all sounds the same, but this one has a different sound that I’m really digging. Standing climb

Burn it To The Ground: Seated accelerations on the chorus

Take You Higher: Standing flat. There have been some questions about what I considered a ‘standing flat’. This is not a standing run or acceleration. It’s pretty much a standing climb, but it’s not a heavy climb, it’s a lighter climb. You are definitely using gear and always in control. We pedal to the beat. I guess I just like to differentiate my standing climbs. 🙂

Young Volcanoes: Seated flat (watch out for the a-word in this one, if you watch out for those things…)

Happy Ending: Heavy standing climb-There’s something about MIKA that I just can’t get enough of. Maybe it’s because his voice reminds me of Freddie Mercury. Whatever it is, I love many of his songs. You may not think of this one for a climb, but it actually worked very well. A little crescendo at the end got us to the top of this steep hill.

Ain’t No Sunshine: Keep some of that gear on and bring it back in the saddle for a seated climb.

Animals: Seated accelerations

Slid: Jumps

Snakefood: Alternate seated/standing climb

Ring the Alarm: Rider’s choice

Heartbeat: Recovery

Tabata: Seated accelerations 8×20 with 10 second recoveries

What the Hell: Cool Down

You Are The Best Thing: Stretch

BONUS! I’m teaching the Saturday morning class this week. I don’t know about you, but when you teach only evenings, you definitely notice a different vibe when you teach the morning classes. Saturday mornings are always a little more laid back and I always leave feeling happy and refreshed.

Usually when I teach an extra class like this I recycle an old playlist, but this morning I decided to create a mashup of some of my favorites from my recent playlists. Here is what I came up with:

Yes, I did use The Fox again. I used it on Halloween because I thought I could get away with it and everyone loved it, so I figured one more time wouldn’t hurt, right? Last time, I swear!

Here are the Deezer links for each playlist:

http://www.deezer.com/playlist/625062723?app_id=100023

http://www.deezer.com/playlist/625063873?app_id=100023

http://www.deezer.com/playlist/625069373?app_id=100023

Have a great weekend!

3 Responses to “Fire In Your New Shoes (Ladder Profile), Ring the Alarm And A Bonus Playlist”

  1. Amanda November 10, 2013 at 4:05 am #

    Hi Chris, Im new to spotify – how do i put my playlists into the ‘local files’ so i can sync them to my iPod ???

    • chrispins November 10, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

      Hi Amanda,

      First of all, are you using an iPod or an iPhone? You must have a wireless device to sync music from Spotify (iphone, android, etc,). You cannot sync without a wireless connection. Once the songs/playlists are synced, you can take them offline so that you are not using wireless.

      If in fact you are using a wireless device, your local files (these are files that you already own that are in your iTunes), should automatically sync to your Spotify profile. If you are having problems with this, here’s a tutorial on how to get them to sync: https://support.spotify.com/us/learn-more/guides/#!/article/Listen-to-local-files

      I hope that helps!

      Chris

  2. Kim April 29, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

    Hi Chris, I’m a new spin instructor doing an audition at a place that likes LONG songs. Trying to choreograph Ring the Alarm the 8.33 version. I know it is a hill but just adding and climbing for over 8 minutes seems tedious!! Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

