We Won’t Give Up Cycling Mix (Intervals)

23 Sep

After finishing up the LiveFit trainer program the end of August, I’ve continued to make strength training a priority by incorporating workouts that I find on bodybuilding.com into my routine.  I love that it helps me to mix up my workouts so I don’t get bored and as hard as they are, I still incorporate a day or two of HIIT training along with weights and cycling.

This week’s newsletter from bodybuilding.com presented me with a challenge.  I opened it just as I was about to write down my workout plan for the week, so I figured I would take the guesswork out of it and accept their challenge for this week.  I’m pretty sure the subject line was “We Dare You…”.  And who am I to turn down a dare?  So if you’re up to it, why don’t you join me and follow this workout plan for the week?   Here it is:

 

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 8.39.11 PM

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 8.28.31 PM

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 8.31.46 PM

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 8.33.36 PM

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 8.35.32 PM

Screen Shot 2013-09-22 at 8.36.41 PMUgh!  I despise leg day!  Here’s me:

eced57c8bd53d5c8ca79085c81288bea

*I’m teaching 2 classes this week, so I’ll be skipping the cardio day, but I plan on doing all of the other workouts.

Tomorrow’s playlist features an interval profile.  I first saw this profile on Pedal-on.com.  I switched up the playlist, but the intervals and times remain the same.  Rather than writing it out for you, I took pictures of my notes for you:

Warm up:  7-9 minutes

Phase 1:

photo 4

Phase 2

photo 3

Phase 3

photo 2

Phase 4

photo 1

Cool Down

Here’s the playlist in Spotify:

And here is the Deezer link:

http://www.deezer.com/playlist/571760867

Have a great week! 🙂

 

 

10 Responses to “We Won’t Give Up Cycling Mix (Intervals)”

  1. spinningoma September 23, 2013 at 2:53 am #

    Could you post the playlist. I don’t subscribe to either Spotify or Deezer. Thanks!

    • chrispins September 23, 2013 at 8:57 am #

      Hi! Are you unable to view the Spotify player? You should be able to view the songs (not play them) even without a Spotify subscription. If you are not able to view them, let me know and I would be happy to send you a screen shot. Also, Spotify has a free subscription option that would allow you to view AND listen. 🙂

  2. Vicki Benz September 23, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    Hi Chris, I don’t know what I would do without your help. I used to spend 6 hours on my playlists. If you ever go away, I might have to quit teaching. Thank you for being so passionate and right on with the music.

    Sent from my iPhone Vicki

    • chrispins September 24, 2013 at 1:07 am #

      Thanks Vicki! Glad I can help!

  3. bettywueox September 26, 2013 at 8:50 am #

    Hello~My name is Yoshie, I teach spinning at Taiwan.
    I really like your site, it give me a lot of idea.

    for you new post i am not sure about the Phrase 4 that you post on the picture.
    can you explain more on detail?
    thank you so much!

    • chrispins September 26, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      Hi Yoshie,
      Please see my comment in answer to the last question regarding phase 4. Hopefully that will answer your question! 🙂

  4. The Anger Doctor September 26, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    Thanks Chris, I live in South Africa and I use your site a lot. You are very helpful!
    Just a question on Phase 4 where you encourage gear shifts after each phase, can you explain that a little more please. Im not sure if you mean after each interval or at each change in movement

    • chrispins September 26, 2013 at 11:20 am #

      Hi! Sure, so the first time through the sequence you are doing :!5 with each movement, starting with a :15 Seated climb. Add gear before moving on to the next :15 seated climb. Add again before your :15 standing climb, then once more before the :15 standing breakaway. Then come back to the saddle, take the gear back to the beginning and do it all again for :30 each movement. I hope that makes sense!

  5. Shari October 23, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

    Hi Chris – This is a really tactical question. I notice that you post pictures of your workouts a lot. I’ve gotten feedback from my classes that they love knowing where we are “going”. How do you show these to your class, or if you don’t how do you see them? (Are the lights on in your class?) Do you have them on a device?

    • chrispins October 24, 2014 at 10:33 am #

      Hi Shari-Sometimes I do teach with the lights out. We do have lights from the hallway so it’s not completely dark, and we also have rope lights. I use a book light-another instructor uses a clip light-on my handlebars to see my personal notes. I would guess if you used a program like Class Builder, it would be lit up on your device. I would love to use class builder, but while it’s compatible with Spotify, it won’t work in Offline mode. Sometimes I make a large chart that I hang up for the class to see, but not always. I always let them know verbally as well in my intro. But you are right, they do appreciate the visuals. Even the visuals can be hard to see (even when it’s not dark…), so I usually go over it before class and that’s enough for most people. I hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

