I Survived!!! Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer Review

4 Sep

I recently completed week 12 of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit trainer!!!!!!

images

Check out my past updates here:

Weeks 1 & 2

Week 3

Week 4

Week 5

Week 6

Week 7

Week 8

Week 9 

Week 10

Week 11

Now that I’ve completed the 12 weeks,  I thought I’d give you my review of the entire program.  First of all, I feel like it’s important to tell you that I made a few modifications to the program along the way:

  • I did NOT follow the diet/supplement portion of the program.
  • I did NOT always complete the weekly exercises in the order in which she gives them.  I’m not sure if this has any effect on the overall outcome or not, but my reason for doing this was because I needed to modify some of the workouts to do at home on certain days and I had to choose the ones that I had the equipment for on my ‘home’ days.  Also, I sometimes needed to mix it up due to my  teaching schedule.  I tried not to do leg days on spin days.
  • In the first phase, Jamie asks that you do not do ANY cardio.  I obviously had to because I was teaching 2-4 spin classes/week.
  • I did not do the ‘Sprints’ at all in weeks 9 and 10. For me, it was just too much in addition to my teaching schedule.
  • I didn’t do a lot of the ‘calves’ exercises.  I usually substituted inner or outer thigh exercsies for the calves.  The reason is because I already have muscular calves and I really didn’t want them to get any bigger.

So while my results may not be as stellar as someone that followed the program exactly as it was written, I’m still very pleased with my results and I’m proud that I stuck with it for 12 weeks.

a950953ec4603c2d00f7c5df169f74bc

True story.

I guess that I should start by telling you why I decided to do the program:

  • I had some time on my hands.  I knew that something like this was going to take some time, especially alongside teaching spin, so since I was off for a few months on summer vacation I figured it was a great time to do it.
  • I had taken some time off of strength training due to a rotator cuff injury and was feeling a little, umm…fluffy…. so I knew that I needed to get some strength training back in my life.
  • I was tired of aimlessly wandering around the weight room with no rhyme or reason and I wanted a organized program that would take me through the steps and show me exactly what I needed to do.
  • I wanted to gain muscle and feel stronger.

Here are my thoughts about the phases of the LiveFit program:

phase1-nav-1

Phase One:  Phase one is the muscle building phase.  The workouts didn’t really take that long to complete. Probably 40 minutes in the gym at the most.  I was sore a good deal of the time (in a good way).  This phase is where I really learned how to use the machines at the gym and get comfortable with the exercises.  I would watch the videos before each workout and then write them out in the notes section of my phone so that I knew exactly what to do when I got to the gym.  I definitely started to see results after the first phase.

phase1-nav-2

Phase Two:  Phase Two introduced moderate cardio, and the workouts took a bit longer to complete.  The addition of supersets made the workouts a little more interesting.  I was very comfortable using the machines and doing the exercises at this point.  I was using my spin classes as my cardio and if I needed to add any cardio to meet the requirements, I was usually doing the elliptical or treadmill.  This is the phase that everyone says you start to feel ‘bulky’.  I would have to agree here.  The muscles were there, but for the first few weeks of the phase, I just kind of felt ‘big’.  It started to even out though so I’m glad I didn’t let it discourage me.

phase1-nav-3

Phase Three:  This phase was tough AND it takes A LOT of time.  Like I mentioned above, I had to cut out the sprints.  I did this both for time sake and because my body was telling me it was just too much.  The weight, plyo, superset, active rest combinations were really tough and adding sprints to that was just a killer.  I just couldn’t keep it up AND do my 3 classes/wk.  So I stuck with the weight workouts, which I really liked.  Even though these workouts were taking just over an hour, they really seemed to go by quickly, because you are constantly moving from one thing to the next.  I became a boss at jump roping and I will definitely continue to incorporate jump roping into my workouts.  I have a love/hate relationship with burpees:

de66b164c0a34f81c011860c7bf5411b

The HIIT was awesome and I definitely plan to incorporate more of this type of workout into my plan now.

There was very little that I didn’t like about the program.  I did find that I enjoyed some exercises more than others.  I really liked working upper body and back.  Leg days are necessary, but really were a struggle for me sometimes.  The one exercise that I despised was this one:

111_2

I don’t know why, but it was always a killer!

As far as results go, like I said earlier, I’m really pleased with the strength that I’ve gained over the past twelve weeks.   I didn’t take measurements.  I didn’t even take that many pictures along the way.  I did post some progress photos in this post after finishing phase 2.

I can tell you that I am VERY pleased with the results I got from the program.  I am much more toned overall.  I feel really strong.  I would guess I lost a few pounds (maybe 3-5??).  My clothes fit a little looser.  In addition to that, I gained so much from doing this program.  I am stronger, I am no longer afraid of going into the ‘back room’ at the gym.  I have a purpose now and I can go in on any day with a workout plan that will benefit my needs.  My shoulder is not completely healed, but by stenghening the surrounding muscle, it is much better than it was when I began the program.

I would definitely recommend this program to anyone, especially someone that is hesitant about weight training or using the weight room at their gym. You will not be sorry that you did it.  Stick with it and you will see results.

I would defintely use the program again.  In fact, I think that I will do the program again next summer and I have considered going through the phases again, just maybe not as a 12 week program.

Where do I go from here?  This is a something that has been in the back of my mind the entire time.  I so enjoyed having the routine of this program laid out for me that I was worried I wouldn’t know what to do when the program was finished.  Thankfully, there are some really great (free) workouts posted on Bodybuiiding.com, so my plan is to continue using that as a resource on my weight days.

If you decide to give the program a try, I would love to hear about your progress!

10 Responses to “I Survived!!! Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer Review”

  1. Darcy September 4, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    Awesome! Your photos show the changes (nice work)…but what really stands out to me in your review is how STRONG you feel 🙂 Woo-hoo!!

    • chrispins September 4, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

      Thanks Darcy! Like they say, ‘Strong is the new skinny’!

  2. aleshahaley September 10, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

    YAY! awesome job!! I am on week 5 and LOVING it so far! LOVED reading your review, great job!!

    • chrispins September 11, 2013 at 1:30 am #

      Thanks! You’re almost halfway there! Would love to hear your thoughts when you finish! 🙂

  3. lindsaychatter January 5, 2014 at 7:51 am #

    Oh my goodness, great job! I’m starting this program tomorrow and I’m TERRIFIED! I’ve spent the past few hours reading what other people have said who have tried the program and so far, they’re all positives. Everyone is so glad they did it, but that doesn’t make me any less terrified.
    Anyway, thanks for the post and keep up the great work! It’s very inspiring!

    • chrispins January 5, 2014 at 4:11 pm #

      Good luck with the program! No need to be terrified, I’m sure you’ll do great. 🙂 I would love to hear about your progress!

  4. Damo_WA March 6, 2014 at 2:55 am #

    YES!… that one legged squat! if there is one exercise I could cut out of the workouts – it would definitely be that one! I hate it too! haha Glad I’m not the only one.

  5. Esther April 24, 2014 at 8:31 am #

    Hi Chrispins, just stumbled upon your blog, I just finished the livefit trainer a few weeks ago. It feels so great now that I’m finished, it’s made me fall in love with the gym all over again. I have to admit I have a love/hate relationship with the one-legged squat!!

    • chrispins April 24, 2014 at 9:53 am #

      Ugh! That one-legged squat is a killer, but it does the trick! Congrats on finishing the trainer! I think I may just follow it again this summer. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2014: My Year In Review and Top Songs | Chrispins - January 1, 2015

    […] 1. I Survived Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer […]

Leave a Reply

