Hit The Cray Button Cycling Mix

23 Aug

On Wednesday, I gave you a sneak peak at my newest playlist.  Here is the finished product:

I like to first include a screen shot in case Spotify (or Deezer) leave off any songs, which sometimes happens.  So if you’re planning on using the playlist, check the screenshot and add or replace any songs that are missing. 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-08-23 at 8.22.06 AM

I still have not figured out how to embed the Deezer player, but here is the link. I’m hoping it works for you.  Deezer is not yet available in the US, so this link should only work if it is available in your country:

http://www.deezer.com/playlist/536552413

Well, it’s time for my LiveFit Trainer Week 10 update.  Unfortunately,  I made it through 5 out of the six workouts in Week 10 and I threw my back out.  :(.  I was at the gym when it happened, but I wasn’t even actually performing one of the exercises.  If you’ve ever thrown out your back, you know that any small movement can trigger it.  I was just sitting down on the bench to do cable pulls when *BAM*!!!  **OUCH!!*.  I didn’t do the cable pulls, but I was able to complete the rest of the workout after a little stretch.  Once I got home though, it really started to hurt.

So until my back is better, I’m taking some time off of the LiveFit Trainer.  As for teaching class, we’ll see how that goes.  I’ve never taught a class off the bike, but I’m prepared for that if I need to.

Hope you have a fantastic weekend!

11 Responses to “Hit The Cray Button Cycling Mix”

  1. Jessica @ Fit Talker August 23, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    Hope you’re on the mend and back to normal soon!
    I’ve had to teach off the bike a few times and it definitely presents unique own challenges. Not to mention you don’t realize how cool a room gets when you’re not sweating. 🙂

    • Jessica @ Fit Talker August 23, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      Clearly my grammar is miserable today. My apologies, but hopefully you get the idea.

    • chrispins August 23, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

      Thanks Jessica! Once I actually got up and moving today my back is better. I’m thinking I’ll be able to ride tonight and probably back to the weights beginning of next week. Earlier in the week I got my new bifocal lenses and then I throw my back out. Just reminders that I’m not as young as I used to be I guess!

      • Jessica @ Fit Talker August 23, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

        Age is nothing more than a number and a state of mind. 🙂

  2. Janira August 23, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    I hope you feel better soon. Back issues are not fun at all. I recently broke my ankle boxing & taught 3 classes a week for a few weeks off the bike. To be honest it was the best experience for me. It helps you focus on your coaching & motivational skills. I was able to make personal connections, corrections & bike adjustments. My classes where praying for me to get back on the bike they said it was even tougher when I was off!! Best of luck to you. Love your posts & playlist thanks for taking the time to share them.

    • chrispins August 23, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

      Thank you Janira! I have actually always thought that teaching an entire class off the bike would be hard. I’m feeling like I’ll be able to ride a bit tonight, but looking forward to the adventure of teaching off the bike if needed. 🙂 Thanks for commenting.

      • Sara August 24, 2013 at 1:36 am #

        I completely agree Janira! My classes said the same when I taught off due to a hip injury! I’m actually glad I learned how to do it because I’m having surgery and now I’ll be prepared to go back before I can ride! Glad you’re better Chris!

      • chrispins August 24, 2013 at 11:29 am #

        Hi Sara! My back still hurts a little and I’m definitely not going to go back to the weights for a few days, but I was fine on the bike yesterday. I didn’t even notice the back pain at all! It’s has made me think more about teaching some off the bike though so I definitely want to make it a goal to start, even if its just a little bit here and there.
        Hope your surgery goes well. Take care!

  3. Lisa August 24, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Oy, my back is aching this week too. It must be contagious. Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Between a massage, chiro visit, foam roller, yoga tune up balls, and hot baths, I’m starting to take the edge off too.

    Love this playlist Chris. Any chance you have the profile notes handy? Thanks, as always, for your generous sharing!

    • chrispins August 24, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

      Hi Lisa!

      Sorry your back is aching as well. I watched part of a yoga video you pinned over on Pinterest (something about relieving lower back pain with yoga balls-which I never even knew existed.) Anyway, I’m sitting next to my 12 year old son watching the video and he can hear the whole thing. Finally he turns to me and says, “What are you watching, because all I can hear is balls and buttocks!” Oh that kid kills me! And my favorite line that she says in the video: “If this feels pinching or searing, you probably want to stay away from this move right now”. Really? Because I thought I’d continue since I love pinching, searing pain so much. Anyway, I hope whatever you are doing is helping. I’m in love with my heating pad right now.

      I really liked this playlist too. Here are the notes:
      Watching You Watch Him: Warm up
      Human: Continue warm up seated—>standing flat
      Young Volcanoes (watch for the A-word): Alternate seated standing climb
      Sin Wagon: seated accelerations @ :39 (20), 1:30 (25) and 2:38-steady acceleration for :60
      Stand Up: standing climb
      Boom Boom: seated flat
      E-Radio Edit: standing flat
      Royals (LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!) Standing climb
      Race Through the Hills: seated flat
      50 Ways: :00-3:00 Seated climb; 3:00-4:03 seated fast flat
      Dead On Arrival: Seated accelerations :39 (20); 1:45 (20); 2:42 (30)
      Sometime Around Midnight: (another one I’m really loving lately) :00-1:30 Seated flat; 1:30-3:00 Standing climb; 3:09-4:15 Seated climb; 4:15-5:04 Standing climb
      Cray Button: riders choice-most of mine did this one as a standing flat
      Key to Success: recover
      Tabata: seated accelerations 8×20 seconds, 10 second recoveries
      Girl on Fire: cool down
      I’ll Be : stretch

  4. Lisa August 29, 2013 at 12:45 am #

    Thanks Chris! Those Yoga Tune Up Balls are awesome, but yes, the awkward jokes abound when I teach with them… They really get into tight muscles and it feels great, but often people start groaning. And when you have a class of people rolling on balls and groaning, well … it’s hard to be mature sometimes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

