Riding Through The Decades

20 Aug

My class had a ton of fun with this playlist today!  We started in the 60’s and went straight through to my favorites of 2013!  Here’s the playlist:

As you can see, I used some remakes for the first few songs:

Tainted Love (1964)  original by Gloria Jones:  Warm up

Suspicious Minds (1969) original by The King:  Continue warm up and alternate seated/standing

The Devil Went Down to Georgia (19 79)  I used a clean version of this one which I had in my local files.   seated accelerations @ 1:32(30), 2:30 (20) and 3:20 (20)

You Sexy Thing (1975) Alternate seated/standing climb

Another One Bites The Dust (1980) Seated climb (Trivia: This is Queen’s best selling song of all time and it is also # 32 on Billboards top 100 songs of all time).

Should I Stay or Should I Go (!981) We’re going punk rock here with some standing accelerations @ 1:08 and 2:22.

Livin’ La Vida Loca (1999) more seated accelerations at :51 (30), 1:53 (25) and 3:06 (25).

Bittersweet Symphony (1997) Love this song for a standing climb!

Viva La Vida (2008) seated flat

Two of my favorites from 2012:

Back In Time: Standing Flat

I Will Wait: Seated accelerations @ :49 (40), 1:59 (30) and then pick the pace up for the last leg from 3:17-4:30

My favorite song of this summer:

Blurred Lines: riders choice

Speaking of Blurred Lines, have you seen this video yet?  So funny!  Even funnier is that fact that my co-teacher and I found a box of instruments just like these (well except for the banana shaker) in her classroom when we were weeding things out over the summer.  She’s kind of a hoarder and I often have to tell her just to throw things away, which is what I suggested she do with the instruments.  Or at the very least, give them to  the music teacher.  As soon as I saw this  video I called her and told her not to throw them out just yet.  Can you just see us teaching the kids this one?  I’m not sure the parents would appreciate it….

 

I love to end with seated accelerations.  This is my favorite song of 2013 for it:

My Songs Know What You Did in The Dark: seated accelerations on the chorus.  :44 (30); 1:41 (30), 2:33 (30)

When I Was Your Man  (2013) cool down

People Get Ready (Original-1965 by the Impressions) Stretch

I hope your class loves it as much as mine did!

 

6 Responses to “Riding Through The Decades”

  1. spinningoma August 20, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    I have also used a Riding Through The Decades profile. Here is my playlist:

    1. Back in Time – Pitbull (“To understand the future you have to go back in time.”)
    2. Let’s Spend The Night Together – Rolling Stones (60s)
    3. Stayin’ Alive – Bee Gees (70s)
    4. Come On Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners (80s)
    5. Let’s Go Crazy – Prince (80s)
    6. I Think We’re Alone Now – Tiffany (80s)
    7. All Star – Smash Mouth (90s)
    8. Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now…) (90s)
    9. Livin’ la Vida Loca – Ricky Martin (90s)
    10. I Gotta Feeling – Black Eyed Peas (2K)
    11. Kernkraft 400 (Sport Chant Stadium Remix) (2K)
    12. Just The Way You Are – Bruno Mars (2K)

    Extra calories burned by those who correctly guess the decade!

    • chrispins August 20, 2013 at 2:02 am #

      Nice! I did a little trivia as well mixed in with my playlist. For some songs I had them guess the exact year (not too hard, since I did my decades in order and they already knew the decade, just not the exact year) and for others I gave them information about an upcoming song and had them try to guess it. It also ended up being a free for all with everyone telling if a song came out on their birth year or marriage year. It was cute! Love your playlist too! I like how you used Back in Time for the warm up. Someone else (can’t remember who now) made a similar playlist and used ‘Reelin’ in the Years’ for a warm up.

  2. stevespinlist August 21, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    Yes…many good Fallout Boy tracks on the latest release, including Light ’em Up!
    Thanks for the post.

    • chrispins August 21, 2013 at 5:31 pm #

      I agree about Fallout Boy. I’m loving ‘Young Volcanoes’ right now!

      • Melissa halliday August 21, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

        Hi Chris. Today I used your playlist and script for high intensity intervals. I got this from my membership in ICI It came from Deezer as we can’t get Spotify in Canada
        Could you add the Deezer links on your website as well please????

        Love your music!!

      • chrispins August 21, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

        I hope you liked the profile! Unfortunately, because the playlists and corresponding profile/podcast are members only content on ICI/PRO, I have not posted them on my personal Spotify account or here on the blog. They are only available through the member link on ICI/PRO.

        Also not sure if you are aware that Deezer has not yet been made available in the US. John from ICI/PRO has some secret connections so he is able to use it here in the US, but we little people cannot yet. :(. Hopefully Deezer will be available here in the us soon!

Leave a Reply

