A Playlist, The Best Spotify Tip Ever and LiveFit Trainer Week 9 Review

16 Aug

Today’s playlist includes a few new songs that I’m really liking right now. Roar by Katy Perry makes for a great climb.  I swear the first few notes sound like Sara Barielles’ Brave, don’t they?  I also really like John Mayer’s new song Wildfire.  I’ve used it here for a cool down, but it might make a good warm up as well.

Are you ready for the best Spotify Tip EVER?  Since I got my new laptop a few months ago, I now have Spotify on 3 devices (my Mac, my iPhone and my Macbook Air).  This started to cause some issues with songs syncing.  I am telling you that this trick works 100 percent of the time* if you are having trouble like I was:  SIgn off of Spotify on all of your computers/devices and then sign on again.  Like magic.  You’re welcome.   (*100 percent of the time for me.  I don’t take responsibility if it doesn’t work for you, but it’s worth trying isn’t it?)

Unknown

So week nine of LiveFit Trainer is now done.  Sort of.  I say sort of because I didn’t completely follow the program guidelines this week. Don’t get me wrong here, I definitely worked my ASS off this week.  In fact even with the modifications I made to the program (keep reading to find out what they were), I would say that this was the hardest week of the program so far.    Here’s what the workouts for week 9 look like.   (FYI:I switch the days around and don’t always do them in order.)

Screen Shot 2013-08-16 at 9.12.23 AM

See how there are four days of sprints?  Well, I did the sprints the very first day.  You can check out how much fun I had with that here.

I had planned on doing sprints along with the next days workout, but when I woke up I was so sore and tired that I decided to just do the first part of the workout and skip sprints.  DId I mention that there is an entire, almost one hour, thirty minute workout before you even begin the sprints?  So I got up and did the first part of the workout for my second day which included four sets of jump ropes.  Holy crap!  They were pretty hard, but I got through them.  (That’s four sets/three in each set.  So 12 rounds of jumping rope for one minute.  Not as easy as it sounds!)

th-1

After I finished the workout, I knew I was not going to do sprints that day, so I started making deals with myself.  I would do the next three sprint sets on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  Then I remembered that I was teaching 3 spin classes this week, so I thought I would just find a day to do one more set of sprints.  When I woke up the third day, I decided that I would just cut the sprints out all together. My reasoning was that the daily workouts were long and hard enough AND with the classes I was teaching, I was definitely still going pretty hard. As much as I would have loved to continue the program AS IS, I just did not have the time or the energy to do it. My body was telling me no and it was taking up a LOT of time.

Who knows, I may bring back a sprint or two next week.  We’ll see. My other option is to find a 30 minute interval workout that I could easily do at home in place of the sprints.  If you happen to know of one, feel free to share.

Other than the sprints, I really LOVED the workouts this week!  It was so much fun going right from one thing to the next. It really made being at the gym so much more fun!

So, do I feel like I failed because I cut out the sprints?  Not at all.  I actually feel proud that I’ve made it as far as I have.  If I stopped the program right now, I would still feel like I accomplished something great!   I continue to recommend this program and encourage people to try it.  Just plan on the final phase taking around 90-120 minutes to complete, six days a week.  For me, on top of teaching 3 classes, it’s just too much.

th

Week 10 is another carbon copy of week 9, so next week I’ll be back with a short post on my progress!

Leave a Reply

