Confession Time & An Updated Profile!

7 Aug

Ok, I have a confession to make.  I like to think that I’m a fairly intelligent person.  I have a Masters Degree in Education and parents have trusted me to teach their children for 20 years.  Sometimes though, I do things that are just not really smart.  Here’s a prime example:

For a long time, I have wanted a laptop so that I could be a bit more mobile when completing my school work, writing blog posts and creating playlists.  My husband really thought this was an unnecessary expense, but I finally talked him into it.  Being a ‘Mac’ family, we went to the nearest Apple store and I decided on the MacBook Air.  So far, I love everything about it and my husband finally agrees that it was something I needed and would use.

photo

One of the first things I did when I got it home was to make sure I had Spotify up and running on the MacBook.  No problem.  I knew that some other instructors had some trouble when either upgrading or adding a new computer or device with Spotify so I was relieved that I had no problems.  Then I checked my iPhone and found that many of the songs in my playlist had not synced.  I was sure that it had something to do with the amount of memory on my phone, so I just went ahead and started deleting things.  Can you see where this is going?  I deleted a few apps that I really never used and some old photos and emails.  Still, most of my playlist would not sync. Here’s an example of what it looked like: (This isn’t my actual playlist, but see how the Zeppelin song in the picture not dark like the rest and doesn’t have the green arrow next to it?  That’s what most of my playlist looked like!)

original

i finally decided that I would delete some of my Spotify playlists from my phone so that I would have more space.  In retrospect, I realize that the only playlists taking up space are the ones that are tagged for off-line play, but I was so convinced this was the right thing to do that I kept on deleting, never realizing that deleting them on my phone was actually deleting them from my profile. It was kind of like how I get when I start cleaning out closets.  It just feels SO GOOD to throw things away!  But later,  when I logged back on to my Spotify profile on my laptop and Mac computer, they were long gone.

Surprisingly, I was not panicked.  I went back to my blog and was able to bring a few of my more recent playlists back. (If I really wanted to, I could go through the blog and get ALL of them back, but that would take FOREVER!) The playlists that I really miss are the ‘folders’ that I keep my music filed into.  Yep, those were all deleted too.  I did panic a bit about this, but not much.  I’ve already built those playlists  back up pretty well, and because I’m always on the search for new music I didn’t mind if I lost some of the old stuff.  If I liked it enough, I could certainly add it in again later.

So,  if you go to my Spotify profile, you may not see the number of playlists you’ve seen there in the past, and now you know why.  I’m not proud of my mistake, but I’m dealing with the ramifications.

I can’t even remember now how I ever did fix the problem of the plalyists not syncing, but I haven’t had a problem with it since then. 🙂

Confession (and a tip!) #2:

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that you can share playlists with Spotify.  I’m all about grabbing another instructor’s playlist and using it as is in my class in a pinch, or just because I love it.  I know that many instructors do this and I think it’s probably the greatest thing about Spotify.

However, I am completely guilty of sometimes changing my playlists up.  For example, I kind of have a rule about when I sub for other instructors.  When I sub, I don’t have time to create brand new playlists, so I always go back and use an old playlist.  Sometimes when I do that, I may change out a song or add or delete songs within the playlist.

I try my best to put it back into it’s original state when I’m finished, but the truth is, that doesn’t always happen.  So if you follow my (or any other instructor’s playlist) in Spotify and you are planning on using it as is in your class, it’s always a good idea to re-create the playlist in your own profile, so that if someone changes their playlist, it won’t affect you.

Just a little tip for you since I’m definitely guilty of this.  🙂

One more thing.  Speaking of subbing, I subbed this morning for another instructor and I used a playlist that I posted here last week.  I used it in one of last week’s classes as well and the folks went crazy for it! I’m pretty sure I’ve never gotten so many compliments on a single playlist, so if you’re up for it, you should definitely give it a shot.  (Just remember to re-create it in case it changes later.  Ha ha! ) Here it is again, updated with teaching notes:

Better With You: warm up

Turn Up The Night: continue warm up, bringing it up to a standing flat

Bonfire Heart: Seated climb—>standing climb

Tush: seated flat

Chasing Cars:  Standing climb

Zorba’s Dance:  This one was so much fun!  Start out at a nice, steady flat road pace (80 RPMS).  At 1:05, the pace starts to pick up so bring it up to about 90RPMS and maintain it for the next minute or so.  At 2:18, there is a slight pause in the music and then it really picks up!  Sprint to the finish!  It’s only about 15 seconds.

Sunchyme:  alternate seated/standing climb

Unstoppable: Seated climb

Levitate:  Seated flat with two big accelerations at 1:20 (30 seconds), and 3:23 (30 seconds)

Some Time Around Midnight:  00-1:30 Seated climb, 1:30-3:09 Standing climb, 3:10-4:15 Seated climb, 4:15-5:04 Standing climb

In a World Like This: Standing climb with Jumps on the chorus (:39-8 count jumps, 1:45-4 count jumps and 3:02 8-4 count jumps)

Show me 10: Riders choice-seated flat, standing flat or alternating

Angel: recovery

Tabata: 8/20 second seated accelerations with 10 second recoveries

Ain’t No Sunshine:  Cool down

This Moment Now: Stretch

**Catch you soon with my LIVEFIT Trainer Phase Two review and a new playlist!

18 Responses to “Confession Time & An Updated Profile!”

  1. Robert Rodriguez August 7, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

    On Spoify what is your playlist listed under?

    • chrispins August 7, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

      Robert, If you click on a song in the playlist that I posted, it should begin playing right on that page if you have Spotify open on your computer. While it’s playing, click on Spotify and it should bring you right to the playlist. OR, here is a link to my Spotify profile. The playlist is called, ‘Better With You Cycling Mix”: http://open.spotify.com/user/chrispins

  2. Jessica @ Fit Talker August 7, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

    hi stranger!
    i borrowed a couple of songs from this playlist for my saturday class 🙂
    because my playlists are all offline (no wifi at the gym) i find that song won’t sync if they’re in my library (as opposed to spotify songs).
    i’m guessing this probably isn’t your issue because you stream, but figured it couldn’t hurt to mention it. 🙂

    • chrispins August 7, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

      Jessica! I miss your mad blogging skills! Where have you been all summer? Hope all is well with you! Would love to see your completed playlist. I actually do not use wifi to stream my playlists. I take them offline. I always find that just closing out and restarting the Spotify app or program does the trick-even with local songs. Take care! Chris

      • Jessica @ Fit Talker August 8, 2013 at 1:45 am #

        I wish I knew where the summer went!
        I started a new job in July and it’s been craaaazy. Hopefully once things slow down I can attempt to return to blogging.
        Enjoy what is left of your summer before school starts up again!

  3. thedancingrunner August 7, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    I need to get on Spotify!

    I can’t remember if it was you or maybe another one of the fellow instructors I follow but I definitely stole that ‘Turn the night up’ song for my list! So if that was you, thanks! 😉

    • chrispins August 7, 2013 at 7:26 pm #

      Please jump on the Spotify bandwagon! It is amazing! Turn the Night Up is a great one. It will definitely be on the rotation for a while! 🙂

      • thedancingrunner August 7, 2013 at 7:27 pm #

        I will! Steve has been telling me to do the same thing 😉 I’m definitely looking into it!

      • chrispins August 7, 2013 at 7:31 pm #

        Awesome! You just have to jump right in. Even if it seems overwhelming at first, I promise you will love it. It makes it so much easier for me to prepare my classes! 🙂

  4. gr8tfulm August 7, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    Oh Chris- this I think has happened to all of us, who are on Spotify 🙂 I have never had a problem updating either but I didn’t realize when you delete on your phone it also deletes from your Spotify playlist! Thanks for that info 🙂 I almost make another’s playlist that I like on Spotify my own. I’m always changing 1,2 even 3 songs out. I try if it still resembles that instructors pl give credit in the title. Example I used Debbie’s, fun fun ride, renames it and changed out 4-5 songs. I used it today, class loved it. I called it ‘its going to be a good day’ I’m going to try this playlist WITHOUT changing it & see how class likes it tonight or tomorrow! Thanks for the tips!

    Live Love Laugh Marianne

    • Chris August 8, 2013 at 12:07 am #

      Thanks for commenting Marianne! I think a lot of people do just what you do and change out a few songs here and there to make it their own. I love so much that we are able to share music this way!

  5. Sara August 7, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    I wondered what happened?! I’ve taken a few playlists and copied them, only because my classes can’t handle some of the language in a few of your songs but I always felt bad about doing it! I’m excited to use this new one tonight! Thank you!

    • chrispins August 7, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      You’re welcome! Let me know how it goes!

      • Sara August 8, 2013 at 1:45 am #

        I loved it! During Zorbas dance, the wondered what in the world I was playing, then when it was over I got “that was fun!”…. I told them to trust me, I know what I’m doing!

      • chrispins August 8, 2013 at 10:39 am #

        YAy! So glad you and your class liked it. I got the same reaction at the end to Zorba’s Dance. So much fun!

  6. steve:spin:list August 8, 2013 at 12:14 am #

    Hey Chris…I can relate to your confessions today! Regardless of a few steps back…Spotify has been a great leap forward when it comes to building some diverse / unique playlists. I’ll be using your mix from this post soon! Thanks for sharing.

    • chris August 8, 2013 at 12:58 am #

      You’re welcome! I hope you enjoy using the playlist. I agree, even with the little hiccups, Spotify is just so worth it. I have access to so many great tunes that I normally wouldn’t purchase and it’s just so convenient. Well worth the money for me! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This week’s Favorites and A New Playlist | Chrispins - March 1, 2014

    […] And here is Friday’s playlist. […]

Leave a Reply

