Kill The Lights Cycling Mix (& LiveFit Week 6 Review)

26 Jul

So today I finished week 6 of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer!  It’s hard to believe that I’m  half-way through the program already! Here are the workouts that I did this week:

Screen Shot 2013-07-26 at 1.34.35 PM

One big thing I noticed this week is that I was not nearly as sore as I was during week 5.  I attribute that to the fact that most of the exercises for week 6 were the same as in week 5.

As you can see, I  needed to incorporate 4-30 minute sessions of ‘moderate intensity’ cardio.  Since I  only taught two classes this week,  I needed to fit in two more 30 minute workouts. This meant that I needed to choose which mind numbingly boring cardio machine to spend 30 minutes on. I ended up choosing the elliptical trainer. I’m not kidding when I tell you that 30 minutes felt like an eternity.  At least I had my iPod with me so I could listen to my next Spin® playlist while I did my thing.  I actually tried my best to keep it moderate, which wasn’t easy for me.  Maybe if I could ride the elliptical  and blog at the same time it would make the time go faster:

Elliptical-Machine-Office-Desk

 

Either way, that’s one hour of my life that I will never get back.

Because I went away last weekend, I put last week’s AND this week’s rest days together on Friday and Saturday so that I could have the weekend workout free.  It was nice to have those two days, but it’s going to be a while before my next rest day.  It’s not too bad though, because some days are easier than others-at least for me.  For example, today I did back and it was only took about 35 minutes.

I’m looking forward to a little change in routine for next week.  (I just noticed that the workouts change every two weeks…) Next week only calls for 3-30 minute cardio sessions.  I actually picked up another class for the remainder of the summer so I will be teaching four classes next week. Even though my classes are more than 30 minutes and are definitely NOT what  I would call moderate, they are going to have to count for my cardio next week, since I’m sure I won’t have any extra time.  It will be tough to fit in my strength training, but I don’t want to get set back, so I will have to suck it up and just do it!

I will see you next week with my week 7 update!

In the meantime, check out my newest playlist:

Screen Shot 2013-07-26 at 1.39.40 PM

 

I’m calling this one ‘The Power of Fives’ profile.  It’s adapted from a profile by Bill P. at PedalOn which I believe he called ‘Building Blocks of Strenth’.   It consists of nine blocks-four on the bottom level, three in the middle and two on top.  Each block is 5 minutes of work.  Here’s what we will do for each row:

Bottom row (four-5 minute blocks): 1.  seated climb  2.  standing climb  3.  alternate seated/standing climb  4.  riders choice

Middle row (three-5 minute blocks):  1. seated climb  2.  standing climb  3.  alternate seated/standing climb

Top row (two-5 minute blocks):  1.  seated climb  2.  standing climb

After we finish with the blocks, we’ll take a short recovery and then finish it off with some Tabata!

*You can cue this however you’d like, but Bill gives some great suggestions on his PedalOn post.

I haven’t come up with my visual yet, but I’m thinking I will need to whip one up or my peeps will get cranky!

Have a geat weekend!

2 Responses to “Kill The Lights Cycling Mix (& LiveFit Week 6 Review)”

  1. Ryan Archdeacon July 29, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

    I’m loving this playlist! Thanks

Leave a Reply

