Let it Go Cycling Mix/Pyramid Profile

12 Jul

Tonight’s profile is a pretty simple and popular one.  We’re going to climb to the top of the pyramid, and then back down.

My folks really appreciate it when I give them a visual, so here is what I came up with to help them visualize the ride:

photo

After a proper warmup, you will go through each “block” two times before going to the next.  For example, the first block looks like this:

  1. 15 seconds: seated flat
  2. 15 seconds: fast flat
  3. 15 seconds: seated climb
  4. 15 seconds: jumps on a hill (4 ct.)
  5. 15 seconds: standing climb

Then go through the sequence again:

  1. 30 seconds: seated flat
  2. 30 seconds: fast flat
  3. 30 seconds: seated climb
  4. 30 seconds: jumps on a hill (4 ct.)
  5. 30 seconds: standing climb

As you climb the pyramid, the times increase and as you descend, the times decrease.

As far as recovery goes, feel free to take them during your seated/standing flats.

  • SEF=Seated flat
  • FF=Fast flat
  • SEC=Seated climb
  • JOH=Jumps on a hill
  • STF=Standing flat
  • ST ATTACK=Standing attack (Add resistance, pick up the pace!)
  • NOTE: The sprints on the last two blocks are seated.  The first two (1:00 and :45- and even the next block’s :30 are more “accelerations” than true sprints.

Here is the playlist that goes with the profile:

Image

I hope you will have as much fun with this one as I will!  I know my explanation was brief, so message me if you have questions about the profile.  🙂

Have a fantastic weekend!

12 Responses to “Let it Go Cycling Mix/Pyramid Profile”

  1. thedancingrunner July 12, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    Love this! I think it’s good that you help them visualize the ride…keeps them engaged.

    • chrispins July 12, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

      Thanks! It’s another modified Pedal-on.com profile that I found. The visual does seem to keep them engaged. They like to know what’s coming next! 🙂

  2. Sara July 14, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    Thank you as always! I try to let my students know what to expect, I think I would want to know the workout I’m about to do before I do it! Keeps their heads in the game!

    • Chris July 14, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

      You are welcome Sara! I do usually give a brief verbal description of my ride. Unfortunately they don’t always get the written visuals. They really like having something to focus on visually. Thanks for commenting!

  3. YANKEEDC@aol.com July 14, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    I am trying to figure this out..lol..What do the two numbers on the pink paper represent? Can you explain it a bit more please….thank you….Dan

    • chrispins July 15, 2013 at 12:18 am #

      The numbers on the side are times. Starting at the bottom left and making your way up over the top and back down the pyramid, you will go through each ‘block’ of the pyramid 2 times in a row before going on to the next block. The first time through the block, do each move using the first time and the second time through the block, do each move using the second time given. For example the numbers next to the first block are :15 and :30 , go through each move in the first block for 15 seconds, then go through them again at 30 seconds each. So the first block takes a total of 3:45 to go through.
      Now move up to the second block. Do each move for :45 seconds, then go through again and do each move for 1:00. This has a total time of 7:00.
      I hope that makes sense!

  4. Michelle Daddario July 16, 2013 at 9:27 am #

    Chris

    Can this be modifies to fit a 45 minute class? Michelle [?]

    • chrispins July 16, 2013 at 11:21 am #

      Hi Michelle! Yes, there are a few different ways you could modify this for a 45 minute class. I would say the easiest way would be to cut out the top two blocks of the pyramid. When you add the time for those two blocks, it is exactly 15 minutes. IF you do that, you will probably want to change up the movements in the other blocks to your liking. You will obviously need to cut out songs or move them around as needed. If you simply wanted to cut the songs for those two particular blocks and use the rest of the playlist, you would be cutting out ‘My Body’, ‘This is What it Feels Like’, ‘Acapella’ and ‘Let it Go’.

      I hope that helps and that you are able to use it!

  5. Cyndi September 6, 2014 at 3:41 am #

    Hi I love this Pyramid profile ride. I am going to try it out tomorrow morning. Thank you! Do you include the first two songs as the warm up songs on the spotify playlist? Thanks again. Cyndi

    • chrispins September 6, 2014 at 10:30 am #

      HI Cyndi! You got it. The first two songs in the playlist are warm up. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ways To Go Cycling Mix | Chrispins - September 14, 2013

    […] much as usual.  This week I revisited an old profile/playlist (pyramids).  You can check it out here.  I switched out the cool down song with my new favorite song:  Let Her Go by […]

  2. My 22nd First Day of Kindergarten | Chrispins - September 4, 2014

    […] made a new playlist to fit my Pyramid Profile and it […]

Leave a Reply

