Week Four LiveFit Trainer Review

11 Jul

I just completed week 4  (Phase 1) of Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer!

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 11.00.54 AM

I’m so excited to move on to Phase 2!

The workouts in weeks 1-4 were all very similar, with a few new exercises thrown in here and there. All of them took under an hour to complete.

In the first two weeks of the program, there were 4 working days and three rest days.  For me, that was a lot of rest days, but I figured my body was still busy building muscle even while I rested.  🙂  And I was teaching Spin® on some of those rest days.  Necessary, but not recommended for the first four weeks of the program.

A few things about the first four weeks:

  • I completed all of the workouts, making modifications when I needed to.
  • I didn’t follow the workouts in the exact order every week, but pretty close
  • I am not following the diet plan, just the workouts. (I understand that my results may not be as great as if I were following the diet plan, but I’m OK with that.  It is summer after all and I need to feel free to indulge!)

Here are my thoughts about the program so far:

  • As far as progress goes, I definitely feel stronger.  I am not using any formal measurement tools, but I can see some definite definition.  Especially in my arms, shoulders and chest.
  • I’ve found that my favorite exercises are the ones that incorporate arms, shoulder, chest and back work.
  • I’m not a huge fan of leg day and I despise squats (necessary as they are)!
  • I actually like taking a break from cardio (I did teach all of my scheduled classes, but I didn’t do any cardio above and beyond that.)
  • Maybe it’s just me, but when I take a cardio class or go for a run, I’m pretty wiped out when I’m done.  When I do these workouts, I feel like I have more energy.
  • I’m still doing some of the workouts at home, but I am getting more comfortable going into the weight room at the gym.
  • My body is in a near-constant state of sore. Not ” I can’t move!”  sore, but sore enough to know that you’re doing something right. 🙂
  • My rotator cuff pain has actually lessened since I started this program.  My guess is that strengthening the muscles around the rotator cuff has helped.  There are still some exercises that bother it (like holding a barbell on my shoulders for leg work-the motion of pulling my arm back to hold the barbell is painful), so I modify that by using two individual dumbbells instead.

On Saturday, I will be starting Phase 2 of the program.  I’m excited to see more results and change up the routines a bit in the second phase.  Here’s what’s different:

  • There are now 6 working days and 1 rest day.
  • Medium intensity cardio is added.  (30 minutes, 3-4 times week).  As much as I like to NOT count teaching Spin® as my cardio, for time sake, it may be necessary to do that on at least a few of the days.
  • Supersets are introduced. This just means that you do each exercise in the set in succession, then rest at the end, then go back and do it again until you’ve completed both exercises in the set.
  • More weight/shorter sets

One of the things that’s really great about the program is that before you set out for the gym, you can view a quick video of each of the exercises. This has really helped me in a few ways.  First of all, I’m able to actually find the correct machine when I get to the gym, and it also helps me to know the proper form for each exercise.

I always like to check out all of the videos for the week ahead, especially if they are new.  Here’s one for next week that I’m pretty sure I’ll be modifying:

Seriously???

Can’t wait to fill you in on week 5 soon!

2 Responses to “Week Four LiveFit Trainer Review”

  1. gr8tfulm July 11, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    Hey Chris, thanks for introducing me to the program. I am a big fan of Jamie’s and have followed a program of hers previously. I am on day 5. I too am doing te cardio ( teaching) and I don’t feel quilts for taking rest days:-) I bulk up very easy on my upper body and I have only done 2 sessions of Bodypump and the 4 days of Jamie’s program and my definition already is noticeable. I did take a upper before picture front & back. I can’t do any lower exercise. I’m having hip AND knee replacement in 4 weeks and just felt I might as well get as strong as I can before surgery. So on leg day I usually do cardio! I’m also not really following her diet. I like my carbs but I have stopped carbs after 3 other than fruit or vegetables.
    So thanks again for promoting her workout. A great job going into the weight room- years ago I used to shy away from there too and I get totally turned off with grunting and big guys want a be’s dropping their weights so everyone looks.. My only pet peeves of the gym floor! Lol have a good day
    Marianne

    • chrispins July 11, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

      Hi Marianne,
      First of all, good luck with your upcoming surgery! I don’t know you personally, but you don’t seem like the type of person that will be kept down for long! I’m sure you’ll come back better than before!

      Jamie’s program is great for a number of reasons: first of all, it’s free! And the fact that you can modify it to suit your needs is great too. I really just needed some guidance about which exercises I should be doing and some motivation to get into the weight room. I’m still trying to find the best time to go to avoid the ‘muscle heads’. They really drive me nuts with their grunting. I do love to listen to their conversations sometimes though.

      Keep me up to date on your progress with the program and your surgery! ~Chris

Leave a Reply

