Review: Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer-Weeks 1&2

25 Jun

Here’s something quite a few bloggers do that I haven’t done on the blog yet:  A fitness program review.  I realize that this is an indoor cycling blog, but I also know that for most of us, cycling isn’t our only form of exercise.

Unknown

I found this very popular FREE program while I was browsing Pinterest one day. I decided to give the LiveFit Trainer a try because I took a few months off from strength training due to a rotator cuff injury and I was anxious to start up again.  Honestly, my previous strength training program was either The Firm videos or walking around the circuit at the gym with no real rhyme or reason. I tried to squeak out at least two days of strength training a week, sometimes three, but that didn’t always happen.  I do love The Firm and have had great success with it, but I was bored with the workouts.  I needed a program that gave me specific exercises and showed me how to do them.  This program seemed to fit the bill. Here’s a video featuring Jamie that will  give you a little information about how the program works:

 

Here’s the  ‘Chrispins’ disclaimer:  I am not following the program completely.  

1.While I do my best to eat healthy and balanced most of the time, I’m not sure that I could commit to eating clean as much as the program asks you to do.  So I am following the workouts, just not the diet program.  I do realize that because of this, I may not look like Jamie when I’m done, but I’m cool with that. My goal is not to look like a bodybuilder.

2  I do many of the exercises at the gym, but there are some days that I modify them to do at home.  ( I use hand weights and a solo flex).

3. I do cardio.  If you watched the video, you will see that in the first phase of the program, Jamie wants you to do NO cardio.  Well, that’s obviously NOT going to happen since I teach 2-3 cycling classes a week.  The second phase introduces light cardio and then in the last phase there are some  HIIT type cardio sessions built in.

I just completed the second week of the program.  Here are my thoughts:

images

Week 1:  So at the YMCA where I teach and work out, the hardcore weight room is in the back of the building.  I’ve been in there a few times before, but I was still a little intimidated. The vibe is different and the music is hardcore.  Honestly, the first few times I felt like a fish out of water.  Kind of like this guy:

There were just a few of the machines that I had used before, so the thought of trying out some new machines was a little bit scary.  I decided to get to the gym during the least busy times, which definitely made me feel more comfortable.

The great part about the program is that you can watch the how-to videos online before your workout.  This really helped me.  I was able to 1. find the right machine and 2. use it properly.

Week 1: The first week is 4 days on and 3 days recovery.  I did not do them for four consecutive days, but I fit them in. Even though I was really sore through the week, I didn’t think that it was all that hard.  Since the gym wasn’t busy when I went, it only took me around 30-40 minutes to complete all of the exercises.

Week 2: This was exactly the same as week one, with 4 days of weights and 3 days to recover.  The three recovery days were days that I was teaching spin. I was not nearly as sore this week.  Maybe I’m imagining it, but  I definitely feel stronger.  I don’t notice any changes yet, but I wasn’t really expecting to see any improvement this soon.

I will update you soon on next week’s progress and throughout the program!

If you have used this program before, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

If are thinking about using the program, I’d love to hear about your progress.  Especially if you plan to actually follow the program as is!  🙂

 

5 Responses to “Review: Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer-Weeks 1&2”

  1. Darcy June 25, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

    Great write-up! Looking forward to hearing your overall impression of the program!

    Did you take before pictures or measurements? I’m always curious about how we track success :o)

    • chrispins June 25, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

      Hi Darcy!

      I thought that question might get asked. I didn’t take any ‘before’ photos mainly because I suck at taking pictures! I’m also terrible about tracking progress in any formal way. I hardly ever step on the scale and I’ve never taken measurements.

      After I had my second son 12 years ago, I had a lot of trouble getting the weight off (I had two babies in two years and gained over 50 pounds in both pregnancies) and I went to Weight Watchers. The weight came off, but I became a slave to the scale, weighing myself several times a day. Once I went into maintenance mode I stopped weighing myself and found that I was much happier. I knew that the weight I was at that time was a bit to low for me to maintain, so I found a ‘happy weight’ and I try not to worry about the number on my scale.

      My main goal when I started this program was to feel stronger and get some muscle definition/tone up since I’ve been feeling less toned after taking some time off from my strength routine. So as boring as that sounds, I guess I will measure my success by how I feel when I’m done with the program and if I like what I see when I look in the mirror 🙂 .

  2. Nicole Bronken June 10, 2016 at 5:55 pm #

    I am just finishing week 1 and have done all the workouts and eating what she prescribed (minus some starches every so often, I just couldn’t). Anyway I am noticing I am gaining weight and wondering if this is normal. Thanks!!

    • chrispins June 10, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

      It’s been a few years since I completed the program, but I think I do recall some initial weight gain. Maybe just a pound or two, and I remember hearing others saying the same thing. It will even out and then you should start losing once you add in some cardio-especially if you are following the diet plan, which I did not.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Live Fit Trainer Week 3 | Chrispins - July 4, 2013

    […] on my third week of Jamie Eason’s Live Fit Trainer Program.  Last week, I updated you on my first two weeks of the program.   As you may remember, I’m following the workouts, not so much the meal/supplement […]

Leave a Reply

