I Don’t Care (I Love It) Cycling Mix

24 Jun

Image

 

It still really hasn’t hit me that I’m on summer vacation yet.  It typically takes me a few weeks to really get into the groove.  The fact that I don’t have to get up and get ready for work tomorrow makes me pretty happy though.  It’s not the work part that gets me, because I do love my job.  It’s the getting out of bed and getting dressed and ready that I won’t miss for a few months.  🙂

Here’s the playlist for Monday night’s class:

Image

 

And here are the teaching notes:

Into The Wild: Love this song from the Citi commercial.  Warm up in the saddle.

I Love It:  Ok, I have to admit that when I first heard this song, I really liked it, but I thought it might just be a little too much for my group. Now that it’s a little more mainstream (It’s been used in several tv shows and commercials), I think they can take it.  Continue warming up here and bring it up out of the saddle.

Every Good Thing: Standing climb.  Not too heavy on the resistance here.  We’re into the third song, but really, we are still getting warmed up. 

Carried Away: Seated accelerations

Counting Stars: Alternate seated/standing flat

I Got You: Here’s one that’s new to me.  My husband and I were painting our bathroom this weekend and turned on the ‘Spotify Radio’ to keep us entertained.  He loves listening to the ballads of the 70’s (think America & Bread), but that gets REALLY old after a few songs.  So we compromised and listened to ‘Jason Mraz Radio’.  Nice and mellow yet still a little bit contemporary. This is the first time I’d heard this one and I thought it would make a great standing climb.

Give A Little Bit: seated climb

Take California:  I’ve used this one so many times, I can’t even count, but it never gets old.  It’s definitely one of my favorite spin songs of all time.  Standing climb

Clarity: Seated accelerations

What Are You Going To Do When You Aren’t Saving the World?: :00-1:42 Seated climb; 1:42-2:24 Standing climb; 2:42-3:30 Seated Flat; 3:30-3:35 Seated climb; 3:35-5:00 Standing climb; 5:00 Recover

Live it Up: Standing flat

Give A Little Bit: Just for fun, another short and sweet version of this great tune.  Recovery time

Tabata: Seated accelerations 8×20 with 10 second recovery between

The Scientist: Cool down

Washed By The Water: Stretch

 

 

9 Responses to “I Don’t Care (I Love It) Cycling Mix”

  1. steve:spin:list June 24, 2013 at 12:41 am #

    Great post Chris! Like the notes about SUMMER (life does Get Better!) AND your playlist is a great mix…Have a great week!

    • chrispins June 24, 2013 at 12:51 am #

      Thanks Steve! Enjoy everything summer has to offer, including some outdoor rides if that’s how you roll. 🙂

  2. Tammy June 24, 2013 at 2:58 am #

    Love ALL your playlists! Where did you get the tabatha song?

    • chrispins June 24, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      Thank you Tammy! I get most of my songs from Spotify these days. The Tabata songs are also for sale on iTunes and Amazon. Search ‘Tabata’ and you should find several albums.

  3. jennbrac4 June 24, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    Your music is so good…thanks for all your hard work…

    • Chris June 24, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

      Thank you! And you’re very welcome! 🙂

      • jennbrac4 June 26, 2013 at 12:47 am #

        I was wondering once you make your playlist on spotify how do you use it for your class??? do you use your ipod?

      • chrispins June 27, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

        Hi! Sorry for the delay in getting back to you…you’re message somehow got lost in the shuffle. If you are using Spotify Premium, you sync your playlists to iPhone or other mobile device. You need to have internet capability so you can’t burn to a cd or use a regular iPod.

  4. jennbrac4 June 28, 2013 at 11:36 am #

    Thanks so much…..:)

Leave a Reply

