Live Your Life Cycling Mix

8 Jun

I haven’t shared a ‘What’s on Repeat’ here on the blog in a while, so I thought I’d throw it in with this week’s playlist post.

What’s on my ‘repeat radar’ this week?  MIKA’s new single: Live Your Life.  It’s a catchy little song that I used as part of my warm up but would also work well as a flat road.  I hope you like it as much as I do!

The other recent release that I’m digging is ‘Odds Are’ by The Barenaked Ladies.  I don’t love all of their stuff but I do like this one:  I like the lyrics and it has a pretty good beat to it.  It definitely worked well for our first standing climb:

Here’s the playlist in Spotify:

Screen Shot 2013-06-08 at 8.59.50 AM

And here are the teaching notes:

Live Your Life: Warm up in the saddle

I Want To Break Free:  This one is from my local files.  I’m not exactly sure where I got a hold of it, but it’s a mashup of Queen’s ‘I Want To Break Free’ and The Black Eyed Peas’ ‘The Time (Dirty Bit).  Break free from the saddle and bring it up for a continuation of the warm up.

Odds Are: Standing climb (moderate)

My Songs Know What You Did In the Dark (Light Em Up):  I really have know idea what that even means, but I LOVE this song for seated accelerations on the chorus.

Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’: You can really never go wrong with MJ.  Standing flat

Zion: Seated climb

White Fences: Another new realease from one of my favorites: NEEDTOBREATHE.  This one is a heavy standing climb.

Need Your Love: Standing flat

Lift Off: Seated accelerations @ :26 (30 seconds); 1:34 (30 seconds) and 2:40 (20 seconds)

Put The Gun Down: Standing climb

That’s All:  Here’s an old tune that I love. For some reason we were talking about Phil Collins at lunch the other day and my student teacher, who is 22 years old said, “Who’s Phil Collins”?  Oh man.  I hope she has at least heard this one before.  Seated flat

Oh Mangalem: Alternate seated/standing climb

Kumbalewe:  We took this nearly 8 minute song and broke it into a few different moves: Seated climb/seated flat/standing climb/8-4 count jumps.  It definitely broke it up and made the hard work more manageable.

Situations: Recovery

Tabata: Seated accelerations (8×20 seconds, 10 second recoveries)

93 Million Miles: Cool Down

Some Kind Of Broken: Cool Down/Stretch

2 Responses to “Live Your Life Cycling Mix”

  1. Maureen June 12, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Chris I have gotten so many great song ideas and class profiles from your web site. I just wanted to make sure you know how much I appreciate all the work you do, posting and writing about your playlists. Thank you so much for making my playlists and spin classes more interesting, entertaining, and therefore a better workout for all. You are truly gifted.

    • chrispins June 12, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

      Thank you so much Maureen, I’m glad you like the blog and the tunes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

