Post Ride Thoughts and A New Playlist

19 May

On Friday, I participated in my second Ride for Missing Children.  Given the beautiful weather and the fact that I had no mechanical or physical issues on the 83 mile (very hilly) ride, I’d say it was an absolutely perfect day!

Here are a few pics from the day:

photo

photo

Screen Shot 2013-05-19 at 6.49.00 PM

DSC03614DSC03616RFMC13_Sauquoit+(59)_1024x683

Nate Baseball and ride for mc 033

Many of you know that I am not really an outdoor road biker.  I don’t own my own road bike, so I borrow my friend’s bike for all of the outdoor training rides and for the ride itself.  Here’s a shot of the bike:

photo

That’s right, it’s a circa 1983 or 1984-ish Peugeot.  I fondly refer to her as the Blue Beauty.  See how the gear shifters are in between the handlebars?

photo

Totally retro!  I know it’s not the hottest bike on the road, but I think it’s adorable AND it rides great!  While other bikes were losing their chains or breaking down on the side of the road, the Blue Beauty kept onchugging.  Most of the other riders with their flashy Trek or Specialized bikes don’t see the beauty in it, but I just love it.  I get a lot of comments (mostly from older, male bikers) like,  “Hey-nice Peugeot-I used to have one of those and I loved it!”  or “Viva la France!”

I’m definitely going to miss Blue Beauty when I have to return her.  That’s ok though, I’m good with my spin bike for indoors and my hybrid for those rare occasions that I do take it outdoors.

The highlight of the day for me came during the opening ceremonies this year.  Each rider wears of pin with the picture and name of a missing child on their jersey the day of the ride.  The pin that I wore this year was that of Trenton Duckett, just a baby when he was abducted from his home in Florida.

photo

Trenton’s family was at the opening ceremony this year.  His grandmother spoke and told us their heartbreaking story.  Before the ceremony began, Trenton’s aunt saw that I was wearing Trenton’s picture on my jersey and came up to me and shook my hand.  She thanked me for riding for Trenton.  What a humbling moment.

When I started to tire that day after all of those miles on the road; when I looked up from the bottom of one of the many hills, I thought of little Trenton and his family.  It definitely made me remember why we ride.

DSC03627

I am so proud to be a second year rider in The Ride For Missing Children.

Here’s the playlist for Monday:

Screen Shot 2013-05-19 at 7.46.46 PM

 

Have a great week!

6 Responses to “Post Ride Thoughts and A New Playlist”

  1. stevespinlist May 19, 2013 at 11:55 pm #

    Chris…thanks for the post! Sounds like an awesome event for such a good cause. Nice pics and playlist too! Have a great week (you’re getting ready for a summer break I’m sure.)

    • chrispins May 20, 2013 at 12:00 am #

      Thanks Steve! I’m definitely counting down the days!

  2. Jessica @ Fit Talker May 19, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

    Once again, great job Chris!! Such a wonderful event and so great that you’re able to participate. Hearing that trenton’s parents were there made me tear up. Job well done!!

    • chrispins May 20, 2013 at 12:01 am #

      Thank you Jessica! It was a great, but emotional day. 🙂

  3. Joe Castillo May 20, 2013 at 3:05 am #

    Congratulations on your ride and for raising awareness and funding! What a great playlist, thanks for posting. I am so anxious to start using some of the songs. Date: Sun, 19 May 2013 23:49:19 +0000 To: joegcastillo@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

