Mother’s Day and Cinco de Mayo Cycling Mixes

10 May

Well, it seems that when I take a week or so off from blogging, I fall behind in my playlist sharing.  I have THREE playlists to share with you in this post, so keep scrolling if you want to check them all out!  I’ll begin with my most recent mix.  It’s a mothers’ day themed ride.  Some great tunes on this one believe it or not.  I love any playlist that includes some Genesis and not one, but two songs by Queen.  Happy, Happy Mother’s Day to all you cycling moms out there!

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 7.28.39 PM

I also created a collaborative Mother’s Day playlist which includes quite a few songs that did not make it to my final playlist, but some that you may want to use.  You can also subscribe to it and add your own songs!

Here are the teaching notes:

Hey Mama: Warm up

Momma’s Boy: Continue warm up and bring it out of the saddle for a standing climb, gradually adding on the gear

Tie Your Mother Down: seated accelerations

Stacy’s Mom: Standing climb

Lady Madonna: Seated flat

Mama: Heavy standing climb

I Was Born to Love You: Seated climb, adding gear on each chorus

Wings: Standing flat

Shake What Your Mama Gave Ya: Seated accelerations

We Are Family: Standing Flat

Time:  00-1:104 Seated flat.  As the volume increases, increase gear to a seated climb.  Finish last 40 minutes seated flat

Oh Mama Hey: Standing flat

Requium For A Tower: Recovery

Metal Tabata: 20 second seated accelerations (x8) with 10 second recoveries

Daughters: Cool Down

You Can Finally Meet My Mom: Stretch

The second playlist is my Cinco de Mayo ride.  We always have a great time with this one!  Here ya go:

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 7.37.52 PM

As with my Mother’s Day playlist, I also created a collaborative Cinco de Mayo Playlist.  Feel free to share your favorites:

And here’s one last playlist to share, featuring two new ones that I’m loving right now: Michael Franti’s I’m Alive (Life Sounds Like), and Popular Song by Mika I hope you enjoy!

Screen Shot 2013-05-10 at 7.41.10 PM

If you read this far, thanks!  I hope to put up a new post this week with Monday’s playlist as well as some thoughts as I get ready for my 90+ mile ride coming up a week from today.  SO excited!!!

4 Responses to “Mother’s Day and Cinco de Mayo Cycling Mixes”

  1. steve:spin:list May 11, 2013 at 12:03 am #

    Thanks for posting the music! Isn’t Spotify great!

  2. chrispins May 11, 2013 at 12:22 am #

    You bet Steve! LOVE Spotify! I realize that some countries still don’t have Spotify, but I can’t think of any other reason why NOT to jump on the Spotify bandwagon!

  3. erin116 April 28, 2017 at 6:00 pm #

    I love your blog and have gotten many music ideas from you 🙂 I was wondering if you could share your workout for the Cinco De Mayo Playlist?

Leave a Reply

