Things I Hate That Most People Like

8 Apr

Hate is such a strong word.  As a mom and a kindergarten teacher, I strictly forbid my kids to use it.  I guess that makes me a hypocrite then.  I try to keep my hating quiet around the kids.  There are just certain things that I hate that most people seem to like.  Like Oprah.  And Zumba.  And chocolate.  And then there’s hot weather.  I mean, I like summer (hello……I’m a teacher), but I’d rather have a cold, wintery day than a hot, humid day anytime.

Same goes for music in my cycling classes. There are certain songs that other instructors seem to love using in their playlists that I just don’t like.  This was the topic of conversation recently on one of the Facebook groups that I follow.  The wonderful instructors in this particular group love to share playlists and songs with one another because we know how time consuming it is to do it alone. And with Spotify, you can lift someones entire playlist and use it any time you want to.  It’s amazing the sharing that goes on.  But sometimes you just have to switch out that one song that you just don’t like.  (And if YOU don’t like it, chances are, your class will catch on.)

In this particular case, the song was Madness by Muse.  This is a song that I happen to LOVE and have used several times as a standing climb. I was shocked at the number of instructors that came out and said they didn’t like it.  Everyone has their own tastes, and this one just isn’t for everyone I guess.

Do you have any bands/artists/songs that everyone else seems to love but you just can’t use in your classes?  For me, it’s Florence and the Machine.  I have used the Drumming Song, but other than that, I won’t use any of their songs in my playlists because, well, I just don’t like them.

There are also the songs/bands that maybe you really like, but you just don’t think they are good for spinning. For me, that’s Mumford and Sons. I LOVE them, but many of their songs, to me, just don’t feel right to me when cycling.  I did recently find one exception:  I attended an indoor trainer ride a while back, and the instructor used  I Will Wait for seated accelerations. I was so pumped because I LOVE that song.  I never thought it would work, but it did!  I ran home and added it to my next playlist.

What are your ‘can’t play’ songs?  What songs to you love, but don’t use in your classes?

Here are two new playlists that I’ve used recently:

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 7.09.08 AM

 

 

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 7.10.21 AM

 

14 Responses to “Things I Hate That Most People Like”

  1. Malissa P April 8, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    I love following your posts and playlist…we run very similar music styles! I like to use Mumford for accelerations and some times for increased watts during climbs…bursts of intensity are great with their songs. I am NOT a lover of Radioactive on the bike, but usually crank the volume in my car. And opposite with anything Brittany and most JLo – will turn it off personally but it works for cadence. Keep the posts coming!!

    • chrispins April 8, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

      Thanks Malissa! Isn’t it funny the music that we listen to because we are instructors that we probably would never have otherwise? If someone had told me I’d be cranking Pitbull in my car I would have never believed it!

  2. JJ Kunkle April 8, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    Chris, I was with you on everything (hot, humid days, Madness by Muse–which I’ve also used several times–of course, I often steal your playlists), Oprah, Zumba….but then you said chocolate! That’s just not right!! :o)

    • chrispins April 8, 2013 at 12:34 pm #

      Haha! I know, the chocolate thing is hard for most to believe but it’s true. I’m kinda weird that way. 🙂

  3. Jessica @ Fit Talker April 8, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Guilty of the Madness hating. 🙂
    Also not a Skrillex fan or most female singers (please don’t judge me).
    There have definitely been a few songs that riders have requested but I’ve vetoed due to personal dislike.
    We have the power, right? 😀

    • chrispins April 8, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

      Skrillex was the other one that many disagreed about. I like just a few of their songs.
      I’m the same way with requests. I tell them that I accept requests, but if I don’t like them, it’s not happening. And yes, you have that power! 🙂

  4. Lisa Boylan April 8, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Hey Chris, very true topic – very hard for me to play electronic music or most dance. I love a song with words and power. I am here to sell you on one song though 🙂 Florence and the Machine “Dog Days Are Over”. I use it to run on a hill – there are 3 great bursts that we run to and they are very hard. Give it a listen – riding in third position at about 70% of MHR – begin to see the first run at :39 – prepare to move it for almost 30 seconds 1:16 – 1:42 bring pace back and prepare for next one that is about 38 seconds 2:14 – 2:53 now take a quick breath – I always warn students these last two bursts are back to back – this one is 55 seconds 3:05 – 4:00

    If you don’t have this song, I’ll be glad to gift it to you. Give it one full listen to the end!

    Lisa

    • chrispins April 8, 2013 at 5:26 pm #

      Hi Lisa! I have in fact used ‘Dog Days’ in my class before. I guess I forgot. I like that one ok. There’s just something about her voice that gets on my nerves after a minute or two. Thanks for the teaching notes on that one though-I may just add that one to my next playlist. 🙂

  5. gr8tfulm April 8, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    Hi Chris- well you and Jessica seem to be mind readers today. Both on the topic of music and Muse. Lol I started that darn post on “Former Cycling Pingers” btw- tell your other followers a out our site to join! As you know aNd contribute to, we have a variety of playlists. Great post today, I’m really trying to find a genre or song I do not like! I’m not a big techno type. I will play a song or two ( Safri duo) but couldn’t imagine a whole playlist made that way! That’s just me. I use a big variety in my classes.. Madness, dislike! Can’t believe what I started with that post, l do like Florence and the machines. NOT all her songs, but there are 2 or 3 that are great for breakaways on a hill. Sweet nothing with Calvin Harris is a good one! I tend to use upbeat music even dance in my
    Classes. Dance music works well for any of the drills we use!
    I hate COLD, how about a beautiful spring day , mid 70’s, low 80’s. ahhhh picture perfect!!!
    Love your posts Chris!
    Marianne

    • chrispins April 8, 2013 at 6:51 pm #

      Yes-Jessica and I do seem to be on the same wavelength many times. And that post on FCP’s was so interesting. I guess Madness is just one of those songs that you love or hate. Thanks for commenting Marianne!

  6. ellarcher April 9, 2013 at 2:17 am #

    Hey Chris! I like Madness but haven’t played it in class. I have played an awesome mashup called Yellow Madness which mixes Coldplay and Muse so perfectly. I am not a huge fan of mashups unless they are done well, and this is brilliant. Many of my riders loved it. Florence covered Drake’s “Take Care” and I have played that song in the past as a standing climb, one where I do little talking. It is a song that evokes emotions. I have also played another mashup (go figure) called, American Days Are Over, by the Reborn Identity which I think you would love, mixing the old classic rock with the new.
    Who will you never, ever hear in my spin class? Easy. Pitbull.

    • chrispins April 9, 2013 at 10:54 am #

      Sounds good-gotta get my hands on those mashups! Oh man-Pitbull is another one people either love or hate. I happen to love using his music in my classes. People love the beat. I guess it depends on your audience too. 🙂

      • ellarcher April 9, 2013 at 11:43 am #

        2 more faves I was thinking about this morning. Blurred LInes by Robin Thicke (my song obsession – hot off the press). At 60 rpm, it makes for a fun hill climb, very upbeat.

        For standing run on a flat – San Francisco by the Mowgli’s. Such a happy song!

      • chrispins April 9, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

        Thanks for those two! I’ve already added them to my next playlist in progress! 🙂 I found the ‘Yellow Madness’ mashup-Nice!

Leave a Reply

