Beneath Your Beautiful Cycling Mix + bonus mix

29 Mar

Happy Good Friday, cycling friends!  School is not in session today, so I’ve miraculously found some time to update the blog with **TWO** new playlists, teaching notes and random thoughts.

First of all, tomorrow is my first official outdoor training ride of the season. Training rides take place on Saturday and Sunday mornings and Thursday evenings each week right up until ride day.  As a returning rider, I am only required to attend two of these training rides, but I will probably try to make at least four or five.  So I have the option of not going to this first ride and I think I’m going to opt out.My bike is still in the shop getting ‘lightly tuned’.  Appartently it doesn’t need a complete tune-up since I haven’t used it since last year’s ride in May.  I can’t say that I’m sad about missing the very first training, since tomorrow’s high temperature here will only be in the 40’s.  That means at 9am, when the training ride begins, it will probably be in the 30’s.  That is just waaaaaay too cold for me.  Of course there is always the chance that they will decide that it’s just too cold anyway and cancel the training altogether.  That would make me feel less guilty for sure.

The next thing on my mind this morning is the new Spotify update.  I’m assuming those of you on Spotify have already received your update, since I think I might have been the last person on the planet to get it.  I was really excited about the new update because it allows you to find and follow friends more easily and it just seems a little bit more organized.  Still, there are things I would like to see added to improve it, but for now, it will do.  The one thing that is NOT on the new update that was there before is the time counter for playlists!  No, you are NOT going crazy!  It isn’t there, really.  This is obviously a huge problem for instructors since we rely on that timer to create our playlist to match our class time.

As usual, one of my Facebook pals came to the rescue with this time calculator.  This is the one I’ve been using. While it takes a little more time, it’s not complicated and it’s the best one I’ve seen online.  (Sorry that I don’t remember exactly who posted it, but THANK YOU if you did!)

And speaking of Spotify….here are two new playlists that I rolled out this week:

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 12.53.46 PM

 

Gone, Gone, Gone : Warm up

Let The Music Play: Continue warm up and come out of the saddle for a standing flat

I Lived: (Still on repeat, by the way!) Standing climb

Lift Off!: Seated accelerations

Break My Root: Alternate seated/Standing climb

Radio Out of Heaven: Seated flat

What You Wanted: Seated climb

Something to Believe In: Standing climb

Here We Go: Seated accelerations

4 Minutes: Standing flat/climb

Under Pressure: Alternate seated/standing climb

Rock This Party: Standing flat

Party in the USA: Recovery

Tabata:  Seated accelerations 8×20

Beneath Your Beautiful: Cool down

Just Give Me A Reason: Stretch

Screen Shot 2013-03-29 at 1.02.25 PM

 

Lovely Day: Warm up

Don’t Stop Believing: Continue warm up. Bring it out of the saddle.

I Like it, I Love It: Climb-begin in the saddle and transition to standing climb

Ring of Fire: Seated accelerations

Sweet Womp: Alternate seated/standing climb

Uprising: Seated climb

Looking for Paradise: Standing climb

Hora Zora: Seated hill accelerations

That Power: (Still lovin’ this new will.i.am. song!) standing flat

Crayons: Seated flat

We Didn’t Start the Fire: Standing flat

Yesterday: Recovery

Tabata: Seated accelerations x8

Best Day of Your Life: Cool down

When I was Your Man: Stretch

Have a great Easter!!!

6 Responses to “Beneath Your Beautiful Cycling Mix + bonus mix”

  1. Netty March 29, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    Loving that Ring of Fire version. Thanks for sharing.
    BTW, your rides are always so close to something that I could instruct. I am very grateful that you share.

    • chrispins March 29, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

      You are quite welcome! Thank you for commenting Annette!

  2. Sara March 29, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Thank you thank you thank you! I use one of your playlists at least twice a week! You help me keep it fresh! I REALLY appreciate it! So do my students!

    • chrispins March 29, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

      That’s great Sara! I’m so glad people are using the playlists or at least taking what they need from them. I love creating playlists for my rides and I’m always happy to share. 🙂

  3. Tracy J April 1, 2013 at 5:51 am #

    Thank you for sharing not only your playlists, but your profiles as well! I do try to keep it fresh & since joining spotify & your page, you have inspired me & also helped me become an even better instructor!

    • chrispins April 1, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      You are welcome Tracy! Thank you for reading the blog and I’m glad my playlists and profile notes keep you inspired!

Leave a Reply

