I Hope You Have the Time of Your Life

23 Mar

e1d7230e15ce9959ef2ea6b480d7e0bc

Since the beginning of January, I have been volunteering to teach a weekly indoor training ride to help prepare riders for a nearly 100 mile event coming this May. I’ve done this for a few years now, but this year has been the most consistently attended and I’ve really actually enjoyed getting out of bed for this 8 a.m. Sunday morning class. I’m so excited not only to participate in The Ride for the second year in a row, but also to help the newbies and watch them experience it for the first time.

This ride includes some hard core road bikers as well as some that have never been on a road bike before.  These are the people that truly amaze me.  Those that are so commited to the cause that they train hard and learn the ins and outs of road riding and riding in a group.  Giving up their time to attend meetings and training rides, purchase equipment and commit to the physical challenge.  Riders must also commit to raising a minimum of $500.

As you can see, this is a huge commitment.  That’s why this last training ride is dedicated to all of the riders. Not just those that have gotten up early with me every Sunday morning since January.  To me, you are all amazing.  And trust me,on ride day, you WILL have the time of your life.

The songs that I chose to include in this profile all have lyrics that speak to the riders.  I thought I’d include a few special lyrics from each song so you’ll know exactly what I mean:

(scroll down for a second playlist: #thatPower)

Here’s the playlist in Spotify: (Click to enlarge) Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 9.18.14 AM

Here’s the Spotify link:

Life Is Beautiful by The Afters:  (Warm up) With every sunrise comes a new light and all of things that makes us feel like we have it all

Amazing by Danny Saucedo: (Continue warm up and bring it out of the saddle) It’s like a force pulling me in.  I’m getting stronger from within.

Jib Ride by Haik Naltchayan: (Standing climb) Ain’t nothin’ can get better with a little bit of wind on your face.

It’s On by Superchick: (seated accelerations) No matter how you feel, it’s what you do that matters. This is your moment to be strong.  Today’s your day.

Amazing by Seal (Standing flat) I want you to always feel you’re amazing.

Shosholoza by Overtone: Not sure on the lyrics here, since this is a folk song that originated in Zimbabwe. I do know that the song was originally sung to express hardship, and shosholoza means ‘go forward’.  

We Are the Champions by Queen: (seated flat) I consider it a challenge before the whole human race and I ain’t gonna lose. No time for losers, ’cause we are the champions.

Reach Up for The Sunrise by Duran Duran: (Alternate seated/standing climb) Reach up for the sunrise. Put your hands into the big sky. You can touch the sunrise feel the new day enter your life.

Beauty in The World by Macy Gray (Standing climb with accelerations) It was hard to pick a particular lyric in this song since I just love it the whole way through. I narrowed it down to two: When you don’t know what to do, don’t know if you’ll make it through, remember that He’s given you beauty in the world.  And of course there’s my favorite: Shake your booty boys and girls for the beauty in the world. 

Let’s Go by Calvin Harris (seated accelerations) It’s not about what you’ve done, it’s about what you doin’.  It’s all about where you goin’, no matter where you’ve been-let’s go!

Marchin On by One Republic (Standing climb) There’s so many wars we fought, there’s so many things we’re not. But with what we have I promise you that we’re marchin’ on.

This Is The New Year by Ian Axel (seated flat)  This one is always on my New Year’s playlist, but I also thought it would be appropriate for this ride. A new year=a new beginning. A new beginning- you made a promise. You are the brightest.  This is the new year.

Feeling Good by Muse (Standing climb) It’s a new dawn, it’s a new day, it’s a new life for me and I’m feeling good.

Sexy and I Know It by LMFAO (riders choice: standing or seated flat) Ok, I know it’s a stretch, but there’s really nothing I don’t love about this song.  Let’s face it, we don’t always feel sexy when we’re covered in sweat and wearing bike shorts, so sometimes we need to give ourselves a little boost:  I got passion in my pants and I ain’t afraid to show it. 

Good Riddance (Time of Your Life) by Greenday (recovery) So take the photographs and stillframes in your mind. It’s something unpredictable but in the end is right.  I hope you had the time of your life. 

Amazing by One Eskimo: (cool down) It’s the best thing and it’s glorious.  It’s life changing. This feeling is amazing.

I’m Amazing by Keb Mo (stretch) I’m amazing, I’m incredible, I’m a miracle, a dream come true. I’m marvelous, I’m beautiful.  Guess what? So are you!!

To the nearly 500 riders in this year’s Ride for Missing Children:  You are all amazing!!!!

Here’s another playlist that I used this week.  I’m loving the new will.i.am song (feat. Justin Bieber-I can’t believe I just wrote love and Justin Bieber in the same sentence). This one really worked well.  It has a great beat that helped push us to the end! I couldn’t find it in Spotify, so I splurged and purchased it in iTunes.  Hopefully Spotify will pick it up soon.

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 9.32.01 AM

Have a great week!!

4 Responses to “I Hope You Have the Time of Your Life”

  1. stevespinlist March 23, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

    More great music…thanks for the post!

    • chrispins March 23, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

      Thanks Steve! And you’re welcome!

  2. Jessica @ Fit Talker March 23, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    So inspiring! You were one of those new riders not too long ago, so you too were (are) inspiring!
    On a side note, used #thatpower this morning. Love it!

    • chrispins March 23, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

      Thank you Jessica! I remember how excited I was to take part in this ride last year and to be a part of it all. I wanted to show my appreciation the best way I know how-through music. And you are pretty inspirational yourself. 😉
      I’ll definitely have #thatPOWER on the rotation for a while. It’s a good one!

Leave a Reply

