We Are Dj’s

22 Feb

If you’re following Schwinn Indoor Cycling on Facebook (and why wouldn’t you be?), you might have seen a post recently that linked to a Wall Street Journal article titled: The New DJ’s: Fitness Gurus. It came at a good time for me, as I was just showing another instructor at my gym how to use the iPod Nano that she received for Christmas on the stereo there.  I asked her if she had made some playlists to use and she admitted that her teenage sons had helped her pick out the music and load it onto the iPod.  (This same instructor had previously asked me to burn some CD’s for her Pilates and Boot Camp classes with some of my music-which of course I was happy to do!) 

This all made me stop and think: Was she feeling the pressure from members to step up the music selection in her classes?  She does come to my class from time to time.  Maybe she liked what she heard and felt that she wanted more of it in her own classes.  Whatever the case, I realized that a great majority of the instructors in my gym are not changing their music (I’m really not kidding here-some have used the same CD’s for years.  And I’m really, really not kidding when I tell you that one instructor uses cassette tapes.  Seriously. Cassette tapes.) Most of the instuctors where I teach are not using iPods or similiar devices to deliver music to their classes.  

Maybe things are different where you are.  I don’t work in a big city.  It’s a small YMCA in a cozy little town outside of Syracuse.  But still, I feel like our members pay enough that they deserve some good tunes, not just the same old CD playing 80’s classics class after boring class.  

So I approached our director and asked if she would be interested in me leading a workshop to teach our instructors how to create playlists in iTunes and either burn them to a CD or **gasp**, download them to their mp3 player. I might even throw in a little Spotify information, although that might be too much too soon. She was on board.  But will THEY be?  We’ll see.  I’ve created a survey to see if there is interest.  

I would love to see some of them become the DJ’s that The Wall Street Journal article described.  Will they?  Not sure.  I’m not even sure if any of them will be interested in attending the workshop.  But I’m sure I’m going to give it a try.  And if I get even one of them to convert, I’ll be happy.  Share the music love people, because no one wants to hear the same stuff over and over.  Trust me.  

Are you one of the few instuctors in your club using technology and changing up your tunes? Have you ever or have you ever thought about helping fellow instructors learn how to do it? 

Here’s the playlist for this evening’s class:

 

Image

 

14 Responses to “We Are Dj’s”

  1. Jessica @ Fit Talker February 22, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    We had one cassette guy too! He used to teach the 9a (when I teach the 10a) and I’d laugh when I’d come in and the cassette door was left open. They let him go, can’t imagine why. 😉
    Definitely going to check out a few of the songs in this ride. Thanks as usual!!

    • chrispins February 22, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

      I didn’t even think they made stereos with cassette decks anymore, but apparently they do! Our ‘cassette girl’ teaches step and she’s still there. In fact, I think she is now a volunteer so they can’t really let her go. Happy Friday-a little bittersweet for me since it’s the last day of my vacation before the weekend… 😦

      • Jessica @ Fit Talker February 22, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

        Enjoy the last day of vaca!!

        My other favorite non tech savvy music method is just playing an entire CD (of the same artist). I believe the same cassette guy has been guilty of that as well.

        Embrace at least some technology! (this coming from someone who still hasn’t tried Spotify)

      • chrispins February 22, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

        Thanks Jessica! We have a boot camp instructor that just throws in a CD of the same artist. And it’s usually heavy metal. I get a headache every time I go. We’ll get you on over to Spotify yet! 🙂

  2. scyogagirl February 22, 2013 at 3:46 pm #

    I am definitely one that constantly changes up my playlists from week to week, both for my yoga and my indoor cycling classes. I do this because I know how much it irritates me when I am a student, and I constantly hear the same songs being played over and over. It gets stale and boring for me when that happens, so I never want my students to feel that way about my classes.

    • chrispins February 22, 2013 at 4:24 pm #

      Thanks for commenting! I completely agree! 🙂

      • melissa February 22, 2013 at 9:34 pm #

        I teach 6 classes a week and never repeat a playlist. I do however play a song that I like for a week then I give it a break and bring it back if it’s a good one. I have the same regular people so I always want to keep it fresh for them. I love Spotify and I’m always surprised that No other instructors at my gym are using it. I was spending a fortune on music!! I just hope someday soon they let u move songs within your playlist on your mobile/ipod device again.

      • chrispins February 22, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

        I didn’t realize that Spotify once allowed you to move songs on your iPod. That would be a great feature! I wish other instructors would get on board with Spotify too- or at
        least change up their music once in a while!

  3. stevespinlist February 23, 2013 at 12:46 am #

    Great post!
    Creating playlists is a large part of why I like to ride the lead bike!
    How is your Spotify survey going?

    • chrispins February 23, 2013 at 2:15 am #

      Thanks Steve! Spotify survey went well. Got some really good responses and info!

  4. GeminiGirl February 23, 2013 at 3:09 am #

    I think you are preaching to the choir – if we’ve found our way here it’s because we are invested enough in what we do as instructors to try to keep it fresh for our participants. I teach four cycling classes a week to many of the same people, so it keeps me on my toes. I also agree with what you said in an earlier post about not getting so creative with our playlists that our members don’t know a single song on it. There is something to be said for familiarity and hearing your “favorite” song (at least for the moment) when you are in a class. Thanks for constantly inspiring us with new tunes!

    • chrispins February 23, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

      Thats’ what I’m afraid of-that no one in my gym is or wants to be invested like we are. I’ll be interested to see if I get ANY response from the survey at my gym. I am just so grateful to have such a wonderful community instructors online that share my passion. And you are right-members so appreciate you playing songs that they know. I love to grab new music when it first comes out, but I also know that not many people have heard it yet, so I always revisit it later when it’s more familiar to them. Thank you so much for commenting!

  5. Malissa February 23, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Just want to say I LOVE your published playlists….what a great way to find music outside of my box of “repeat” for class grooves! Keep ’em coming! Malissa

    Sent from my iPad

    • chrispins February 23, 2013 at 2:44 pm #

      Awww..thanks so much! I love finding new music for my classes and happy to share my finds with other instructors! 🙂

Leave a Reply

